We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golly Farm Cottages
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OUTSTANDING”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We recently stayed at Golly Farm (Oak Suite) for a 3 night short break. Wow,wow and wow. Fantastic self catering accommodation. Peaceful, beautiful countryside all around and fantastic hosts Jim & Ros. Everything in the converted cowsheds are as you would put in your own cottage, top quality. Spotlessly clean and a lovely welcome gift on arrival. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners, they can point you in the right direction for anything you wish to do or see without being intrusive on your holiday. Ideally situated for exploring Wales (try Snowdon or further afield if you wish) or you can easily reach Chester. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BILLINDA1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We have just spent two weeks in this lovely spot of Wales visiting family and friends. Golly Farm is by far the best self catering accommodation we have stayed in (and we have travelled quite a bit having lived in Saudi Arabia for many years). Even though it was mid-winter the cottage was cosy and warm with a gas fire as well as central heating. On arrival there was a Christmas tree, mulled wine and chocolates which set the theme for an enjoyable stay. The cottage was spotlessly clean with excellent facilities and furnishings. Needless to say we will be back. Ros and Jim were more than helpful if needed.

I can highly recommend Golly Farm for an enjoyable stay in North Wales.

Room Tip: Great spot for couples who want a quiet getaway. Extremely quiet at night if you want a good nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed in the Holly suite for 4 nights and used it as a base to venture out to places like Llangollen, Conwy, Llandudno and Chester. It was absolutely perfect!. The rooms are all fitted with fixtures and fittings that you would desire in your own home. The TV is a good quality Sony plasma screen with built-in Freeview along with a Sony DVD player. The kitchen is equipped with all the facilities you would want and the tableware is fine bone china! The double bed is a queen size and very comfortable and again, the quality of the linen and towels is top notch. The en-suite bathroom has a full sized bath, a separate walk in shower and a pair of his and hers washbasins. There is central heating and a Magiglo gas fire which makes the lounge both very welcoming and warm. The whole suite is all about quality and comfort. Add Jim and Ros' very friendly manner and kindness along with free wireless internet and you have a perfect home away from home. Plenty of parking and their website is a very accurate depiction of how it looks and feels. First class!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGandTheBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Absolutely fabulous cottages in a beautiful and interesting area on the border of England and Wales! We had the pleasure of staying in Holly and Oak Cottages for a week in September. These two cottages, a barn conversion, combine the best of British charm with contemporary living. The friendly and helpful owners, Ros and Jim, have furnished their cottages to their own high standards - high quality kitchens and bathrooms and comfortable and cozy living areas and bedrooms. They have shown great attention to detail in everything they have done. The cottages are surrounded by beautiful rural views but close to many interesting towns and villages. My husband, brother and I have stayed in many rental cottages in the UK over the past 15 years and this is the best that we have experienced. Our only regret? That we will have to wait a few years before we are able to enjoy Golly Farm once again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillVictoria_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton
2.0 mi away
Rossett Hall Hotel
Rossett Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham North (A483) Hotel
6.4 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
1.9 mi away
Trevor Arms
Trevor Arms
#8 of 14 in Wrexham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golly Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golly Farm Cottages

Property: Golly Farm Cottages
Address: Golly Farm Golly | Rossett, Burton LL12 0AL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Burton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Burton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Golly Farm Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful barn conversion to two luxury cottages on the North Wales/Cheshire border, each with double bedroom, en-suite bathroom, sitting/dining room, fully fitted kitchen, patio, parking, in peaceful rural location, overlooking open fields with far-reaching views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing