We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time in Italy”
Review of Casa Gregorio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castro dei Volsci
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Gregorio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Gregory is a terrific host. He is extremely knowledgeable about the food and wine in this region of Italy. And the wine is always pouring at Casa Gregorio!

The accomodations were great- it is a beautiful historic buildling in a stunning location, but with all the modern accomodations. WiFi throughout the building ( and it was always working), totally upscale bathrooms with towel warmers and the latest in shower gadgets.

The daily trips and cooking classes kept us totally busy. It was great to have the locals come in and cook with us. And we enjoyed all the evening dinners with the other guests.

Room Tip: Higher floors have generally nicer rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 250 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent three weeks in gorgeous Italy, but the week we spent at Casa Gregorio was definitely the highlight of the trip. We had expected a week at a cooking school to be interesting, but our time at Gregory's lovely home in Castro dei Volsci was so much more than we expected. The Casa is the largest house in a town of 400 atop a large hill; Gregory has refurbished it and made it warm and comfortable for the small group of guests/students that visit each week. Gregory was a great host, and his staff members were helpful and patient with us. Each day we were taken on field trips to see how olives grew and were harvested, to see how sausage was made, to visit a vineyard, to go to the ocean, to visit a local farmer's market, and to see a farm, and each day we also learned to cook some part of a meal--sweets, appetizers, pasta, main courses--or to decorate a table. The field trips were fascinating, and most times involved special meals--picnics, seafood lunches, a special meal cooked at the olive oil factory--but the cooking lessons were fantastic! Even the people who hadn't cooked before had fun, prompted by our teacher, Guistino, who had us all laughing at and learning from our cooking disasters. Pasqualina, who taught us to make pasta, could communicate to us without speaking English. Stefania taught us to turn carrots into flowers and lemons into fish, and had us laughing and enjoying every moment of doing it. The food was wonderful--even the parts we cooked--the wine was always lovely, the lemoncello was a great end to the day, and sitting at the dinner table visiting with our new friends was a daily treat. A wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: Not applicable--rooms are assigned here, and they're all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItalianCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our Italian adventure still has us grinning. Casa Gregorio was outstanding. We dashed from Roma to Castro dei Volsci enjoying the lovely countryside. Our breath was stolen when we arrived at our historic location. The Casa was lovely but even better was the staff. Our host Gregorio obviously enjoys helping his guests enjoy and does everything possible to do so. Head Chef Guistino was supportive of novice cooks and full of humor. Pasta Chef Pasqualina was patient and hands on helpful modeling the correct manner to work the pasta dough. Both were skilled and playful while recovering what might of been culinary disasters. The meals -- and the wine -- we're delicious even with our participation in preparation which for some of us was rather amateur. Stefania was a pro as she guided us through veggie sculpture. We laughed and feasted with total joy and abandon. Walking the carless streets And the side field trips added to the adventure and education. Meeting new friends made it an absolutely fabulous time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our week at Casa Gregorio was everthing we hoped for and more!! Having been to Italy several times before, visiting larger cities and historical sites this was a new adventure for us. We had planned it as a way to celebrate a big birthday, and it was a celebration we will always remember. The village of Castro dei Volcia is out of a picture book, and Casa Gregogia is stunning. A 17th century house, redone with comfort, antiques, ultra modern baths and kitchen and an atmoshere of congeniality all over. I felt like I was in a movie set. The cooking classes were educational and sooo much fun. We had a great group of "new friends" to explore the countryside of olives, grapes, sausages ,cheeses.farmer markets, and of course the food.
Greg is a superb host with great knowledge of the everything Italian! It was the best of all worlds, he was like a native Italian having spent much time in Italy with family ,and having family still living in the village and working at the Casa, while being an American where he could help us learn and understand the differences in the American and Italian cultures.His staff is so friendly, and so accomidating. Everynight dinner was served in the dining room, at a table that looked like a pitcure from Gourmet Magazine. Nightly the table was set with different tablecloths, dishes, silverwear and glasswear. And did I mention the food was delicious!!It was surely a vacation that we will never forget and my husband keeps talking about WHEN we go back...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I were returning to Italy for a second year just because we love the country...but little did we know just what was in store for us at Casa Gregorio! We were picked up at the Airport in Rome and whisked off to a beautiful mountaintop in luxury, while making fast friends with our new companions. Winding up the narrow road, the view became more and more amazing. As we entered the villa, with jaw-dropping decor, it was obvious we were in for in incredible week! Gregory welcomed us into his home as honored guests and from that point on, our adventure neared perfection. While Norene's review can give the details, I can only say that the week included such a delightful blend and balance of touring, cooking and especially eating that was artfully planned and executed. Every day included food related trips, picnics, restaurants, vineyards, farms that truly introduced us to the non-touristy, authentic Italian lifestyle.
Then we cooked....and laughed and shared incredible food and stories, gathered around the communal table in true Italian tradition. Gregory has created a truly outstanding experience for those of us who were looking for an adventurous, educational and memorable vacation. We enthusiastically urge you to make your reservations now!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LakeLover60615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our first vacation at a cooking school. The Casa is a wonderful restoration of an historic villa; very comfortable, very up-to-date, very elegant! Our host, Gregory, joined us for daily tours to local artisanal food suppliers (vinyard, olive oil press, buffalo mozarella factory, proschiutto factory, etc. and was there each night for dinner. He's a wonderful, friendly, generous host. The cooking classes were fun and appropriate for a small group of foodies with a range of cooking skills short of professional level. Our days were relaxed, our bellies filled with great food, and we've come back home recharged!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Visiting Casa Gregorio is what you might call an "immersion vacation". You are on the inside looking out, you are experiencing life from another era and escaping the hustle of life as we know it. It's about feeling the vibe of another time, another culture, imagining what it was like then, and understanding why it's like it is now. If you are lucky enough to have it happen as I did, then it's even better. It all started with the invitation to learn the Italian language at The Villa Gourmet Cheese Shop, Milford, CT along with a wonderful group of individuals who quickly became friends, studying with wine, limoncello, and lots of laughs and grew into a culinary excursion to Casa Gregorio planned by Active Gourmet Holidays. Our group of 12 individuals did not all hail from Italian class, but at Casa Gregorio, we also became quick friends, traveling together, cooking, laughing and especially eating and drinking, everyday for 7 beautiful days in the Italian countryside, in a beautifully restored medieval castle owned and operated by our host, Gregory, and assisted by his fabulous staff. It was Italian style at its best! Each and every one of us were greeted at every exchange with smiles, buongiornos, grazies. The beautiful, spacious, and fully stocked kitchen was either full of laughter, instructions, along with fresh ingredients and supplies for our cooking lessons that spanned 3-4 hours, the aromas of authentic Italian food and the hum of a dedicated and friendly staff preparing our multi course delectable meals, or spic and span clean when all was done each day. The refrigerator was stocked with all you can drink water and sodas, while wine, limoncello, espresso, and cappuccino were always available. The food was simply outstanding….from the flavors, to the aromas, the freshest ingredients and delicious recipes all served with smiles, (some family style, some individual), to the gorgeous ever changing tablecloths, Murano glassware, and silverware…..which made every meal a memorable experience.

Each day we traveled the countryside in either of two vans driven by Greg, or one of his two drivers, Patrizio or Paolo, two young men who were kind, considerate, friendly and interested in learning and speaking English….again, lots of laughs communicating and teaching each other our native languages. We enjoyed mixing up who was going with whom in which van! Our excursions varied from private tours at private businesses to popular tourist attractions….always informative, interesting, and beautiful. Each stay at Casa Gregorio can be customized to your interests.

For the most part, our days were very full but when we were not cooking, eating, or traveling, it was nice and quiet. We were fortunate to have beautiful weather and so we spent time walking through the cobblestoned alleys and stairways of Castro dei Volsci, catching up on Facebook with free WiFi, tuning into some USA tv channels on the tv in the common area, or reading and talking to each other. You could always count on the bells of the nearby church tolling throughout the day and once nighttime fell, in the distance you could hear dogs barking and the faint sound of cowbells on the farms below our remote mountaintop villa.

The Villa, with its old world charm and new world amenities, is a work in progress. Each guest room has its own personality and name, decorated to give you a feel of the old country and Greg is still adding some special touches to some of them. If you ventured to the lower levels among some beautiful original wood doors and floors, stonework and exposed beams, you would come upon an enormous new kitchen with a wood burning pizza oven that is almost finished. There are also plans to add a pool and workout area. No work was being done while guests were at the villa.

Pasta, pizza, espresso……….Gregory's vision has become a reality where you are truly immersed in the rich, colorful life of "la campagna Italiana."

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NoreneF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Gregorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gregorio

Address: Via Civita 67, 03020 Castro dei Volsci, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Frosinone > Castro dei Volsci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Castro dei Volsci
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Gregorio invites you to an amazing hands-on Cooking Program and Culinary Tour in the Roman Countryside. An extraordinary cooking experience in a traditional Italian family environment.Ciociaria, the New Tuscany, where "You eat...and you eat Well"!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Gregorio Italy/Castro Dei Volsci

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing