We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reserve a table!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calvinia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Die Blou Nartjie Guest House
Ranked #4 of 10 Calvinia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

When entering Calvinia, after hours of driving with a lot of roadworks, I was not too impressed with the supply of accommodation in this little town. When I nearly exited town I saw something up to my standards, getting out my vehicle something else struck my eye, an old building, but modernly styled, 2 streets away and yes, it's a guesthouse! The reception area was brilliant, paperwork everywhere, it could have been my desk! Room, breakfast included for a right price, dinner was also possible. Wow! I'm going nowhere.

Dinners are also available for the public, there's a catch. With a full house, they simply have not enough tables for own guests and public. The concept of guesthouse and restaurant is good, though catering for own guests needs attentention, so they don't have to queue. Food was great, though!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babbelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 59 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I read all the reviews and were a bit dubious when one of the reviews were not so good. Well, were we very surprised. The accommodation was very pleasant.....all we ever needed for an overnight stay. Clean sheets, coffee, tea and wonderful setting. We booked to have dinner in the restaurant. What fantastic steaks. Well done to the chef as well as the waitress who did an excellent job with the restaurant being totally full. The breakfast was just as tasty. We recommend this establishment to anyone, and what's more.....it was the cheapest rate in the 2 weeks we spent looking at the flowers. Thank you Blue Naartjie.
Garth & Noelene Slatem

Room Tip: All of them are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noelene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed over for one night. The welcome was warm and friendly. The room was quite adequate for one night. We were provided with an excellent breakfast the following morning after a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExplorerZA2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We spent 2 nights in a twin room at Blou Nartjie. The room was comfortable with all the basic necessities, including tea/ coffee making facility and soap and fresh towels each morning. The beds were comfortable and warm in the cold Karoo nights ( it went down to -3 degrees ) with the air conditioner providing extra heating to warm the room before getting up. Our room (Room 2) had a separate toilet, but the shower opened into the bedroom, so might not be ideal for someone wanting more privacy, but there was plenty of hot water.The staff were extremely hospitable. Breakfast was basic but tasty , while the dinners of bobotie and lamb pie from the restuarant were superb and excellent value for money. The town of Calvinia is welcoming and a lovely place for a quiet relaxing break- previously we have only overnighted there on our way through, but it is worth a 'get away from it all' visit. At the price ( R250 pppn b&b) this B&B represented great value for money and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We were not sure what to expect after a very long day on the road on the way back from the Kgalagadi. However, the friendly welcome, spacious and clean room and the relaxed environment made us feel at home. The aircon made a huge difference after the previous three nights of extreme cold in the Kgalagadi. The room offered everything we required and we felt refreshed in the morning. The breakfast was very good. We can strongly recommend the Bou Nartjie to everyone.

The only drawback of our visit to Calvinia was the limited choice of restaurants on a Sunday night. The restaurant at the Blou Nartjie is closed for dinner on Sunday evenings and there was only one other option available in town. The visit to this restaurant was quite a disaster.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whalerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Staying over at Die Blou Nartjie was an absolute pleasure. We were effortlessly received, ushered to a quiet room at the back of the property and let be. This was the only place we stayed in which provided an extra fold out sleeper couch - just in case! The air con (essential in the Karoo heat) was magnificent, quiet, effective and tucked away from the bed. A REAL bathroom, beautiful linen, a truly restful rural environment within walking distance from MYL 250 which is a great restaurant with steaks to die for. Die Blou Nartjie's price includes a full breakfast, which was cooked with great enjoyment to soft French music the next morning by smiling, unobtrustive staff. The entire experience was refreshing and memorable for all the right reasons!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karoo-crazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Silkbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calvinia hotels
0.6 mi away
Tarantula Guest House
Tarantula Guest House
#3 of 10 in Calvinia
35 reviews
0.8 mi away
African Dawn B&B
African Dawn B&B
#1 of 10 in Calvinia
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carmel Villa B&B
Carmel Villa B&B
#5 of 10 in Calvinia
19 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Die Ou Lady Guesthouse
#7 of 10 in Calvinia
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Blou Nartjie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Blou Nartjie Guest House

Address: 35 Water Street | Calvinia, Calvinia 8190, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Calvinia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Calvinia
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing