We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificant”
Review of Dhu Varren Garden

Dhu Varren Garden
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Milltown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dhu Varren Garden provides all the elements of a botanical garden within 2.5acres. Two large landscaped glasshouses provide both subtropical and arid plant displays. Outdoors, landscaped palm and succulent gardens have been created. Alpines, water gardens, herb garden, fernery, yucca avenue and more provide variety. The garden is a wildlife haven for birds and insects. Trees, shrubs and bamboos provide contrast. The centre-piece of a Japanese garden is a koi carp pond with bridge and tea house. Raised decks with seating provide panoramic views of both the garden and the landscape beyond.
1 review
“Magnificant”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stumbled across these wonderful gardens unexpectedly! It was meant to be closed and we were greeted by the owner who welcomed us wit open arms! If you are into your garden and plants then this is the place for you! Myself and my parents spent over an hour here,it was liked stepping into another world! Well worth a visit ,we will definitely visit when we are in killarney again!stunning place

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisamc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Owner at Dhu Varren Garden, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Glad you and your parents enjoyed your visit and thanks for your kind comments. Hope to see you again in the garden. Remember it changes considerably during the season so can seem very different early in the season or later on...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing Space”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Was here recently with my Mum who is a keen gardener. I know nothing about plants but we both loved our trip. There is lots of little areas where you can sit down and relax. Mark and Laura are lovely friendly people and the garden is a testimony to their hard work, creativity and talent. Th garden is so well developed, it seems like it was always there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Owner at Dhu Varren Garden, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for this review. Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back here again at some stage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is one amazing garden!!! I've been couple of times now and can't wait for my next visit. Jungles, deserts, mountains and more..so many gardens all in one, with plants from all over the world. A absolute must-see for gardeners and plantspersons. Don't forget your camera!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrunoCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Owner at Dhu Varren Garden, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks Bruno fro your kind comments. Its always good to have you visit and talk rare plants!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunclody, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Exotic Garden”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting Dhu Varren this summer for the first time.
I loved the garden and everything about it and marvel at how the owners can grow so many exotic species in our Irish climate. The succulents were a real eye opener for me and the greenhouses were to die for.
I also loved the structure and the tea houses and new alpine area. I look forward to seeing the fruition of any new projects that these talented gardeners put their minds to.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Owner at Dhu Varren Garden, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks Rachel, it was lovely to have you and your family visit. We had a very successful season and look forward to many more. We hope we will be able to surprise you and others for years to come! Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“36 people in one go”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had a coach party of 36 not one under 50 and were welcomed to the Gardens with a smile and handshake from Laura who told us a little about the Garden before we were allowed to follow the paths that meandered through the shrubs, flowers and trees. If you needed to know a plants identity you ask Mark and one I asked about Laura sent a text to the Tour Leader to pass on.Everyone enjoyed the garden and hot houses, buying several plants when they left to go back to the coach.The only drawback we had was the entrance is on the main road so everyone had to be dropped off from the coach but you could not fault the gardens and the couple who look after them.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JulieMIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Owner at Dhu Varren Garden, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Julie, it was lovely to have your group to the garden - they were refreshing! Glad they all enjoyed it. We are hoping to have a solution to the bus parking issue by next season, so watch this space.... Thank you for choosing to visit Dhu Varren Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dhu Varren Garden also viewed

Cahersiveen, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Dhu Varren Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing