We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Agriturismo Il Ruspante(Castro dei Volsci)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Casa Museo Del Grand Tour(Castro dei Volsci)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
246
7
2
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
7
2
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking schoolitalian countrysidethe kitchenother guestsprosciuttoat homeolive oilcooking classpizzaattention to detailculinary experiencefirst classwonderful experiencegreat groupbucket listcooking vacationlocal restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 260 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was by far was one of the best cooking vacations in italy that I have been to. It far exceeded any expectations I had. Gregory is so genuine, accomadating, gracious, funny, the ultimate host with the most. You feel like you are staying in a 5 star hotel but without all the pretentiousness. His staff just as genuine and kind always picking up after you. The food was fabulous, never had a bad meal. All the excursions were fun and educational. Stress free stuffing your face mangia mangia. As an italian loved this cooking vacation extravaganza. I will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are elegantly decorated and comfortable to stay in. I had no trouble sleeping so quaint and quiet there.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Gregory could not have planned a more perfect vacation experience! Most days started with a trip to the source (e.g., local markets, vineyards, olive trees, pigs, cows) to gather supplies for the day's class. Midday found us clad in aprons with fabulous red wine in one hand and a rolling pin in the other, ready to watch and carry out regional and family recipes passed down for many generations. Evening resulted in the celebration of our efforts with our hosts and new friends. Gregory was the ultimate host who was careful to make sure each guest was finding their own connection to the cooking, gorgeous Italian countryside, and people. As soon as we returned, we began to plan our return!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Imagine the “ultimate Cooking vacation”: Casa Gregorio!

One, who’s hotel owner‘s father is from the actual town (Castro dei Volschi) and schooled in cooking from an early age by his Italian Donnas to understand, prepare and preserve the regional food tastes; and who learned Italian as his second native language from his East Detroit Italian family and neighbors - then refined it with his Italian-professor father’s tutelage.

One, who’s Hotel and cooking facilities are the finest in Italy and on par with the best in the world;…made possible by the same inspired owner who’s prior training, creativity and attention to detail were applied to his highly-successful office interior design and renovation business in Florida. Here he honed his tastes and built his firm with a reputation for uncompromising detail and doing the job the right way so that the work will preserve. His professional and financial success there is why Casa Gregorio can exist.

One that is managed and run with (and possibly more of) the passion that built his Florida success…Engaged personal service provided to every event and accommodation. Meticulous attention paid to every cooking experience with engaging and expert instructors who provide practical and patient hands-on training. It is as though you are being hosted, taught and entertained by your own proud Italian relatives. Gregory was a fantastic host.

This is the finest and most relaxing and event-filled vacation I have every had…and, I learned to cook Italian fare as well. This was an incomparable 5-star experience!

Coming soon is another teaching kitchen, an elevator for climb-challenged guests, a fitness center and an attached bistro with a goal of no more that 12-14 guests per class

Bruce T

Room Tip: They are all tastefully appointed and unique and part of this vintage structure remastered with all modern conveniences.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Wow. I have been around the world, but this experience was by far the most memorable! We made new friends from Califormia and Michigan and together acquired great kitchen skills, not to mention at some of the most delicious italian food all made with love, while touring the most quaint parts of the Roman Countryside. Our host Gregory was extremely knowledgable plus the property was 5+ stars(better bathrooms then my newly renovated condo)! Our group had a fantastic time on all great excusurions and even a better time learning and laughing with Gregory and his EXCELLENT staf! I felt so comfortable and loved the "off beaten path" village. I would deinitely recommend and will definitely be back! Kudos Casa Gregorio.

Room Tip: The whole villa has been completely renovated and all the rooms have a jacuzzi tub. Everyroom was quiet and had a view of the mountain countryside.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This place is a little paradise in a town that comes right out of a medieval fiction. We only stayed overnight after a flight into Rome and on our way to the coast, so can't comment on the cooking school, except that the people at the B&B who were doing the cooking school raved about their week-long experience. Gregory was really friendly, and knowing that we were tired made every effort to ensure that things were quiet. Our room was comfortable (the bed is hard, which is standard in Italy), the bathroom very modern with excellent water pressure and the views were good. We were in cinnamon, which had a good view around a corner. Breakfast was excellent, with the most amazing home-made treats, lots of fruit and yoghurt, and fresh croissants with Italian cream. Yum! I really hope to return to do one of the cooking schools.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kanuckabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews