We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So different, and so special ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Finca de Arrieta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arrieta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca de Arrieta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“So different, and so special ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of days as part of a broader tour of Lanzarote ... and concluded after about 10 minutes that we shouldn't have bothered with anywhere else!

Where to start? Well ... this is a very special retreat. It's very, very cleverly sited in the most peaceful, rural and traditional northern part of the island: a million miles away in terms of its culture, 'back to nature' feel and plain old-fashioned courtesy from the tourist areas of the east and south. The Finca is near enough to road access to make day trips by car - to any part of the island - very simple: but inside the grounds, it radiates a gentle, laid back, very tranquil ambience. Result: you just can't help feeling totally away from it all and wrapped in a private world of incredibly comfortable simplicity.

It's position, just outside the small fishing town (really no more than a large village) of Arriete, is close enough to the beach to walk in minutes - and just a couple of minutes further to a couple of top-rate restaurants. As well as that more immediate convenience, there are some truly stunning walks into the hills towards Harria and, only slightly further north, the Mirador de Rio and the tiny town of Orzola from where the ferry runs regularly to La Graciosa. The Harria walk offers fabulous views (and good exercise!) and was a must as far as we were concerned.

The yurts are special: we hadn't heard the expression 'glamping' before we went to the Finca, but completely understand the concept. It is wholly back to nature - as 'under the stars' as you could ever want to be - yet immensely civilised! And clean. And comfortable - that bed ...! And sociable - if you want to mix. And fun - collecting hens' eggs from the friendliest hens I've ever encountered! And as for the baby donkey ... talk about a soft touch for a piece of carrot! You probably get the picture.

This review would not be complete without a final word on the brains and effort behind it all. Tila and Michelle, the creators, have combined a unique Eco-vision with family values, genuine hospitality and offering outstanding value for money. That they've made commercial sense of it is a real tribute to their determination to establish a viable, but very different destination that ticks all the boxes - and especially if you simply can't stand the thought of yet another hotel or villa, and fellow tourists hell-bent on comparing Lanzarote with Benidorm.

Their deep knowledge of the island and genuine concern for the happiness of their guests is just guaranteed to ensure you make the very most of your time on Lanzarote.

And last but by no means least (I wouldn't dare!) come Sally and Nigel who look after the Finca day-to-day. They are simply and utterly dedicated to what they do - and it shows in every aspect of the retreat. Sally spared no effort to make sure we were looked after, and Nigel masterminds the paella feast on Wednesday evenings: the best we've ever eaten.

So - thank you all at Lanzarote Retreats for creating and sharing such a special experience. Next year's visit is already being planned ...!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Owner at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Wow, what an awesome response! Thank you very much, this is exactly the feedback we always strive to receive. We are extremely happy to have introduced you to the world of Glamping. See you again at the finca. Best wishes from all of the team members :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    19
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
94
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We loved every single minute of our stay with Lanzarote Retreats – THANK YOU ALL! To say we enjoyed the Finca de Arrieta Eco-Retreat is an understatement…..we absolutely LOVED it! Every member of the team was lovely and always extremely helpful. You can only but relax in this haven of peace. Our children made friends with other children at the retreat and they spent much time exploring the grounds – especially the playground with the massive trampoline! Our children had not slept in a Yurt before, let alone seen one before, and when their eyes clapped on their very own Yurt that would be their bedroom for the week, they almost exploded with excitement. From this moment we knew this was going to be an amazing holiday! After exploring the many things to do on the island (we enjoyed a great deal the Texas Ranch) to come back to the peaceful retreat was a complete joy. The Eco Barn, where we stayed, was perfect with views directly out to the sea – my first morning there I watched the sun rise from our bedroom window – pure bliss! Lanzarote Retreats run something very special at Finca de Arrieta and we will, without doubt, be going back for more. Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Eco Barn at Finca de Arrieta and we loved it. Inside was very well laid out and eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hubbard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Public Relations Manager at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you very much for this amazing review. This makes all of our hard work worthwhile :-)
So glad to see that you made the most of the Retreat, and the island.

Hope to see you again one day.

Best Wishes

Team lanzarote Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

So look, if you are after a cheap drinking, buffet eating, sunbed on the beach style holiday with english pubs and fryups for breakfast, you are NOT going to find it here.

What you will find is a purely chilled out place, quiet (for the most part), clean and a haven of utter relaxation.

Me and my pregnant partner stayed here for 7 nights in the Eco Yurt. Yes, there are a few things that you have to be aware of when living in a yurt, outdoors, but there are many benefits too!

Benefits/things we enjoyed overall:

- Open the skylight at night - sleep under the stars (with a mosquito net) in the fresh air.
- Outside bathroom - shower in the open air - mountains on one side, ocean on the other.
- Proximity to beach. This beach is mostly deserted, with shallow warm water and very soft sand. Heaven! This does mean having to cross a major road, and at night there can be some traffic noise but compared to London this is nothing - AND if it really troubles you at night, bring earplugs.
- Communal areas - these are cleaned and kept as in shape as they need to be. Not sure what others are complaining about, maybe they would be better off with a self catering flat in the hell-hole of Playa Del Carmen! The kitchen is clean, there is enough pots and pans there to make whatever, and you get your own fridge. Its all you need!
- Location in general - this was not what I expected, having never been to Lanzarote before. I thought it would be much more like what you see in 'Ibiza Uncovered' or something. This Finca though is in the North area of the island, which is more like a desert, which makes this place an oasis in a desert. Fab area! No pubs n clubs if thats what you want.
- Honesty shop/fridge etc - handy for an ice-cold beer when you arrive, or for soft drinks during the day.
- Staff - Sally is super friendly, and went beyond the call of duty when getting our boarding passes printed up off site for us.

Some things to be aware of:
- Yes, there are mosquitos. However, they only troubled us one night. We got a couple of citronella candles from the supermarket and burned them outside the yurt every night before we went to bed. No more mosquitos.

- Bring a torch when going to the beachside restaurants by foot at night. The path is level, but can have random stones that can be tripped over.

- If you are tall, mind your head when going into the yurt.

Look here, if you want the holiday with a rave up, pints of Carling and gammon egg and chips, this isnt it.

What this is, is a real refreshing, relaxing place, for families or couples, you cannot go wrong.

Will be back when my boy is old enough to appreciate this oasis.

Thanks for a lovely week!

P.s. not sure what the other reviewers are saying about the decoration/dirtiness - I nosed around the eco lodge and tower as well, and all I saw was in good condition. Maybe it is their expectations - this is not a 5-star hotel, its a eco soul retreat in a desert!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Public Relations Manager at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review as following your stay last year. We hope to see you again in 2014!

Kindest Regards
Team Lanzarote Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I am amazed how critical people are!

We had an incredible week at Finca Arrieta with our 2 year old, just what the doctor ordered, a relaxed and comfortable break. Sure the road is a little close and the Mossies do bite (not much anyone can do about these!), but the place is well run, very comfortable and well equipped.

Lanzarote itself is great, and the location is perfect for some lovely tourist attractions, our favourite being the trip over to Graciosa.

If you want a good value, sunny break from Tour daily lives, you can't go wrong.

Ignore the picky people ;-)


Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Public Relations Manager at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely comment following your stay last year.
All the best to you for 2014, we hope to welcome you again.
Kindest Regards
Team Lanzarote Retreats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have to agree with the previous reviewer - we were not so bothered by the road noise as we live by a busy road at home, but our stay was definitely marred by poor maintenance. Despite the positives, we would not return.

During our stay we had a broken bed, dirty oven/frying pan in the kitchen, scalding/freezing shower, blood-stained mosquito net and the rental car provided first had an engine warning light and the next day an oil warning light, and had to be replaced. To be fair, the staff quickly responded to any issues raised, but we learned the owners moved off-site last year and it shows.

On the positive side, the setting was lovely, wonderful for kids--especially the trampoline and the hen houses. The nearest beach is only a walk away, is tranquil and has a fantastic restaurant beside it. The Prius we eventually were loaned was a godsend, air con and everything we needed. Information on local sites, events and amenities was also provided in a handy folder. The paella night was great.

Recommend taking mosquito repellant (we had lots of mosquitoes and though there was lethal-looking insect spray we could not find anything like citronella candles, kid-friendly spray, etc). Also a Spanish phrase book comes in handy. Lastly hand soap and instant coffee if you like those things (tea and filter coffee is provided) and want to avoid a trip to the supermarket on the first day.

Other tips -- make sure you know how to light a gas oven! Ours had a panel in the bottom and inside a small gun that you have to hold a match to, but it took us a very frustrating hour to work this out. For the honesty shop you will need to use coins, as they don't take notes. You can write 'to pay' and settle on the last day but it must be in cash. You can get cashback from the local gas station for a small commission; useful if you have to fill up the petrol tank on the rental car anyway. Don't buy fresh milk as it goes off within a few hours. Finally, if you're sightseeing, buy a multi-site ticket for the key tourist attractions as you can visit 3-5 sites for a cheaper price.

Best places we visited were Timanfaya national park, the Manrique sites, and Pagagayo beaches. Also went to La Graciosa, but for a 20-euro ferry ride there is not much there! Perhaps better to opt for the Finca guided tour if you want to see more of that island.

Room Tip: Rooms to the south of the plot have more road noise -- farmhouse, eco barn, beach yurt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank InkwotaBeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Owner at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
While it is great to see that there were so many positives to your stay, it's always important to us to see a negative, no matter how small so that we can aim to action ways to improve.
It's good to hear that our staff actioned the help for you very quickly, although cleaning and maintenance staff members should have noticed a broken bed or a stained net etc. as they were cleaning the accommodation In preparation for your arrival. we have taken steps to implement a more detailed check list for our cleaners to keep an eye on things on a weekly basis, (in addition to our annual maintenance and quality control checks which are already in place.)
Finally, your feedback with regards to the handy tips when staying at the property, for example how to light the gas oven etc. We will be updating our arrival information books in the near future and will be happy to include the suggestions you have included. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, we are extremely happy that over all you enjoyed your holiday. We do also send after stay questionnaire to our guests, and this does often help us to keep up with any minor adjustments we need to make along the way.
Kindest regards
from Tila Braddock and the team at Finca De Arrieta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

4 of us stayed here for a week in 2 yurts, its a lovely place with a beach 3 mins walk away, great fun and very relaxing, Sally organised bike hire for us for the week, its a fantastic safe place to be cycling from, the accommodation has everything you need, and we weren't bothered by any noise at all, well maybe the odd mosquito. We joined in the Paella evening cooked by Sally's husband, which was lovely, would highly recommend. Well worth a visit! Michelle and Tila the owners couldn't have been more helpful.
We loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewquayMunx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Guest Relations Manager at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
We have just been re-reading our reviews over the years and wanted to say a huge thank you to you for taking the time to write this review following your stay back in 2013..
We would love to welcome you back again in the future, that´s if you haven´t been back again already by now!
All the best
Tila & Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed in the luxurious farmhouse , which has some beautiful furniture and plenty of space,

However, there is a very busy road called the LZ1 just between the farm house and the beach, and the traffic noise from this road is very intrusive for much of the day and night, indeed from the private and lovely pool area, the road is literally just over the wall.

It seems to be the equivalent of the M1 in England, and since I live within hearing distance of the M1, I was looking forward to some peace and quiet.

It is also quite an issue to cross the road as the cars are going very fast, especially if , like us, you have a pushchair, which means you have to walk some distance on the road before you can cross it.

Also, some aspects of the holiday did not fit with the luxury promised, or indeed the price tag. For instance, our bed had a fairly ancient sheet on when we arrived which was badly ripped. When I asked for it to be changed it was, quickly and pleasantly, but after the first week another ripped sheet was then put back on the bed.

There was a table tennis table , lovely, but the balls were mainly unplayable with, the bats were poor quality, and the net needed attention.

The eco village is now massive with I think 14 properties, perhaps the ( truly delightful) owners have expanded so fast they can no longer take care of the all important details.

Sleep was quite a problem for most of us as the farmhouse seemed even hotter at night than during the day. We had thought that because the walls were thick we would be ok without air conditioning, but actually every night was a challenge to get to sleep. I tried sleeping outside but it was too noisy and there were so many mosquitoes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alliumlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Owner at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
First of all thank you for taking the time to review our property at the Finca, we always appreciate feedback. We have very rarely received any negative comment about the position of the finca, or any of the accommodations.
The M1 is a motorway and an unfair comparison considering the LZ1 is a single carriageway, and thankfully in Lanzarote we do not have motorways which is one of the reasons why people love to visit this island. Our traffic here is very limited, but does increase on Sunday lunchtime, however it is not literally over the wall as unfairly stated, it's more than 100 meters away and Im sorry that you felt it had an effect on your over all enjoyment.This is the first time I ever heard such a comparison .
There are aspects to your review which we have already fixed. It is unacceptable for you to have had a torn sheet. We have taken extra steps to make sure that our cleaning staff check all bedding and linen in the future. We always offer to provide fans for the hotter months which Sally and the rest of the onsite team will willingly provide when asked. We do not wish to grow any larger, but we do feel that our staff levels are high enough to cope with the units which we now have and we do provide an onsite help office staff member to help instantly with anything our guests require.
Once again we do appreciate your feedback, and we have taken
time to evaluate all of your comments and action all that is possible .
Best wishes from our team
Tila Braddock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrieta
18.0 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
28.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
8.8 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
8.7 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca de Arrieta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca de Arrieta

Property: Finca de Arrieta
Address: Calle Diseminado Tabayesco 34A, Arrieta, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Arrieta
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Arrieta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca De Arrieta is a great example of rural Eco Tourism on Lanzarote. Being just 300mts from the sandy beach & sea front restaurants its a perfect place to unwind & soak up the sun. Finca De Arrieta is Off Grid, all electric is provided by Wind Turbines & Solar Panels. Guests can enjoy collecting fresh eggs from the hen house, solar heated pool, the convenience of our honesty shop & for younger visitors the play park. Fifteen different accommodations are on offer including a luxury villa's, cottage's & a range of unique & fun Yurts. Some of these come complete with VIP airport transfers (ideal for a stress free start to your holiday) & exclusive use of a hybrid Toyota Car throughout your stay. Finca De Arrieta is perfect for families & couples alike. Come & stay for a chance to experience real Eco living in style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca De Arrieta Hotel Arrieta
Finca De Arrieta Lanzarote, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing