We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stay on the nicest part of the island.”
Review of Finca de Arrieta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca de Arrieta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Finca de arrieta is not your usual holiday location. It's a group of yurts (yes, yurts) and villas in a finca by the seaside village of Arrieta on the northeastern coast of Lanzarote. It's an Eco resort. That means all power is off grid. And recycling is a way of life. The yurts are fabulous - very comfy and pretty. Kids love the freedom. There are animals, a playground with a trampoline and huge chess. A small pool and a great beach nearby. Adults will love the hippie glamour and the relaxation. Sally is very helpful and lovely and her husband serves a mean paella and glass or 2 of sangria. The location is convenient for all main tourist attractions. And the coastline and mountains are dramatic and weird.
In would recommend for families with kids under 12. Teenagers will be ok if they are in a group but otherwise it's a little but too oriented for the young ones.
We stayed in the twin yurt. I loved the outdoor kitchen and bathroom. But it's near the playground - a bit noisy at 8am!
You can hear the traffic on the main road and that might put people off but it's not too disturbing.
A lovely choice for a short break in the sun.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Public Relations Manager at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

We have just been re-reading our reviews over the years and wanted to say a huge thank you to you for taking the time to write this review following your stay back in 2013..
We would love to welcome you back again in the future, that´s if you haven´t been back again already by now!
All the best
Tila & Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 172 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at the Finca de Arrieta. From the moment we were collected us at the airport the hospitality was fantastic, and their love of Lanzarote was so contagious that it was a big factor in us falling in love with the place as well. Travel tips including everything from Manrique spots (inspiring), to beaches, and to food and drink were all amazing. Touches like the honesty shop, 'top tips', lift down to the restaurant on our first night, bottle of cava for the transfer and the use of the prius were all examples of what a really great service they offer.

We loved staying in the yurt and enjoying the 'outdoor suite' that it offered. The kids also had an amazing time and have returned table tennis afficionados, and with the email addresses of their newly formed holiday gang so that they can stay in touch.

Get in while you still can - this is a great holiday destination, and a perfect place for a family to stay... they are only going to get busier!

Room Tip: Yurt suite is spacious, closest to playground / trampoline and has a lovely view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaB294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Public Relations Manager at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

We have just been re-reading our reviews over the years and wanted to say a huge thank you to you for taking the time to write this review following your stay back in 2013..
We would love to welcome you back again in the future, that´s if you haven´t been back again already by now!
All the best
Tila & Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I confess: I was a Canary Islands snob. I thought they were all full of lobster-pink Brits and pubs offering Full Englishes. Then I found the Finca online and I'm so glad I put my preconceptions aside. Yes, lots of the Canary Islands might be over-developed, tour-group-heavy pockets of every tourist stereotype but not Lanzarote. Thanks to the thoughtful and progressive planning masterminded by Cesar Manrique, the island is low rise, low key and traditional, yet completely accessible and modern. From landing at Arrecife to packing up to go home our holiday was a breeze, and a huge part of that was our stay at the Finca.

I found the Finca while looking for a couple-friendly, pre-baby holiday with some sunshine in a location with a few activities to keep us amused should we want a little bit of stimulation. I hadn't given the Canaries much thought given my preconceptions about the islands but I was sold on the low-impact, eco-friendly, relaxed feel the website gave which absolutely reflected our experience on site. And discovering the beauty of Lanzarote was an added bonus.

We stayed for 7 nights in the Eco Twin Yurt (we didn't need the second yurt, but booked late and took what they had left) so had plenty space to hang out when we felt like some privacy; it would be a fine size with a couple of kids in tow. The main yurt was massive, more space that any hotel room and when you add in the bathroom, kitchen and dining area, as well as the wide space surrounding the yurt for sunbathing and sitting about, it was far bigger than any 2-4 person s/c apartments I've stayed in.

The site is a large planned site with lots of parking and pathways, all lit by solar lighting, with a large playpark, giant chess board and trampoline, with a sun stove and sitting area. Each yurt is sensibly spaced from its neighbours so you don't feel overheard or overlooked, and all are lockable with their own gates so feel pretty private. At the middle of the site is the pool, lots of cushioned sunloungers, shady (and super comfy) daybed and an open communal space (with a wifi spot for your smug "look how awesome our holiday is" FB/Twitter updating), as well as toilet/shower and kitchen facilities which you can use if you arrive early, or are hanging out before a late flight home.

We spent our holiday unwittingly following a bit of a pattern: a easy morning reading, a spot of interwebbing and a long breakfast, feeding the chickens our leftovers and collecting a couple of eggs, then a lunchtime jaunt in the car to one of the many sights or features of Lanzarote when the sun was at its strongest, rounded off with an afternoon by the pool. We ate in most evenings (we ordered the farm-shop box at the start of our stay and topped up with groceries from Arrieta and Costa Teguise through the week - however the El Marinero restaurant in Arrieta is very good and a bit more interesting than the typical fish/tapas beachside places) and ended up tucked up in bed by about 9:30 each night, having enjoyed the low light levels which made star-gazing a joy, and lulled to sleep by the sound of the wind (of which there is quite a bit on Lanzarote!). As other reviews have mentioned, the Finca is near a main road - well, as "main" as they get on the island - but we didn't find the road noise an issue: the wind was noisier most nights and we found that quite soothing. The beds were very comfortable, and the temperatures perfect at night.

The Finca is clearly popular with families, but as a couple with no kids (yet) we didn't feel weird or awkward being there as a couple, and I can completely see what makes it a brilliant destination for families. I can absolutely see us returning with a toddler in tow in a year or so.

We had the most relaxed, sleep-filled, sun-soaked week and were really sad to leave, despite the fact leaving meant continuing our holiday with some surfing on Gran Canaria! I would have happily stayed another week, especially given we found out so much about the island and all of the activities it can offer (good surfing, excellent cycling, lots fo wild beaches). I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brackla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Public Relations Manager at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

We have just been re-reading our reviews over the years and wanted to say a huge thank you to you for taking the time to write this review following your stay back in 2013..
We would love to welcome you back again in the future, that´s if you haven´t been back again already by now!
All the best
Tila & Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were searching for weeks looking for a good place to stay but were bored of the usual chain hotels, all inclusives and self catering flats. When we stumbled on this place online and knew it was right. The vibe is spot on - relaxed, accommodating, low impact and original.

We were staying in the Eco Twin Yurt and were impressed with the facilities. A nice kitchen area pre-stocked with some basic essentials like tea, coffee, salt, pepper, olive oil etc, a nice shower room and BBQ with dinning table. The Yurt itself had a lovely kingsized bed inside as well as sofa and storage. Lanzarote being a windy island meant that we fell asleep each night to the sound of the wind in the palm trees. Lovely. The shared areas were very well equipped too with a lovel pagoda to hide from the midday sun while sitting by the pool. Sally was a great hostess and all the other guests were friendly and chatty and the honesty shop was well stocked and very reasonably priced.

All in all, an excellent week was spent here and reading the weather forecasts of snow at home only made it better. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattFenbyTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Public Relations Manager at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

We have just been re-reading our reviews over the years and wanted to say a huge thank you to you for taking the time to write this review following your stay back in 2013..
We would love to welcome you back again in the future, that´s if you haven´t been back again already by now!
All the best
Tila & Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

You might think that because this is the second time we’ve visited that this was always going to be a positive review. Our expectations were even higher this time, especially since we were escaping -4 snow blizzards in the UK. Well the truth is, it was even better.
Tilla, Michelle and their kids (who own the retreat) have not rested on their laurels and have continuously raised the bar on eco holidays. There are more options on where to stay (yurts, fisherman’s cottages, eco towers) and Sally and her staff are always on hand to help.
The honesty shop is a god send when you’ve drank that last bottle of wine and it also stocks loads of basics to get you through until your next trip out of the retreat (should you be able to pull yourself away from your lounger or day bed).
Before I go on, can I say the word eco filled my better half with images of kaftans and lentils, but this isn’t the case. There were however a number of MacBook users, leisurely sat around the communal kitchen table chatting amiably as they checked on the cricket store or downloaded e mails (all in an eco friendly way, obviously).
As we said before, if you're one of those people who likes to get to their holiday destination and have information at their fingertips of what to do, where to go and how to do it, Finca De Arrieta is for you.
Three hours after landing on Lanzarote soil, we were at the beach side tapas bar, our office jobs and household chores a distant memory as we listened to tales of the island and quaffed the (surprisingly) delicious wines of Lanzarote.

The retreat is a great destination whether you’re young, old, require peace and quiet or noisy, shared suppers. The thing about staying somewhere like this, is that you can decide what kind of holiday to make it, and the Finca staff will facilitate in whatever you choose.


We stayed in the Eco Yurt again but this time we left the kids at home (naughty us, they were taken care of so no need to call social services). As before, it was spotless when we arrived, big double bed, candles, lamps, radio, bed side tables.The kitchen and loo which were outside but in our own enclosed area were top notch. Big fluffy towels, boutique standard shower room, coffee, tea, milk, cold Cava. What’s not to like?

We had our own gate to the communal area and another gate out to the play area (which has grown and has an amazing built in trampoline) and chickens. Last time it was free eggs all holiday, scrambled, boiled, poached, omelette…but the girls weren’t giving them up so easily this time!


The Finca is very quiet at night, so if its all-night bingo and knobbly knees competitions you want, this might not be the holiday for you. We had very busy days so often a night under the stars with a good book, and glass of red was just the ticket. However, sometimes we took the option of visiting La Cantina (Excellent food, with a massive range of local wines and superb beers) in Teguise, or else took another of Sally and Michelle’s recommendations for “a great tapas place – Bodecas (Costa Teguise) ” or “the best steak on the Island – La Frontera (Hariea)”. They know their stuff and that’s for sure.

Back to the retreat. There’s a play room for the kids, a donkey to ride, chickens to feed, a short walk to the beach, a pool, lots of pool toys, and lots of dads to play in the pool with the kids while the mums topped up their tans (In March by the way – when you were suffering the Baltic conditions *Smug face*!
 There’s a garage full of scuba stuff, bikes, spare cars, balls, bats whatever you want or didn’t know you wanted, it’s there.




One top tip we were recommended early in the holiday was a wine tasting with Helena at La Cantina, which set us up brilliantly for the most sophisticated Pub crawl across the week. When we weren’t visiting the Bodegas of the Island imbibing we had the option of Scuba diving, sailing, cultural visits and amazing treks up, down and across the Volcanic landscapes

Summary.
If you want a holiday in your own room with no contact with anybody else then maybe this Finca ain’t for you. But if you want a warm and friendly holiday, with good food, good company and good times, then this really is your bag.
We had a look at the luxury accommodation and it’s top notch – in fact we’ve booked in for a Christmas break. We intend to have our own variation of a New Years party – taking advantage of outdoor bathing and sparkly under the stars. But if you’re a bit more strapped for cash, book a simpler yurt and do all that around the pool – why wait until New Year?


One thing – MOST of the accommodation comes with a car for your use whilst on the retreat. Take advantage of this. There are good markets and grocery stores (and T&M will get you a delivery of fresh fruit, veg, cheese and wine right to your yurt) so cooking is a pleasure rather than a chore.
Although on holidays it really is each to their own, we ended up making some very good friends here. This isn’t just a business for Tilla, Michelle, their family and the unflappable Sally, it’s a way of life. And when they open up their doors to you, you really do see hospitality at it’s best.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WidTheViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Public Relations Manager at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

We have just been re-reading our reviews over the years and wanted to say a huge thank you to you for taking the time to write this review following your stay back in 2013..
We would love to welcome you back again in the future, that´s if you haven´t been back again already by now!
All the best
Tila & Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night stay. I can't recommend this place enough. When we arrived we were welcomed by champagne in the fridge, tea, coffee and snacks ... Very useful ! The resort was very peaceful and relaxed and great to be off grid and rely on nature to provide electric etc ... Certainly what we wanted as the big resorts often put us off. The beach at Arrieta is great and fantastic tapas to be had just by the Fisherman's Cottage. Further north you will find some secluded beaches towards Orzola, although not great for swimming. The usual tourist attractions were interesting but can be done in a couple of days if you hire a car. A must see is El Golfo if you want to see a rugged coastline and great little restaurants away from the masses of tourists. Haria market on Fridays is also worth a visit for hand crafted items and Famara beach great for surfing/body boarding.. Lanzarote is great for a winter sun break .. You just need to choose where you go ...well done Lanzarote Retreats !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Public Relations Manager at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

We have just been re-reading our reviews over the years and wanted to say a huge thank you to you for taking the time to write this review following your stay back in 2013..
We would love to welcome you back again in the future, that´s if you haven´t been back again already by now!
All the best
Tila & Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in both the Garden Cottage at the finca and the Fisherman's Cottage in Arrieta. Overall we had a fantastic time - it is an amazing place, with the most wonderful relaxing atmosphere, views to die for, and just about the right combination of eco principles and comfort. Sally was a brilliant hostess, and the more I think back on it the more I can't help smiling.

The views from Fisherman's Cottage... I could so live there... Arrieta beach and watching the sun rise, the swimming (the water is just about perfect temperature wise except when the wind is up). The market in Haria.

Our only cavills have been noted by some others. The Finca is located close to the main road from Arrecife to Orzola and there is nearly always traffic - which is such a shame as otherwise you really would go to sleep listening to the sound of the sea, which is just a short walk away. But that wasn't a problem at Fisherman's (where the sea laps right outside the door), we were just unlucky to be there on New Year's Eve, and have the night ruined by the selfish behaviour of the folks down the road at Los Pescaditos WHO PUT A LOUDSPEAKER IN THE STREET AND PLAYED THE SAME RUBBISH SONGS OVER AND OVER UNTIL NEARLY 4 AM. See Tripadvisor for reviews of their food (we didn't eat there...). And finally, the Swedish flatpack furniture. It's nice furniture, but with properties like these and the eco ethos it is a shame that they didn't decorate with a bit more local craftsmanship, using recycled wood etc.

Small quibbles. A lovely, lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanz0, Public Relations Manager at Finca de Arrieta, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

We have just been re-reading our reviews over the years and wanted to say a huge thank you to you for taking the time to write this review following your stay back in 2012..
We would love to welcome you back again in the future, that´s if you haven´t been back again already by now!
All the best
Tila & Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrieta
8.8 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
8.7 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#3 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,277 reviews
9.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,762 reviews
27.3 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
2.3 mi away
Casa Emblematica Villa Delmas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca de Arrieta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca de Arrieta

Address: Calle Diseminado Tabayesco 34A, Arrieta, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Arrieta
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Arrieta
Price Range: $164 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca De Arrieta is a great example of rural Eco Tourism on Lanzarote. Being just 300mts from the sandy beach & sea front restaurants its a perfect place to unwind & soak up the sun. Finca De Arrieta is Off Grid, all electric is provided by Wind Turbines & Solar Panels. Guests can enjoy collecting fresh eggs from the hen house, solar heated pool, the convenience of our honesty shop & for younger visitors the play park. Fifteen different accommodations are on offer including a luxury villa's, cottage's & a range of unique & fun Yurts. Some of these come complete with VIP airport transfers (ideal for a stress free start to your holiday) & exclusive use of a hybrid Toyota Car throughout your stay. Finca De Arrieta is perfect for families & couples alike. Come & stay for a chance to experience real Eco living in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca de Arrieta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca De Arrieta Hotel Arrieta
Finca De Arrieta Lanzarote, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing