We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gerat value”
Review of Hotel Le Grotte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Grotte
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Genga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Slightly strange hotel in the mountains, near the famous caves, often quite empty

Hotel itself is good value, rooms are large and clean but a little basic, hotel has a pool outside
Little english spoken, but staff are friendly and try to help, and beautiful countryside

Restaurant is very good, especially the fish, however the breakfast is a bit sparse, overall good value

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ascot_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 577 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

While staying in this area of Italy was a nice experience, my previous hotel was dissappointing, but, just as the great things in life, you found them by chance and when least expected!!...
so I moved right away to La Grotte and started the simphony!..wonderful landscapes, beautiful sunrises, lovely sunsets, delicious dinners and peaceful nights...and moreover, the service is exquisite and friendly..and just when you think they cannot surprise you....the SPA gets in the stage...wuhuuuuu
Steffy, Ana, Vittoria, Luciano, Giulia(s), Gloria & Massimiliano...Thank you so much!!..hosted at La Grotte I have recovered the "joie de vivre"..Viva la Vida!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pepe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent a night here during a motorbike tour of ours. We wanted to visit the Frasassi Caves but doing so dressed for riding was not our preferred option. So we asked the sweet girls at the reception if there was a shuttle or taxi service. In a few minutes they arranged for the owner to take us back and forth, how considerate! Great rooms, beautiful spa facilities, very good masseuses, extremely helpful and gentle staff, excellent food. All this at a rather reasonable cost! Frankly, I can't find any reason not to strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoEtGiusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A modern hotel with spacious rooms and public areas all at a reasonable price, Hotel Le Grotte is a gem tucked away in a region of Italy, Le Marche, too infrequently visited by Americans. The setting of the hotel in a beautiful rural area and the relaxed ambience and attentive staff provide a delightful interlude for travelers. Our room was spacious, bed was comfortable with high quality sheets, there were numerous electrical outlets to recharge travel devices, wi-fi internet service worked without a glitch (not the usual italian hotel situation), and the bathroom was modern and large. Service was excellent and desk staff speak english as well as italian. The included breakfast is varied with plentiful hot and cold options served in a most attractive dining area. The onsite restaurant is excellent and there are additional dining options within a short drive.
We particularly enjoyed our massages in the spa. We were on a Ciclismo Classico bike trip across Italy and had biked 42 miles that day so our muscles were appreciative of the skilled rejuvenating care. There was of course a fee for the massage but there are also spa facilities including: steam room, jacuzzi, and sauna available to all guests without charge.
Nearby scenic attraction include the deservedly famous Grotte di Frasassi, The Frasassi Nature Park, spectacular Gola della Rossa, and the charms of Genga, Urbino, and Gubbio all within an hour or less drive.
This destination is well worth inclusion in any itinerary for a visit to the Marche. The resort has a well constructed and informative website:

http://www.hotellegrotte.it/home.php

Room Tip: A room with an exterior view and balcony is especially enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ancheviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Le Grotte back in June and the service was phenomonal. We were travelling quite late at night and getting quite tired driving and knew we were going to have to find a place to stay for the night. Using our GPS we located Hotel Le Grotte as being nearby, so without knowing anything about the hotel (ie. rating, pictures, etc) we called to see if there were vacancies, which would turn out to be very fortunate for us that there was. The young lady working at reception who took our call was incredible. Not only did she give us one of their premium rooms for a reduced rate, but with care and forthought she also took the initiative to ask if we were hungry and if she could arrange for the kitchen to have something prepared for us for when we arrive because the kitchen would be closing shortly. When we arrived the food was waiting in the room for us!! (And, I might add that we were never charged for this food.) And, an awesome room it was - clean, spacious, a spectatcular view of the mountain-side and a huge spacious bathroom. The continental breakfast the next morning was the most assorted breakfast we had over 5 hotels in Italy with hot and cold items; the staff checked in on us occasionally to ensure we had everything we needed and to offer coffee/tea. Upon checkout the staff were again extremely helpful in getting us to the nearby cave tours, etc. We would highly recommend this hotel. If we had planned better in advance we would have stayed more nights here and tried the spa too!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beccabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank paperina72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellegrotte, Proprietario at Hotel Le Grotte, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jano82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellegrotte, Proprietario at Hotel Le Grotte, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genga
16.0 mi away
Borgo Lanciano Relais Benessere
Borgo Lanciano Relais Benessere
#1 of 1 in Castelraimondo
613 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Antico
Hotel Borgo Antico
#4 of 10 in Fabriano
173 reviews
20.5 mi away
Pineta Hotel
Pineta Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monsano
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Resort Le Case
Resort Le Case
#4 of 12 in Macerata
122 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hotel Federico II
Hotel Federico II
#1 of 3 in Jesi
494 reviews
5.1 mi away
Residenza La Ceramica
Residenza La Ceramica
#1 of 10 in Fabriano
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grotte

Address: Frazione Ponte Bove Secco n. 14, 60040 Genga, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Ancona > Genga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Genga
Price Range: $126 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Grotte 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LE GROTTE Hotel, Restaurant, Spa is surrounded by the colours of the Gola della Rossa and Frasassi Park. Here the 30 years Bardella Family's hospitality becomes richer and richer adding to the culinary tradition the 4 star hotel and the new wellness area, together with a staff ready to cuddle every customer.Founded in 1979 by the Bardella Family, the restaurant is the real heart of the resort. Today the chefs Alessandro and Luca, together with the owner Luciano, still continue to follow the same philosophy, preparing delicious authentic flavoured dishes using very genuine local products.In 2002 is built the hotel. Elegant and awarded for its environmental policies, in 2010 it enters the 4 stars classification and can well satisfy business or leisure tourists, providing real wellness moments to be lived alone or in couple or with the family.The 23 rooms are all really wide, well furnished and comfortable. A lot of them have the balcony with a special view on the garden and mountains. The panoramic suite offers an unforgettable atmosphere, with a spectacular view on the Gola di Frasassi.In the new wellness center "Ile Spa" our beauticians apply professional products without forgetting sensory and relax needs. Next to this is located the thermario which is equipped with Jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath, emotional showers, Kneipp and a relaxing room. During the summer time a new outdoor pool with Jacuzzi located in the large garden surrounding the hotel, a relaxing waterfalls and seducing light effects, bring a touch of magic to every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Le Grotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing