We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eco retreat”
Review of Finca de Arrieta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arrieta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca de Arrieta
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“eco retreat”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The eco tower sleeps two and has great views of the sea and mountains. It is 5 minutes walk to the beach and two good restruants… the Resort is small. With several yurts and a small pool,its in a very rural and unspoilt area of the island.some small improvements would improve client experiences such as regular change of towels and sheets.we felt the Privacy in the tower need ed improving and were not keen on the shower and lo being in same area as the small kitchen with no door …blinds in Shower windows would have also improved privacy however overall we enjoyed our week. Its a truly lovely location qUiet and unspoilt

Room Tip: The tower has lovely views personally would not recommend a small yurt as shower and lo are outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallsally2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Public Relations Manager at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Tower apartment. We will take on board the comments you have made with regards to suggested improvements.
Hopefully you would consider staying with us again, perhaps at a different property.
Kindest Regards
Lanzarote Retreats Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    19
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
94
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here as a couple for 12 days at the end of October. It is a lovely converted farm situated in the north of the island well away from the major resorts, the farm buildings interspersed with yurts. As many have already commented, if you are looking for bars, discos, lively town life and a large swimming pool, this one isn't for you. This is a quiet retreat, beautifully maintained, generating it's own electricity but with not a tv in sight. Yes there is a pool, but an adult could swim a length in under 5 seconds - more paddling than swimming really. But a perfectly good beach is a very short walk away.

We had the lovely Eco Lodge which was very comfortable, clean and served all our self-catering needs ... other than the hot water. Despite the best efforts of the staff, we were quite often left with no hot water for which I should really knock a star off. But I haven't because I hope it was only temporary and I'm sure (trust) that it will be sorted. The rest of the experience there was truly fabulous - the paddock with its donkeys, feeding the chickens while collecting their eggs in return and the Paella and Cantina nights. Our lodge's price included the use of an eco-car which enabled us to get to all the sights and walks on the island that we wanted. I would suggest that the use of a car for some of the time there is essential to fully appreciate what a wonderful island this is.

A great place to get away from it all!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Public Relations Manager at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
What a brilliant review! Thank you so much Robin, this is exactly the type of response we love to receive because you have really captured the experience. Thank you very much for taking the time to share this, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kindest regards
The Lanzarote Retreats Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Staff were friendly and very helpful. The location is great, with some nice swimming and walking nearby. (And some decent restaurants for seafood too.)

We do not have children – although many guests do, we certainly felt well accommodated and enjoyed the atmosphere.

Plan to come back.

Room Tip: We took the eco tower. You share a kitchen, but you get a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ttoclab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Owner at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We hope that you will one day return and try another one of our accommodation units! Best Wishes, from the Lanzarote Retreats and Finca De Arrieta team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of days as part of a broader tour of Lanzarote ... and concluded after about 10 minutes that we shouldn't have bothered with anywhere else!

Where to start? Well ... this is a very special retreat. It's very, very cleverly sited in the most peaceful, rural and traditional northern part of the island: a million miles away in terms of its culture, 'back to nature' feel and plain old-fashioned courtesy from the tourist areas of the east and south. The Finca is near enough to road access to make day trips by car - to any part of the island - very simple: but inside the grounds, it radiates a gentle, laid back, very tranquil ambience. Result: you just can't help feeling totally away from it all and wrapped in a private world of incredibly comfortable simplicity.

It's position, just outside the small fishing town (really no more than a large village) of Arriete, is close enough to the beach to walk in minutes - and just a couple of minutes further to a couple of top-rate restaurants. As well as that more immediate convenience, there are some truly stunning walks into the hills towards Harria and, only slightly further north, the Mirador de Rio and the tiny town of Orzola from where the ferry runs regularly to La Graciosa. The Harria walk offers fabulous views (and good exercise!) and was a must as far as we were concerned.

The yurts are special: we hadn't heard the expression 'glamping' before we went to the Finca, but completely understand the concept. It is wholly back to nature - as 'under the stars' as you could ever want to be - yet immensely civilised! And clean. And comfortable - that bed ...! And sociable - if you want to mix. And fun - collecting hens' eggs from the friendliest hens I've ever encountered! And as for the baby donkey ... talk about a soft touch for a piece of carrot! You probably get the picture.

This review would not be complete without a final word on the brains and effort behind it all. Tila and Michelle, the creators, have combined a unique Eco-vision with family values, genuine hospitality and offering outstanding value for money. That they've made commercial sense of it is a real tribute to their determination to establish a viable, but very different destination that ticks all the boxes - and especially if you simply can't stand the thought of yet another hotel or villa, and fellow tourists hell-bent on comparing Lanzarote with Benidorm.

Their deep knowledge of the island and genuine concern for the happiness of their guests is just guaranteed to ensure you make the very most of your time on Lanzarote.

And last but by no means least (I wouldn't dare!) come Sally and Nigel who look after the Finca day-to-day. They are simply and utterly dedicated to what they do - and it shows in every aspect of the retreat. Sally spared no effort to make sure we were looked after, and Nigel masterminds the paella feast on Wednesday evenings: the best we've ever eaten.

So - thank you all at Lanzarote Retreats for creating and sharing such a special experience. Next year's visit is already being planned ...!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Owner at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Wow, what an awesome response! Thank you very much, this is exactly the feedback we always strive to receive. We are extremely happy to have introduced you to the world of Glamping. See you again at the finca. Best wishes from all of the team members :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We loved every single minute of our stay with Lanzarote Retreats – THANK YOU ALL! To say we enjoyed the Finca de Arrieta Eco-Retreat is an understatement…..we absolutely LOVED it! Every member of the team was lovely and always extremely helpful. You can only but relax in this haven of peace. Our children made friends with other children at the retreat and they spent much time exploring the grounds – especially the playground with the massive trampoline! Our children had not slept in a Yurt before, let alone seen one before, and when their eyes clapped on their very own Yurt that would be their bedroom for the week, they almost exploded with excitement. From this moment we knew this was going to be an amazing holiday! After exploring the many things to do on the island (we enjoyed a great deal the Texas Ranch) to come back to the peaceful retreat was a complete joy. The Eco Barn, where we stayed, was perfect with views directly out to the sea – my first morning there I watched the sun rise from our bedroom window – pure bliss! Lanzarote Retreats run something very special at Finca de Arrieta and we will, without doubt, be going back for more. Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Eco Barn at Finca de Arrieta and we loved it. Inside was very well laid out and eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hubbard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Public Relations Manager at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you very much for this amazing review. This makes all of our hard work worthwhile :-)
So glad to see that you made the most of the Retreat, and the island.

Hope to see you again one day.

Best Wishes

Team lanzarote Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

So look, if you are after a cheap drinking, buffet eating, sunbed on the beach style holiday with english pubs and fryups for breakfast, you are NOT going to find it here.

What you will find is a purely chilled out place, quiet (for the most part), clean and a haven of utter relaxation.

Me and my pregnant partner stayed here for 7 nights in the Eco Yurt. Yes, there are a few things that you have to be aware of when living in a yurt, outdoors, but there are many benefits too!

Benefits/things we enjoyed overall:

- Open the skylight at night - sleep under the stars (with a mosquito net) in the fresh air.
- Outside bathroom - shower in the open air - mountains on one side, ocean on the other.
- Proximity to beach. This beach is mostly deserted, with shallow warm water and very soft sand. Heaven! This does mean having to cross a major road, and at night there can be some traffic noise but compared to London this is nothing - AND if it really troubles you at night, bring earplugs.
- Communal areas - these are cleaned and kept as in shape as they need to be. Not sure what others are complaining about, maybe they would be better off with a self catering flat in the hell-hole of Playa Del Carmen! The kitchen is clean, there is enough pots and pans there to make whatever, and you get your own fridge. Its all you need!
- Location in general - this was not what I expected, having never been to Lanzarote before. I thought it would be much more like what you see in 'Ibiza Uncovered' or something. This Finca though is in the North area of the island, which is more like a desert, which makes this place an oasis in a desert. Fab area! No pubs n clubs if thats what you want.
- Honesty shop/fridge etc - handy for an ice-cold beer when you arrive, or for soft drinks during the day.
- Staff - Sally is super friendly, and went beyond the call of duty when getting our boarding passes printed up off site for us.

Some things to be aware of:
- Yes, there are mosquitos. However, they only troubled us one night. We got a couple of citronella candles from the supermarket and burned them outside the yurt every night before we went to bed. No more mosquitos.

- Bring a torch when going to the beachside restaurants by foot at night. The path is level, but can have random stones that can be tripped over.

- If you are tall, mind your head when going into the yurt.

Look here, if you want the holiday with a rave up, pints of Carling and gammon egg and chips, this isnt it.

What this is, is a real refreshing, relaxing place, for families or couples, you cannot go wrong.

Will be back when my boy is old enough to appreciate this oasis.

Thanks for a lovely week!

P.s. not sure what the other reviewers are saying about the decoration/dirtiness - I nosed around the eco lodge and tower as well, and all I saw was in good condition. Maybe it is their expectations - this is not a 5-star hotel, its a eco soul retreat in a desert!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Public Relations Manager at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review as following your stay last year. We hope to see you again in 2014!

Kindest Regards
Team Lanzarote Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I am amazed how critical people are!

We had an incredible week at Finca Arrieta with our 2 year old, just what the doctor ordered, a relaxed and comfortable break. Sure the road is a little close and the Mossies do bite (not much anyone can do about these!), but the place is well run, very comfortable and well equipped.

Lanzarote itself is great, and the location is perfect for some lovely tourist attractions, our favourite being the trip over to Graciosa.

If you want a good value, sunny break from Tour daily lives, you can't go wrong.

Ignore the picky people ;-)


Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Public Relations Manager at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely comment following your stay last year.
All the best to you for 2014, we hope to welcome you again.
Kindest Regards
Team Lanzarote Retreats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrieta
18.0 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
516 reviews
28.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
8.8 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,643 reviews
27.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,717 reviews
9.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca de Arrieta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca de Arrieta

Property: Finca de Arrieta
Address: Calle Diseminado Tabayesco 34A, Arrieta, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Arrieta
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Arrieta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca De Arrieta is a great example of rural Eco Tourism on Lanzarote. Being just 300mts from the sandy beach & sea front restaurants its a perfect place to unwind & soak up the sun. Finca De Arrieta is Off Grid, all electric is provided by Wind Turbines & Solar Panels. Guests can enjoy collecting fresh eggs from the hen house, solar heated pool, the convenience of our honesty shop & for younger visitors the play park. Fifteen different accommodations are on offer including a luxury villa's, cottage's & a range of unique & fun Yurts. Some of these come complete with VIP airport transfers (ideal for a stress free start to your holiday) & exclusive use of a hybrid Toyota Car throughout your stay. Finca De Arrieta is perfect for families & couples alike. Come & stay for a chance to experience real Eco living in style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca De Arrieta Hotel Arrieta
Finca De Arrieta Lanzarote, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing