We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an absolute "Tuscan Style" treasure!!!”
Review of Casa Gregorio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castro dei Volsci
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Gregorio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We just completed a 3 day two night stay at Casa Gregorio and what a fantastic experience it was. The owner Gregory, and staff of Analese, and a couple of others, we're just awesome. The hotel, or B & B, is an old 17th century home that Greg bought, and completely redesigned and remodeled. It is now just the most wonderful, relaxing and charming places we have ever stayed at in Italy. Greg is also hosting a cooking school, which my brother in law attended one day, and said it was one of the most fun and educational experiences he had in our week trip through Italy. We all can't wait to go back. Highly recommended!!!!

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Casa Gregorio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 245 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

There's a selfish part of me that almost doesn't want to share this rare and beautiful jewel with you. To do so would rob Gregory (the owner) of the accolades he deserves for transforming an aging house of nobility into a richly appointed B&B that offers a one-of-a-kind authentic, cultural and culinary experience. My husband and I enjoyed a 6-night stay to celebrate our 10th anniversary, and every aspect of this milestone journey was beyond our expectations - the absolute ultimate in romance. Not only did we fall in love all over again, but we also developed a passion for the locals, the food, the breathtaking mountainous countryside, and the traditions of Italian culture. Let's break this love affair down, shall we?

The Village of Castro dei Volsci: It was love at first sight with the old world charm of this medieval village. I've been fortunate enough to have traveled the world over, and I can honestly say that no other place has captured my heart quite like this. Storybook cobblestone pathways to lead you to one visual treasure after another, with it's flowerbox windows, its steep stairways that beckon you to discover what lies at the top, the ancient stonework that seems to whisper to you across the centuries, or the local villager who appears out of a window to hang some laundry and reciprocate a friendly "Buongiourno". With no other tourists to bump into, we selfishly indulged ourselves in the tranquil setting and let our imaginations run uninterrupted as we contemplated life in this village from one generation to the next.

The Culinary Experience: As full-time working parents of two young children, cooking at home tends to be quick and convenient and can leave a lot to be desired, so when we stepped into Casa Gregorio's beautiful kitchen, we looked forward to taking our time to prepare slow food the old-fashioned way and under the supervision of those who do it best: the Italian mothers and grandmothers. The homemade recipes we learned to prepare (over a glass of wine, great music, and lots of laughter) are easy enough to replicate back home in our own kitchen. And each time we prepare the dishes that we learned, we will forever be reminded of the ambiance we shared with the locals who lovingly lent us their expertise.

The Tours: To me, travel is all about discovering something new and developing cross-cultural connections. Each day, Gregory gave us just that by escorting us to local artisans who demonstrated the art of making cheese, sausage, olive oil, and wine. We sampled the most delicious foods at their finest and made the way nature intended: organically and on small farm scale. The locals put their heart and soul into making the freshest, finest products, and they were proud to share their process and philosophy behind it.

The B&B: Casa Gregorio is a stunning representation of entrepreneurial spirit. It's incredible what Gregory has done with this ages-old palazzo. Elegantly appointed in every room and expertly designed with comfort and class in mind, this B&B was a gorgeous place to call home for the week. The outdoor terrace was a pleasure for the senses with its spectacular view of the mountains and the valley below, the fresh, unpolluted air, the gong of the church bell, the sound of the bullet train on its way to Naples, and the warmth of the Italian sunshine. Every day the vast expanse of beauty seemed to transform itself into something new to behold with its lazy haze or dense fog to its brilliant sunbeams reaching down through the clouds.

The Owner Himself: Gregory is everything you could hope for in a host. Gracious, accommodating, knowledgeable, friendly, fun…..these are just a few words that narrowly capture a man who has a brilliant vision of bringing guests to this little haven of heaven on a hillside. We consider ourselves truly blessed to have had this unique experience and to be treated like guests in his home instead of just a couple of tourists who merely see Italy from a tour bus window.

So, the secret is out. Discover for yourself why Casa Gregorio and Castro dei Volsci give affectionate (and delicious, I might add!) meaning to the phrase "La Vita e Bella".

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annemeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed in Casa Gregorio for one night in our way to Amalfi Coast and just fell in love with this place. Imagine small medieval Italian town on the top of the hill, old palazzo, restored with great taste, care and attention for every detail - candles, cozy sofas, big terrace with view over the valley, 5 guest rooms, each with spacious modern bathroom, and super comfortable beds - soft and inviting. There is a small charming pizzeria in the basement, open in the weekends and cooking lessons from April to October.
It was so amazing that we canceled our last night in Amalfi and came back to Gregorio. What can I say more?...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husband, daughter and I have been planning our dream vacation to Italy for years. Upon arrival we were whisked away in luxury transportation to our castle in the sky-Casa Gregorio! What a dream come true! Hospitality, scenery and the delicious food was above and beyond. Greg, sophisticated, charming and above all down to earth was incredibly accommodating to all our needs. When I walked into my bathroom suite and saw the jacuzzi tub, I thought what a nice welcome and way to relax after a long flight overseas. Our week was over before we knew it and all we could think about was going back and reliving our fabulous week all over again. Thank you Greg, Grazie Mille to the staff!! Tony, Christina and Nicole

Room Tip: Luxury rooms and amenities beyond belief!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My spouse and I stayed at Casa Gregorio during our Roman Countryside cooking vacation and it exceeded our expectations. Casa Gregorio is located in the small town of Castro Dei Volsci, Lazio, not far from the expressway and midway between Rome and Naples, and is the ideal location to experience everyday Italian life. Your host at Casa Gregorio is Greg Aulensi, an American fluent in both Italian and English, and he works tirelessly to make your stay a delight. Greg is a wonderful sophisticated host, and Casa Gregorio is beautiful. We found Greg to be a relaxed and down to earth, like a family member we didn’t know we had. Greg is an interior designer and designed and furnished the bed and breakfast to his high standard. There are five bedrooms and ours was very spacious and included a jacuzzi tub in the bath. The common rooms are well furnished and comfortable, and the hotel has a terrace with incredible views. Breakfast includes fresh fruit, yogurt and tasty pastries.

We were at Casa Gregorio for a 6 night cooking vacation, and Frosinone, the province of Castro dei Volsci, is a foody's paradise. Frosinone reminded me of Marin County, CA with the rolling hills and agriculture, and it was a pleasure to drive through the country and small towns. Every day we had field trips and you could tell tell that Greg had spent a lot of time getting to know the field trip hosts, and these hosts have a passion for their artisanal products. The first day we visited a winery with a trip through the vineyards and after the tour the owner/winemaker prepared a lunch of prosciutto, cheese and eggs with truffles. Another day we visited a farmer’s market, artisanal mozzarella maker (with a cheese and salami tasting of course), and an olive oil producer. Every day there was something different, but sometimes included a stop at one of Greg's favorite restaurants or gelaterias. The field trips were so much fun we almost forgot this was a cooking school and we had 4 cooking classes. Classes were with Greg, a self-taught cook that follows the traditions passed down from his family who were from Castro. Greg was ably assisted by local cooks. Favorite recipes included frittata, fettucine con tartufo, and grilled lamb chops.

Casa Gregorio is also an excellent location for exploring Lazio, and is not far from the beautiful Grotte di Pastena caves and Atina with its famous jazz festival. If you are looking for a relaxing weekend get away from Rome or a fantastic cooking vacation Casa Gregorio is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherylab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

If "Wow" could explain all the good things expected in a vacation, Casa Gregoriio's would be the WOW! His home is in a small town an hour and a half train trip south of Rome. The scenery is wonderful, but when we got to his hill-top home, words cannot explain the beauty of the night lights in the valley below. Upon entering his home (there are 'stairs'), we came onto an immaculately spotless and inviting kitchen which he uses for a 'Cooking School'. The architecture in his entire home is wonderful as he was able to retain some of the original structures as he designed this modern home. The bathroom was the very best of anyplace we stayed. If you want a rather quiet host, who is very generous with his time & knowledge of the area, who was gracious and most welcoming, Casa Gregorio is THE PLACE to stay. The rooms were bright and cozy, patio was large and comfortable and the bed was great. Breakfast was a regular Continental breakfast, but very substantial. I tell everyone I see about this amazing B&B. Thank you Gregory! Hoping to visit you again.Ciao

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrytandGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed at Casa Gregorio in-between visits to Rome and the Amalfi Coast and completely loved it. The B&B is stunningly updated while remaining true to the beautiful 10th century town it overlooks. Gregory was a gracious host who answered every question we had about the area and the country we were exploring, and gave spot-on recommendations for dining and attractions. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castro dei Volsci
15.3 mi away
Villa Euchelia Resort
Villa Euchelia Resort
#1 of 2 in Castrocielo
547 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Ida
Hotel Villa Ida
#2 of 2 in Ceprano
202 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Il Cavalier D'Arpino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Liola Hotel
Liola Hotel
#2 of 2 in Castrocielo
256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Agriturismo Il Ruspante
Agriturismo Il Ruspante
#1 of 2 in Castro dei Volsci
124 reviews
8.9 mi away
Nena al Borgo Castello
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gregorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gregorio

Address: Via Civita 67, 03020 Castro dei Volsci, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Frosinone > Castro dei Volsci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Castro dei Volsci
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Gregorio invites you to an amazing hands-on Cooking Program and Culinary Tour in the Roman Countryside. An extraordinary cooking experience in a traditional Italian family environment.Ciociaria, the New Tuscany, where "You eat...and you eat Well"!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Gregorio Italy/Castro Dei Volsci

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing