We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Special Place to Stay”
Review of Talking Stones

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talking Stones
Ranked #2 of 15 Dolceacqua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Dolceacqua is a charming and picturesque little town, and our stay here was made even more memorable by staying at Talking Stones. This really is a special place. Monika has done a beautiful job tastefully, and thoughtfully renovating the B&B. We also had a beautiful meal at Osteria dell'Acqua Dolce. Highly recommended, we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmblee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Talking Stones
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 129 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

We just returned from Dolceacqua and stayed here for 2 nights. What a wonderful B&B. The interior is all stone like the exterior and so charming. The room was the top one just under the roof terrace. The room was beautifully appointed with a comfortable bed, a sofa and a very modern bathroom. Breakfast was also more than adequate. Monika made it very special with her warm and friendly personality. The location is perfect with views of the castle and the old town, with only a 5 minute walk to the village across the river. Don't forget to explore the streets where this B&B is..so many interesting nooks and crannies to see. We would definitely return to Talking Stones. I just hope they talk next time.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank expatgal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This summer my girlfriend and I decided to take a 4 day trip to somewhere in Italy we knew little about. We found out about Dolceacqua through alot of googling. It seemed like an idyllic little town with enough surroundings to see for a weekend.

We chose the bed & breakfast, Talking stones, for our stay as it looked like a lovely place on pictures we found online. The hostess, Monika, is a lovely and welcoming lady who made our stay very pleasant and interesting. The rooms are very beautifully decorated with a cozy atmosphere. The roof terrace has a great view of the castle and valley and is an excellent place to enjoy a bottle of wine in the evening.

We rented a car in Nice and drove easily along the highway to Ventimiglia where we followed the signes to Dolceacqua. Parking was no problem either. Just drive around till you find a good spot. A small car is more practical. During our stay we drove alot around in the surrounding areas, and we recommend everyone to do the same. Our favorites were swimming in the fresh water river above Rocchetta Nervina, enjoying a cup of cappuccino on a piazza in Apricale, enjoy the view of the alps from Bajardo, see the sea from Perinaldo while having a cold beverage, experience the eclectic atmosphere of the artistic village Bussana Vecchia.

The beaches in San Remo and Ventimiglia all seemed crowded and not too charming, and we wish we had gone to the refreshing freshwater river of Rocchetta Nervina everyday instead of saving it for the last day.

Room Tip: Top floor room was very nice, with easy access to the roof terrace. The rooms further down, however...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I spent five nights in this gorgeous bed and breakfast in the picturesque town of Dolceacqua. Monika made me feel completely at home. The property has been tastefully decorated in a manner that makes it feel brand new and modern, while still homey and in tune with its history and surroundings. Monika went out of her way to ensure a pleasant stay, whether it was giving me directions, suggesting things to do, or just generally making sure everything was to my liking. I was traveling on my own, and staying here provided me with the right mix of quiet time and pleasant conversation. Breakfast was simple but delicious - fresh bread and cheese, fresh brewed coffee, and delicious pastries. It wasn't expansive, but with such a small property, that wouldn't really make sense. Everything was delicious, and Monika seemed to be more than happy to make any adjustments according to guests' preferences. This property isn't ideal for anyone with mobility issues since the stairs are quiet steep, but then Dolceacqua probably wouldn't really be a suitable place to visit since the bulk of the town is up pretty steep streets. If I'm ever in Dolceacqua again, I wouldn't hesitate for a second to stay at Talking Stones.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Wonderful B&B, tastefully decorated and located in a unique town. Very nice rooms with access to a rooftop patio, with view of the town.
Directions to:
Park in the lot by the main square, accessed via a small driveway just as the river turns away from the immediate side of the river. Spots are limited and be prepared to wait. Car will stay here.
Cross street at crosswalk and walk across end of sqaure and proceed up walkway to church, follow pathway to left of church to first pathway on right. This is street for B&B. Proceed up and I mean up this pathway to a bend to left. B&B is on your left with a small sign.
Travel light and consider leaving suitcases in your car as aceess to the B&B is difficult and stairs inside are very tight.
Once there it is great with arched stone walls and ceillings. Very nicely decorated, with a good breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: The farther up you go more stairs. No view from the rooms, but great from the rooftop
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adventurer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Talking Stones is a gorgeous B&B for people who love B&B's which have been decorated with respect to the environment. Monica has renovated Talking Stones with taste and it fits in well with the beautiful little village of Dolceacqua.
Ideal place if you want to relax and are in need of peace and quiet or else close to the border of France so you can easily visit places like Nice Monaco etc.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank vasilis_anthoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We found Monika's place last minute while online between flights in an airport. The name of the place pulled me in immediately. It was a wonderful surprise. Of course nothing is an accident, so we found this little gem and the proprietress to be very interesting, accommodating and charming - a true reflection of the town and the history of the region itself. Monika was very knowledgeable about the area and it's hidden mysteries. She restored the locale beautifully to give a special version of medieval, but with great comfort. The three rooms are equally cozy and charming though our bed was quite hard. The breakfast is a simple caffe` latte and brioche - but plentiful. We will definitely return to Talking Stones and look forward to spending more time exploring this precious little region of Liguria.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolceacqua
2.6 mi away
Apricus Locanda
Apricus Locanda
#1 of 2 in Apricale
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Le Gemme
B&B Le Gemme
#1 of 15 in Dolceacqua
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Agapantus
B&B Agapantus
#6 of 15 in Dolceacqua
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Casetta di Vale
La Casetta di Vale
#5 of 15 in Dolceacqua
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Petit Chateau
B&B Petit Chateau
#13 of 15 in Dolceacqua
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
U Campanin
U Campanin
#10 of 15 in Dolceacqua
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talking Stones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talking Stones

Address: Via San Bernardo 5, 18035 Dolceacqua, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of Imperia > Dolceacqua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dolceacqua
Price Range: $105 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Talking Stones is located in the Borgo, the medieval town of Dolceacqua. The house, compleatly build from the stones of the river Nervia has 3 rooms each for 2 or 3 person with bathroom. In the top of the building is the terrace where with the nice weather we serve the breakfast. We wellcome children, please call us if you want to come animals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Talking Stones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talking Stones Hotel Dolceacqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing