We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Agriturismo Il Ruspante(Castro dei Volsci)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Casa Museo Del Grand Tour(Castro dei Volsci)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
246
7
2
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
7
2
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking schoolitalian countrysidethe kitchenprosciuttoat homeolive oilcooking classattention to detailculinary experiencefirst classwonderful experiencepastagreat groupbucket listcooking vacationlocal restaurantsdaily trips
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 260 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husband, daughter and I have been planning our dream vacation to Italy for years. Upon arrival we were whisked away in luxury transportation to our castle in the sky-Casa Gregorio! What a dream come true! Hospitality, scenery and the delicious food was above and beyond. Greg, sophisticated, charming and above all down to earth was incredibly accommodating to all our needs. When I walked into my bathroom suite and saw the jacuzzi tub, I thought what a nice welcome and way to relax after a long flight overseas. Our week was over before we knew it and all we could think about was going back and reliving our fabulous week all over again. Thank you Greg, Grazie Mille to the staff!! Tony, Christina and Nicole

Room Tip: Luxury rooms and amenities beyond belief!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My spouse and I stayed at Casa Gregorio during our Roman Countryside cooking vacation and it exceeded our expectations. Casa Gregorio is located in the small town of Castro Dei Volsci, Lazio, not far from the expressway and midway between Rome and Naples, and is the ideal location to experience everyday Italian life. Your host at Casa Gregorio is Greg Aulensi, an American fluent in both Italian and English, and he works tirelessly to make your stay a delight. Greg is a wonderful sophisticated host, and Casa Gregorio is beautiful. We found Greg to be a relaxed and down to earth, like a family member we didn’t know we had. Greg is an interior designer and designed and furnished the bed and breakfast to his high standard. There are five bedrooms and ours was very spacious and included a jacuzzi tub in the bath. The common rooms are well furnished and comfortable, and the hotel has a terrace with incredible views. Breakfast includes fresh fruit, yogurt and tasty pastries.

We were at Casa Gregorio for a 6 night cooking vacation, and Frosinone, the province of Castro dei Volsci, is a foody's paradise. Frosinone reminded me of Marin County, CA with the rolling hills and agriculture, and it was a pleasure to drive through the country and small towns. Every day we had field trips and you could tell tell that Greg had spent a lot of time getting to know the field trip hosts, and these hosts have a passion for their artisanal products. The first day we visited a winery with a trip through the vineyards and after the tour the owner/winemaker prepared a lunch of prosciutto, cheese and eggs with truffles. Another day we visited a farmer’s market, artisanal mozzarella maker (with a cheese and salami tasting of course), and an olive oil producer. Every day there was something different, but sometimes included a stop at one of Greg's favorite restaurants or gelaterias. The field trips were so much fun we almost forgot this was a cooking school and we had 4 cooking classes. Classes were with Greg, a self-taught cook that follows the traditions passed down from his family who were from Castro. Greg was ably assisted by local cooks. Favorite recipes included frittata, fettucine con tartufo, and grilled lamb chops.

Casa Gregorio is also an excellent location for exploring Lazio, and is not far from the beautiful Grotte di Pastena caves and Atina with its famous jazz festival. If you are looking for a relaxing weekend get away from Rome or a fantastic cooking vacation Casa Gregorio is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherylab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

If "Wow" could explain all the good things expected in a vacation, Casa Gregoriio's would be the WOW! His home is in a small town an hour and a half train trip south of Rome. The scenery is wonderful, but when we got to his hill-top home, words cannot explain the beauty of the night lights in the valley below. Upon entering his home (there are 'stairs'), we came onto an immaculately spotless and inviting kitchen which he uses for a 'Cooking School'. The architecture in his entire home is wonderful as he was able to retain some of the original structures as he designed this modern home. The bathroom was the very best of anyplace we stayed. If you want a rather quiet host, who is very generous with his time & knowledge of the area, who was gracious and most welcoming, Casa Gregorio is THE PLACE to stay. The rooms were bright and cozy, patio was large and comfortable and the bed was great. Breakfast was a regular Continental breakfast, but very substantial. I tell everyone I see about this amazing B&B. Thank you Gregory! Hoping to visit you again.Ciao

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrytandGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed at Casa Gregorio in-between visits to Rome and the Amalfi Coast and completely loved it. The B&B is stunningly updated while remaining true to the beautiful 10th century town it overlooks. Gregory was a gracious host who answered every question we had about the area and the country we were exploring, and gave spot-on recommendations for dining and attractions. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

My husband and I were seeking an adventure in Italy for our 10 year wedding anniversary and based on Trip Advisor booked a night at Casa Gregorio. We rented a car and drove from Rome, NO Problem finding Castro dei Volsci with some "help" from our GPS. Upon arrival at the tippy top of the mountain I was mesmerized at the beautiful and quaint town and the 360 degree panoramic views of the adjacent mountains and towns below. I could write an entire novel on how sweet, endearing and accommodating Gregory is. He made us feel at home from the moment we stepped into his casa. The design of the B&B itself is immaculate. Completely modern but with old world charm. It is obvious that there was much time spent on the detail and passion behind it all. We were given fantastic recommendations on dining in the area and got a true feel of the Italian culture while there. I am regretful that we didn't book our entire stay at Casa Gregorio but now have a solid reason to return to Italy as soon as possible. The value, the view, the hospitality, and ambiance are everything you could ask for or imagine. Thank you Greg for the amazing, but short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crenee1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews