We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Break Phuket/Bangkok Journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palm Gardens

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bang Saphan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palm Gardens
Ranked #1 of 13 Bang Saphan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Break Phuket/Bangkok Journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

We regularly travel between Phuket and Bangkok/Pattaya. We normally break our trip and was very happy to discover Palm Gardens, owned and operated by Larry and his wife Tombai. It's about half way and a great place to overnight. The rooms and furnishings are brand new and first class. The long beach is 100m and there are a few very nice bars, restaurants, all close buy. Location is very quiet.

Breakfast was wonderful and Larry and Tombai are friendly and helpful hosts. Next trip, we will stay longer.

Richard & Floretta

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dicksimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
86
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

Larry and Tombai are a husband and wife team who have set up 4 rooms (in 2 duplexes) around a pool about 150 metres from the beach in Bangsaphan. My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in early January 2011 and loved it. The bungalows are spotlessly clean and well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, TV, individual porches and wonderfully comfortable beds. There is also free WIFI. The outside area is nicely done; the pool is lovely (about 1.2 metres deep throughout so good fun to splash around in) and if you don't want to sit on your porch there are some shady areas you can take a deckchair to, or sit on the elevated platform. The beach just down the road is also lovely. If you're feeling energetic you can hire bikes or motorcycles or a car from the guesthouse. We hired bikes and rode into town which is slightly on the hilly side on a bike with no gears but was still quite good fun, especially on the quiet back roads.

Larry and Tombai are incredibly hospitable and flexible; nothing is too much trouble (lifts to the railway station, breakfast at 2pm etc) and Tombai's breakfasts are great (I'd highly recommend her yogurt). There are a couple of nice, low key restaurants just down the beach for dinner.

I think the best thing about this place is just how utterly relaxing it is. If we could, we would have stayed here for much longer than 5 nights.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darwin_steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

After arriving late afternoon in Ban Saphan Yai and looking at several rooms from 300bt huts to the overpriced Coral Hotel we saw a poster for the Palm Gardens in a bar and called them. The owners wife Tombai came and picked us up in their car and brought us to the bungalows, and I can't tell you how pleased we were! There are 4 large rooms, each spotlessly clean with a huge bed, fridge, flatscreen cable TV, A/C, sofa, your own balcony with a lovely wooden table and chairs, your own deck chairs for the pool, great shower, your own cutlery, plates and bowls and a kettle! Yes! And all for 1000bt a night, less for longer stays. We were going to spend a night or two but ended up staying the last 6 days of our holiday. The French family in the room next to us did similar and stayed an extra week!

The pool is smallish, but well kept and perfect for the size of the resort and great for a dip and a quick swim.

Larry and Tombai couldn't have been more helpful, even giving us a lift into town and back to stock up on milk, fruit, fresh bread, cheese and beers for the fridge saving us money (and having to leave the poolside for lunch!).



Larry and Tombai couldn't have been more helpful, even giving us a lift into town and back to stock up on milk, fruit, fresh bread, cheese and beers for the fridge saving us money (and having to leave the poolside for lunch!). And Tombai does a wicked breakfast fry up too! I'm veggie and this wasn't a problem either.

They hire out a small car and bikes too and are knowledgable about where to go locally and how to get there.

They hire out a small car and bikes too and are knowledgable about where to go locally and how to get there.

I would definitely recommend the Palm Gardens to anyone who wants to spend just that little bit extra for a thoroughly relaxing stay. The best accomodation we've stayed in on our 3 week trip to Thailand. Perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NiceSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luckyThailand, Owner at Palm Gardens, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Thank you l for your kind reviews regarding Palm Gaedens Bang Saphan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilbronn, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

We had booked 2 nights and after arriving at this charming place we decided to stay 3 nights more. Larry, a friendly english fellow, who runs this place with his Thai wife Tombai, gave us any help and assistance we needed. There are only 2 double bungalows and a nice swimming pool,(approx. 150 mtrs from the beach) surrounded by palm trees. Rooms are large and well furnished, well kept garden. Not a real touristic area, anyway some good restaurants, offering Thai and Western food, nearby. Motobikes are usefull to explore the area (available at Palm Gardens). Highly recommended to those who need a break from busy tourist spots.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgbrinkmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
188 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Palm Gardens is a newly opened resort in Bang Saphan run by the gregarious Brit Larry and his Thai wife Tongbai, with help from their daughter Natalie.

The resort is situated about 100 metres from the beach in a quiet area but just a 5 minute walk from restaurants. It has just 4 rooms. Rooms are large and bright, the beds are comfortable, there is wi-fi, and the air-conditioning is quiet and efficient. Each room has a refrigerator and television although the range of channels is limited. All rooms are spotlessly clean. Best of all is the swimming pool which is a decent size and at just 1.2 metres deep all over is ideal for poor swimmers. The resort is not completely finished yet and there are plans for seating around the pool and some other finishing touches.

Larry and Tongbai can provide excellent breakfasts (on request) and they have plans to offer other meals. They are very generous and eager to please which in some ways was the only downside. A large party arrived while we were there. Due to the limited number of rooms not all of them stayed in the resort but Larry and Tongbai invited them for breakfasts and allowed them to use the pool. This sometimes made the resort seem overcrowded and boisterous, and detracted from our enjoyment of the facilities.

Still, Larry and Tongbai recognise that they are still learning and we’re sure that this resort will only get better. Even with the above criticism we still thought it the best place we saw in Bang Saphan.

On another matter, there are a limited number of restaurants in Bang Saphan. We ate mostly at Why Not? and I-talay. Both offered good food at reasonable prices and it wasn’t too much of a hardship having a limited choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amani10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bang Saphan
0.2 mi away
Coral Hotel Bangsaphan
Coral Hotel Bangsaphan
#1 of 13 in Bang Saphan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
18.6 mi away
Sunshine Paradise Resort
Sunshine Paradise Resort
#1 of 3 in Thap Sakae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ladawan Boutique
Ladawan Boutique
#11 of 13 in Bang Saphan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Koh Talu Island Resort
Koh Talu Island Resort
#5 of 13 in Bang Saphan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apple Bungalows
Apple Bungalows
#2 of 19 in Bang Saphan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Scene House's
Sea Scene House's
#3 of 19 in Bang Saphan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Gardens

Property: Palm Gardens
Address: Beach Road | Suan Luang, Bang Saphan 77140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Bang Saphan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bang Saphan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming, 5 room beautiful resort with a nice tropical garden, the pool is set among st the Palms, we are proud of our Breakfast menu, we have cars an motor bikes for rent, bicycles free, also a kayak free to use for our guests, and only 60 meters from an unspoiled beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palm Gardens Thailand/Bang Saphan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing