We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food with a fresh twist” 5 of 5 stars
Review of abacus - CLOSED

abacus
| village, Callian, France
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Only opened in June this year, a fab spot, beautiful village, great food, need to make a reservation 0613723645. Chef English and well travelled. Don'tmiss out we went twice during our weeks stay.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Brilliant food with a fresh twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The chef here used to work on superyachts, so always comes up with something different like Pear and Roquefort pudding mmmm. Food is always exquisitely prepared and presented. Highly recommended if you're in the area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Macduff83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well cooked Bistro food. charming service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Will certainly return, really enjoyed our evening.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverStP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's tough to give 5 stars to a small and cozy place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

If Abacus easily took larger groups, I would give 5 stars. But, if you want to share a lovely time with 2-6 people it's ideal. Then I give Danny & Abacus 5 stars for sure! Ambience is lovely. Even eating al fresco in Callian works so well - and inside it's lovely. Service is attentive and very friendly.
Pricing is very reasonable for the quality, quantity and thought which goes into every dish. Not afraid to experiment, Abacus delivers some wonderful and often surprising taste and texture combinations. They all work! The menu changes regularly and the bias to local produce and wines is very well balanced. I have eaten there often and will continue to do so.
If you want standard "tourist fare", go elsewhere.
If you demand more for your money, give Abacus a try. I don't think you will regret it (or I wouldn't write this recommendation!)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eamonn_Phillipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callian
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ambicious home cooking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Not overly impressed. They try and complicate the dishes more than they can handle. I rate the food as good home cooking. Good attempt wit asian touch but to bland in taste, not spicy enough. Nice atmosphere and very friendly staff. Definately a complement to excisiting restaurant choises.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asme0966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant, great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We've lived here for nearly three years and tried Abacus for the first time last night with friends. I have to say it was one of the best meals we've had since moving to France. The restaurant is small and cosy with a lovely atmosphere. The presentation of the food was particularly stunning with unusual touches such as the flower alongside my crumble. And the food itself was incredibly good, with an imaginative vegetarian course much appreciated by myself! Thoroughly recommended but book in advance.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JillyCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed abacus also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing