We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay & Great Value in Surf Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caza Olas Hotel & Hostel
Reviewed April 29, 2012

While searching for hostels in Pavones online, I only came across Caza Olas that seemed to be in the budget backpacker price range. And was I glad to have found it.

I traveled with 3 other people, and when we arrived to the hostel, we were able to book a "house" with 3 individual rooms (2 had twin size beds, and other full size bed), our own kitchen (with all the utensils, pots, pans, cups, you would need), and common area. We were amazed that per person, we paid $10 night, and to be able to get those rooms during busy Semana Santa week.

We originally only wanted to stay for 2 nights, but ended up extending 5 nights. The hostel is located fairly close to world-class surf, with those beautiful lefts that break in Pavones. And though the owner was not at the hostel, Jenny & Antonio were wonderful staff that helped make our stay pleasant and "home-y".

I definitely plan on returning to Pavones for the surf, and will for sure stay at Caza Olas again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HurricaneHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Caza Olas Hotel & Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 37 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2011

This is a great place, close to town. My friend and I stayed there, and we felt safe and had a great time.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
Thank GenevaGarciaEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My Wife and I spent a very plesant 5 nights, although the surf and other guests enchanced the experience.

The house has 5 different rooms upstairs where all the guests stay all with different layouts and amenities. There is also an adjacent house with a few bedrooms that get rented out when necessary.

The house has a small but ample kitchen with fridge, stove top, and coffee maker. There is a nice large wooden table outside where you can eat, read, relax or take shelter from the rain. Wifi worked well with strong signal and reasonable download speed considering the location. There are a few house surf boards that get rented out.

The Lady (jenny) who runs the place could not me more friendly and attentive. She works hard (with a smile) to keep the place spic and span. Even drying the floor when pepole came in dripping from the beach and out door shower. Jenny had been working there for about 4 months, she knew the area and was well connected in the community.

Certainly one of the nicer places to stay on the cabina path leading to the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Arrived late at nighte and very tired (Rio Claro de Pavones is a well "tucked away" location ) and the owner-manager; Andrea (an italian friendly guy) stepped off his bed and showed us the options available. Even though they have some shared bedrooms we opted for the comfortable AC room with private bath and had a great night sleep. The atmosphere is great at Caza Olas and despite being a small place it is very laid back and you feel "safe" at all the time. The Hotel / Hostel is just 3 minutes walking distance from the beach though the world famous "left wave" that makes Pavones a "surfing" mecca. Caza Olas has a shared clean kitchen and the staff and management are always very helpful and ready to help. I will certainly go back there. Free WiFi and inhouse car parking.

Room Tip: In high season get there before the 5,30pm bus
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekoradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

i spent 3 nights in casaolas and this is the best place that i slept in on my 3 months trip andrea (the owner) helped us with everything - places to surf and all our questions. so if you want great place with nice atmoshphre and very good service u must go there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tdavid88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Andressa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pavones
10.2 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
619 reviews
22.8 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
320 reviews
13.4 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#4 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lanzas de Fuego Surf & Adventure Lodge
0.4 mi away
Castillo de Pavones
Castillo de Pavones
#2 of 5 in Pavones
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caza Olas Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caza Olas Hotel & Hostel

Address: Mt. Este de la Cancha de Futbol 200, Pavones, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Pavones
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Pavones
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best budget accommodation right in the center of Pavones. Laid back atmosphere, few seconds walking to the beach and to the world's famous surf spot. Daily cleanliness. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing