We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
easyas
Hua Hin, Thailand

Tranquillity

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 27, 2012
This very peaceful resort is across a narrow very lightly trafficed road from one of the cleanest and most picturesque sandy beaches in Thailand. That in itself makes it worth staying here for a day or several.
We stayed in a pool side one bedroom villa, small, but with all needs completely catered for.
The staff were all totally friendly and extremely helpful. The peace and tranquillity of their environment appears to have rubbed off on them all, judging from their happy smiling faces!
We will be back soon!
Date of stay: September 2012
Room Tip: Choose a pool side rather than a garden villa. A little more expensive, but well worth it.
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    $28
  • Booking.com
1.3 miles from Baan Klang Aow Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
3.8 miles from Baan Klang Aow Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Piscine
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
12.3 miles from Baan Klang Aow Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
    12.4 miles from Baan Klang Aow Beach Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Trip.com
      $53
    • Booking.com
    11.6 miles from Baan Klang Aow Beach Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    communal pool
      0.8 miles from Baan Klang Aow Beach Resort
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Der Pool
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
      11.7 miles from Baan Klang Aow Beach Resort
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • eDreams
      17.8 miles from Baan Klang Aow Beach Resort
      Free Wifi
      Beachfront
      piscine bord de plage
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • Priceline
      23.2 miles from Baan Klang Aow Beach Resort
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • Priceline
      13.3 miles from Baan Klang Aow Beach Resort
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Bang Saphan
      Reviews (64)
      Filter reviews
      64 results
      Traveler rating
      31
      27
      4
      0
      2
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveler rating
      31
      27
      4
      0
      2
      See what travelers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      33 - 38 of 64 reviews
      Reviewed May 25, 2012

      Nestled half way along a wide bay, one could imagine this is what Thai beach resorts were like 25 years ago. The property faces east onto a beautiful clean white sandy beach. A few deck chairs sit deserted under the dappled shade of tall coconut trees. There are no hawkers and not a spot of garbage to be seen.

      The resort is at Baan Krud, a sleepy village along the coast 382km from Bangkok, 20 km north of Bang Saphan District. To get here by road it is roughly 4 1/2 - 5 hours in a private car with a lunch stop along the way. You could also consider taking a southern bound train from Bangkok, get off at Baan Krud station just a few kilometres away, and arrange a pickup from the resort.

      The Baan Krud beach is much less developed than the tourist resorts of Pranburi, Hua Hin and Cha-am to the north. On my early morning run along the beach access road I encountered only a couple of motorcycles and some cheerful locals. The middle part of the beach is where most restaurants and resorts are, and there are bamboo shacks on the beach.

      The beach opposite Baan Klang Aow is completely devoid of development. In the front of the resort, opposite the beach, rooms are surrounded by towering trees and flowering shrubs of all varieties, a veritable tropical garden. Two well maintained chlorine treated pools are fed with fountains, each with a shallower end for small children, and comfortable lounge chairs and stone paving around the pools under shady trees for reading or drying off after a swim. A perfectly peaceful place for relaxing.

      There are 1, 2 and 3 bedroom rooms and bungalows available. I stayed with my wife and small son, and another family with a young daughter, in a 2 bedroom bungalow facing one of the pools. The rooms are older style timber dwellings but clean and well maintained with aircon inside, and wide verandahs outside. There were no flyscreens on the bedroom windows and no fans in the room we slept in so aircon was the only option. Each room has a separate bathroom.

      There is a small cozy open restaurant-cafe near the check-in counter, surrounded by lush vegetation and well-ventilated by fans. It has a comfortable homey feel. This overlooks the beach so you could read a book or check the internet from here. Wireless is free and the signal is good in the common areas. The restaurant where breakfast is served is is a larger open plan area opposite here.

      We found the staff very pleasant and accommodating. They seemed to have permanent smiles whenever we spoke to them. Guests also seem to be happy. One family from Estonia we met had planned to stop just one night, then stayed a week.

      The food at the resort was average. The breakfast is bit basic but passable with a small range of Thai and Western foods, fried rice, soup, fresh eggs, fresh fruit and interesting herbal juices that change each day. We ate once in the restaurant at lunch time.

      There are a number of good eating options in the Baan Krud area. For Thai-style seafood, including spicy local dishes, try Pramong Seafood which is on the beach 3km to the north. We ate here three nights in a row. There is a Thai Isan food restaurant called Som Tam Nam Nuea which serves fried chicken, somtam, sticky rice and other delicacies. That is 2km to the north along the beach access road. These are within cycling distance and you can borrow a bicycle from the resort to go there.

      On the activities side, there is a spa on the property and I had an hour-long foot and shoulder massage for only 250THB. There is a stunning temple Wat Tang Sai on a promontory overlooking Baan Krud beach with an impressive set of steps to reach the pagoda. On the bottom floor of the pagoda, the inside walls are covered with beautiful murals. On the upper floor are beautiful stained glass windows and outside an amazing view of the coast to the north can be seen.

      Down the road you can organize boat trips to go squid fishing in the early evening for about 300THB per person. Further afield, it’s possible to arrange to go snorkelling on coral reefs at Koh Talu, 37km to the south. We didn’t do these activities since we had small children with us.

      Baan Klang Aow is a great place to chill that is reasonably priced. We stayed during the cusp of the wet season, arriving during the week so there were just a few guests around. Our 2 bedroom bungalow was 3,600THB (weekday rate, valid until November 2013). Weekends get busier, and on our last night (Friday), a large group of Thai tourists arrived but the resort is spread out and we did not notice them. Well worth the extra hour and a bit drive past Hua Hin to escape the crowds. The website is at http://www.baanklangaow.net/index.php

      Date of stay: May 2012
      • Trip type: Traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      3  Thank tonylR3662JK
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed March 7, 2012

      We arrived at night and were blown away with the view we woke up to the next morning! We were in a bungalow right across the street from one of the most gorgeous beaches in Thailand! The bungalows are tucked away in a beautiful well kept tropical garden, the pools were very nice, the restaurant had okay food, but the views more than made up for that. Snorkeling tours to a nearby island are offered. We really wanted to come back to this area and stay a few more nights, but just didn't have the time. Next time we're in Thailand we'll be back! Very comfortable and absolutely beautiful place to stay!

      Date of stay: January 2012
      • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      3  Thank Sunnydaze105
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed January 30, 2012

      I liked this place and would like to go back. Cozy bungalows (ours smelled a little musty, but that's understandable in the humid climate) w/ your own veranda, nice pool to chill around, gorgeous beach across the street - although there were HUGE jellyfish (in January at least). Breakfast was not the best but acceptable.

      Date of stay: January 2012
      • Trip type: Traveled with family
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Jennifer W
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed January 10, 2012

      The resort consists of bungalows built in a well kept garden. It has two small swimming pools, the sandy beach is opposite the entrance. The beach is clean, while you can walk along the beach for several kilometers. Very friendly staff, good breakfast and the restaurant provides good dinners for a low price. There is a nice bar to sit and have a drink in the evening.
      The room was typically Thai, teak, , good beds and a small, sober but efficient bathroom and toilet. I could park my car close to the bungalow.
      It was a pity we had our hotels already booked, because we would have loved to stay a few days more.

      Date of stay: January 2012
      • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Cor v
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed September 15, 2023 via mobile
      Google Translation

      Date of stay: August 2023
      Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews