We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a smile” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rachavadee Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rachavadee Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 13 Bang Saphan B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

My wife and daughter stayed at this place in 2012 and this time my wife dragged me over there. I'm not a fan of the beach and reading through some of the reviews I was rather skeptical to start with.
But, the place and the people are marvelous.
We were there just after Songkran, when it was fully booked. The girls at the reception though (and the rest of the personnel too) were very friendly, polite, efficient and helpful. All the time. What a relief!
Although it was a full house, this was not noticeable at the beach. We felt as if we had it just for our own.
Breakfast was lavish with a wide variety of food offered and there was more than plenty of it. There was some queuing at the bread toaster though.

I strongly recommend to book a bungalow with sea view. Not so much for the sea view, but these bungalows can take advantage of the sea breeze which makes the heat a lot more bearable.
The front garden is very beautiful and is designed in line with the nearby beach. With sand and coconut trees and all.
A minus though are the coconuts on the trees. Although very exotic and beautiful, these things tend to fall off the tree sooner or later an you better don't get one on the head. (trust me on that one: they do fall down when you least expect them)

You can rent a bike or motorbike at the reception desk. Go for the motorbike unless you like to suffer on a bike in the tropical heat. The nearby villages are unspoiled treasures, waiting for you to discover. The Wat Tang Sai Temple complex is one of the most beautifully decorated temples I've ever seen. Really worth a visit. But mind you, the temple closes at 5 in the afternoon.
Also the Khiri Wrong Cave, which is actually a temple, is worth a visit. King Chulalonkon left some graffiti on the ceiling when he visited the place. We were not allowed to do the same.

The food at the resort is also very good. We had dinner there every day and really enjoyed it.
The beach is kept clean and although there are sandbanks every so many meters, we could safely go for a swim. We noticed one jelly fish in total. Not a real problem I'd say.

My skepticism disappeared soon after our arrival and we truly enjoyed our stay at the resort.
With thanks to Air and Kae and all the other staff.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view take advantage of the sea breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boudewijn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
12
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We stay here for 2 nights. Totally love it. Location is good, room is clean, food is good, reasonable . Except the air-conditioning. So loud. Even we use earplugs it still not work. Next day we tell them about this and they send somebody to fix it by hit the air con with his hand which is work and that's it. Later on it make the same noise again so rather than you sleep and slap the mosquito but you slap the air con instead. Haha other than this the rest is awesome. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YourThaiGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at Rachavadee for a week in April 2013, very quiet and idyllic, perfect if you want complete peace and quiet! Beautiful private beach opposite the bungalows, really is paradise. Some of the food they have on offer could be better but you can't really expect much more from this area. Had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a very quiet secluded resort at the far end of the Ban Krut beach, but not to far away from town if you fancy a walk. There is a virtually unused road seperating you from one of the most beautiful beaches in Thailand which nobody apparently has discovered yet - we rarely saw more than a half dozen people on it at any given time. The gardens are lovely, the pool more than adequate and the eating area spacious. The menu was large and the food okay with the chef happy to cater for specific requirements.
The rooms were romantic, as was the entire location but families should not be put off. This was my third time here and I will go back

Room Tip: For the best views, ask for the cabins closest to the road (only one car every 1/2 hour or so goes b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank russellAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Located on the quiet end of Ban Krut beach the Rachavadee is a nice looking resort with a very well maintained beach area; clean and very picturesque.
The bungalows are a little pricey for what you get, basically a room with a bed or in my case a big bed and 2 singles in a loft. While looking at the place the staff was trying to sell the highlight of the room which were an open concept bathroom and solar water heater.
While i am fine with room and beach, I found the staff to be a rather unfriendly lot. Every question was met with abrupt answers. When i enquired about a snorkelling excursion the answer wasa curt time, price and immediate payment.
When the missus got stung by bees in the bathroom, we noticed bees gathering around their hive on the roof. The missus informed the reception staff about being stung and the hive on the bathroom roof,she met with a curt "its open concept". The bathroom became a no go zone at night cos of the bees.
While the beach is beautiful, the priceandthe poor service will not make me return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mmonkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you expect 4 star, don't come here, this place can't be rated like hotels are rated in general. It's a gem in itself if you are ready for it. Peaceful, away from it all, very relaxing with basic standards - however slightly overpriced, I would say 25%.
Location: very quiet, the road separating the resort and the beach had hardly any traffic, even during high season. Beach is nice, high waves but clean in February.
Beach: long, with fishermen left and right, reminds of today's overcrowded beaches 30 years ago.
Resort: rooms are nice, small, but who spends the day in the room in a beach resort? Most rooms have a private terrace facing the beach, the ones to the back are very hot, avoid!
F&B: at first sight the restaurant looked like an oversized tent, but it seams all guests here look for the max space of privacy.
Breakfast is really below standard, as most reviewers mentioned but diner was good, tasty and we could order excellent dishes 1 day ahead which are special from this region! Delicious and authentic. Menu has a good choice, prices average, service poor.
Thumbs up for the lady who runs the whole place, wether it's family business or she's employed, however she keeps everything going and tries to be as friendly as possible - with some over demanding tourists, not an easy job !
Big advantage: big and safe parking in the back if you come with your own car

Room Tip: Go for beach view, garden view rooms are to hot, unless you live with 24h AC anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank good4pandaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
326 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed there in end of 25-27 February 2012; Hotel is a bit hidden far from mainroad with the last end south resort of Bangrood beach

Hotel and beach is set divided from each other by small quiet street
Exterior of resort set as small group modern bungalow villa with open air shower inside the room; Beds is big clean and comfortable ; basic amenities in room; Hotel owner provided us pick up free ride from main road

Hotel reception and restaurant a bit disappointed; they are an open air made by old bamboo tied together with coconut leaves topped on roof no AC; We checked in at late afternoon with some sweatty shirt ; and dinner there also with the lingered heat of the sun with some fly try too eat our dinner food; of course some mosquitoes also; Sea at resort front cannot swim as it a bit steep and strong wave eventho not in moonsoon season. Also our keys room villa door cannot locked properly.

Good thing; these property is so isolated from other resort nearby as the location they settled down between beach at the front and small coconut tropical plantation in the back ; no electric can enter next door of this resort ; since its a small land cape thru the sea; room price is middle rate.

Beaches are pure clean and white; hotel provided a hammock for guests relaxation at front beach resort; Also of course bicycle rental for riding nearby

Hotel pool is a bit small but its clean and ok enough for dipping at evening after the heat of the strong sun; seafood from Hotel menu is reasonable price with delicious taste though.

Room Tip: Try locked your keys door first before room accepted it; if not asked reception owner for a change
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSip81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bang Saphan
6.6 mi away
Sunshine Paradise Resort
Sunshine Paradise Resort
#1 of 3 in Thap Sakae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
11.8 mi away
Coral Hotel Bangsaphan
Coral Hotel Bangsaphan
#1 of 13 in Bang Saphan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
2.5 mi away
Baan Klang Aow Beach Resort
Baan Klang Aow Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Bang Saphan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Baan Grood Arcadia Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Sirarun Resort
Sirarun Resort
#2 of 3 in Thap Sakae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
17.3 mi away
Koh Talu Island Resort
Koh Talu Island Resort
#5 of 13 in Bang Saphan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachavadee Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachavadee Beach Resort

Property: Rachavadee Beach Resort
Address: 98/1 Moo 7, Ban Krud Beach | Thong Chai Subdistrict, Bang Saphan 77190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Bang Saphan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bang Saphan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rachavadee Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Rachavadee Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachavadee Beach Resort Thailand/Bang Saphan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing