We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Palm Gardens

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bang Saphan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palm Gardens
Ranked #1 of 15 Bang Saphan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at Palm Gardens for 6 nights at the beginning of April. After a 6 hour taxi transfer from Bangkok it was nice to be greeted by the owners of the villas on arrival. The hosts are genuinly friendly and helpful and are definitely not in it to make money - they could charge a lot more for their hospitality as well as the villas themselves. Perhaps these are the reasons why this is such a popular place - there were many repeat customers! The villas are comfortable, clean and made up each day. If you are sad enough to want to watch tv in such a beautiful place as Bang Saphan, there is one in the villa. We took breakfast with Larry and Thongbai, the owners, on the veranda of their chalet each day. You don't need to go anywhere else - the choice and quaity of food is very good. Thongbai organised our transfer to Koh Samui for us! She booked a taxi to take us to Chumpon as well as the ferry to Samui. We have been to Thailand many times before but loved this place. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
88
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I had the great pleasure of being able to stay at the Palm Gardens for 3 nights in April 13 and what fabulous service! It all started when Larry picked me up from the railway station and stopped in town so I could load up with some goodies with good advice from Larry. After a short drive we arrive at the resort , I had chosen to take the small room which turned out to be great for me. I did upgrade for 1 night into the bigger room and this was excellent quality.
The Experience of the gut busting breakfast prepared by Larry’s wife is a life experience, I am missing the bacon already. Larry is a real character and has many tails to tell, a really nice guy , is wife is also most helpful .
I suggest anyone who wants to really chill out and take a short walk to the local beach bar has found the ideal location . I really look ward to revisiting Larry and his wife at sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Over looking the pool best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucklechurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had the pleasure of being able to stay at the Palm Gardens for 22 nights in Jan & Feb 2013 and what service! It all started when Larry picked us up from the railway station and stopped in town so we could load up with some goodies with good advice from Larry. After a short drive we arrive at the small resort and what a resort four nice roomy bungalows overlooking the pool set in beautiful gardens. After being given a nice cool drink we met the rest fo the family Tongbai Nat Jen. then we settled into our room which was lovely and clean and spacious. Then for the next few days we explored the area which was full of nice country lanes for walking and miles of lovely beach just a 100yards from the resort, which was very quiet and no hasle except for a good morning here and there with a few bars and resturants and the sea at your beck & call. Tongbai, Larrys wife was really great and her cooking is something to behold! Had to top up the monies from an ATM in town which Larry took us to and then proceeded to give us a little tour of a very small, beautiful bay and Ban Krut. We look forward to returning next January, already booked!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tomtomur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanchanaburi, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The location was perfect, just a short walk to the unspoiled and largely empty beach. The entire resort was immaculately maintained. Our bungalow was comfortable, light and airy, with excellent air con. The bathroom had a proper separate shower. The breakfast was fantastic and definitely the best we had in Thailand.The owners are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Book early. There are only four bungalows. They are always full!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenwrightphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We've just left Palm Gardens and are already trying to work out how we can go back and live there!
There are four rooms, in chalet-style bungalows and a fifth 'overspill' room in the main house. Our room was big, with a high standard of decoration and fittings - the photos here and on the website didn't do it justice...
The room had a TV (although there could have been more English/US channels maybe? - unless I just didn't manage to find them?!), AC and a fan, desk, sofa, kettle and tea/coffee (fresh milk in the fridge would have been the icing on the cake, but there was creamer powder), small bathroom with shower curtain and lovely hot water. Outside each room is a little terrace with table and benches for your meals, together with deck chairs for sunbathing (a lovely touch!).
There is a medium-size pool which we pretty much had to our selves, surrounded by a lovingly-tended garden. The beach is about 100 metres away and empty, except for a handful of bars. Bliss.
Breakfast and lunch is available - my other half thought he'd died and gone to heaven with the enormous English breakfast that appeared on our first morning! The muesli was fantastic with home-made yoghurt and local honey.
Nothing is too much trouble for Larry and his wife Tombai - they very kindly picked us up at past midnight when our delayed train finally showed up, and were great hosts. We extended our stay to eight nights and spent a lot of time doing nothing! Perfect.

I would say that it's not the place if you're looking for a social, busy and action-packed stay. Without transport our options were pretty limited, but you can use the bikes free of charge and rent scooters/cars from the guesthouse if you want to get out and about.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarkerosie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thongbai, Owner at Palm Gardens, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you all so much for your kind reviews, we are only doing our best for everybody that comes to stay with us once again for all your kind words Larry Thongbai and Natalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

just returned from a fantastic month staying at Palm Gardens Resort, Larry and his Thai wife Tombai and daugther Natalee just could not do enough to make our stay the most enjoyable we have had in some years. The rooms are spotless and spacious and the gardens and pool a delight .Larry even took time to pick us up on arrival and get us back to the station on our return. If like me you enjoy a hearty breakfest to start the day you wont go wrong having brought to you on your terrace by the lovely maid Yen, plenty of variety and delicious. Its an easy stroll to the fabulous beach and its value for money resturants ,Try I Tal Lay resturant its great food.If you are looking for rooms in Bang Saphan you will not find any better than Palm Gardens. Lin n Baz from Cambridge

Room Tip: from Bangkok we found bus to be much better than the dirty slow train , loo disgusting, bus new and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wOOly71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We’ve enjoyed our stay at Palm Gardens in July 2012.
Location is great,
Very comfortable, good value for money and in a great location, the beach is very close.
Mini fridge, great AC, TV with satellite, Wi-Fi, pool and really enjoyed breakfast - what to want more...
We travelled with 12 y.o. daugter and the extra bed was very good option.
Many thanks to Larry for great hospitality. Very positive and friendly man.
We stayed 2 night only but hope to visit this place again for longer time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vadim1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luckyThailand, Owner at Palm Gardens, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
What can we say, thank you all for your very kind reviews they make us proud that you enjoyed your stay with us, Larry Thongbai and Nat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bang Saphan
0.2 mi away
Coral Hotel Bangsaphan
Coral Hotel Bangsaphan
#1 of 15 in Bang Saphan
570 reviews
12.5 mi away
Baan Klang Aow Beach Resort
Baan Klang Aow Beach Resort
#4 of 15 in Bang Saphan
51 reviews
18.6 mi away
Sunshine Paradise Resort
Sunshine Paradise Resort
#1 of 3 in Thap Sakae
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Phaiboon Place Hotel
Phaiboon Place Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kalasin
27 reviews
0.8 mi away
SEAnery Beach Resort
SEAnery Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Bang Saphan
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Talu Island Resort
Koh Talu Island Resort
#3 of 15 in Bang Saphan
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Gardens

Property: Palm Gardens
Address: Beach Road | Suan Luang, Bang Saphan 77140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Bang Saphan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bang Saphan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming, 5 room beautiful resort with a nice tropical garden, the pool is set among st the Palms, we are proud of our Breakfast menu, we have cars an motor bikes for rent, bicycles free, also a kayak free to use for our guests, and only 60 meters from an unspoiled beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palm Gardens Thailand/Bang Saphan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing