We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in lovely wine region of Slovenia.”
Review of Iaquin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Iaquin
Ranked #2 of 10 Dobrovo B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at House Iaquin. The setting is stunning, nestled in the little village of Vipolze, surrounded by vineyards and fruit trees. Nearby (not quite walkable) you will find the towns of Medana and Dobrovo, which both offer great opportunities for wine tasting and eating lovely food. Indeed Uros, the owner of Iaquin, makes wine himself, which we sampled a couple of glasses of - and decided was delicious enough to buy a bottle to take home. The house itself is very modern with minimalist design and clean edges. The balconies all overlook the pool and the vineyards beyond it. We were crazy enough to swim in the pool despite it being cold due to a lot of recent rain and it was surprisingly refreshing (once the initial shock had died down!) to swim in the cool water whist looking out over the vines. The breakfast was particularly delicious with the usual meats & cheese supplemented by pancakes & strudel. Uros was a great host - he gave us loads of suggestions for places to eat and drink locally and even made a reservation for us and checked that a taxi would be available for us as the local area was busy with a festival the weekend we were there. I would highly recommend this place if you want to explore the wine region of Goriska Brda.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Iaquin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 56 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Ah, it's so nice to wake up in House Iaquin...it is namely a very pleasing modern house with a simply breathtaking view to the vineyards, cherry and peach trees. We discovered it by accident, driving around in the great Goriska Brda and spontaneously decided to stop... And it was a very good decision :). The owner is young, produces great wine, smartly decided for a market nieche and quality. The breakfast is good, everything local, they produce a lot on their own. Later on we hosted a small party there, it was an excellent choice, people had really a lot of fun :)! Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a fantastic place! A completely modernist house in a charming village with good restaurants not far from Trieste airport. We loved the minimalist design and large rooms with balcony over the swimming pool. Pretty countryside too! A super swimming pool, interesting and delicious breakfast with lots of home cooked touches. The young owners were charming and professional and the price was very reasonable. No chintz here! We loved it and it made an excellent start to our holiday in Slovenia.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baggies_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This was one of two wine stays we had in Slovenia and the rooms were excellent, the breakfast was also and the wine was outstanding. It was more then WE usually pay for a room but it was well worth it. I only wish we had been a week earlier when it was still hot and could have used the pool that overlooks the beautiful vineyards. Our host was also the vintner and was very charming.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eobh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: EVITATE le camere al primo piano rischiate di non dormire!!!
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MaoPao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabiSamog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: es gibt nur Zimmer mit Blick auf den Pool und in die Weingärten
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dobrovo
1.5 mi away
Belica
Belica
#1 of 1 in Dobrovo
102 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Gorizia Palace Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Gredic
Hotel Gredic
#3 of 10 in Dobrovo
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dvor
Dvor
#1 of 10 in Dobrovo
58 reviews
1.5 mi away
B&B Klinec
B&B Klinec
#1 of 4 in Dobrovo
40 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa delle Rose
Casa delle Rose
#4 of 4 in Dolegna del Collio
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iaquin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iaquin

Address: Vipolzhe 3, Dobrovo 5212, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Dobrovo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Dobrovo
Price Range: $96 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Iaquin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iaquin Slovenia/Dobrovo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing