We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced!!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Vigna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colonia Valdense
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Vigna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

5 points for this hotel?
5 points for this bad food?
Hello critic!
Are you friends of the owners?5 points for this hotel?
5 points for this bad food?
Hello critic!
You are friends of the owners?
I booked this hotel because you gave excellent reviews.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erniemaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have been living in Uruguay for a year now and I cannot believe I had not discovered this wonderful place before. Finally I have found a place with lots of soul. Perfect for a relaxing visit of several days. Carmelo and Colonia make for nice day trips and if you call ahead fo time a visit can be organised to several of the local families making cheeses in this area. YOu can also ride bikes to the river/sea 11 km away and go for walks though the farmland. But the utmost delight is the place itself and everyone you meet there. Owners and staff are delicious, desserts are some of the best I have ever tasted, food is excellent and organic, rooms are delightful if simple....do not know what more to say except go if you like simple soulful loving home-like places

Room Tip: If you are a family they have two rooms with each an adjoining room and a shared bathroom. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArtProperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed here for a few days after Christmas with our 9mth old daughter. Although the place was normally closed during this time, they had accepted our reservation without realising but welcomed us to stay with open arms despite the error. So we had the whole place to ourselves! The normal staff were on vacation so Lucilla took care of us almost all by herself, and was wonderful host, sharing much local knowledge and giving advice about places to see and eat while we were there. She also told us a lot about the estancia and how they had come to live in Uruguay from Argentina.

Breakfast was fantastic, very informal and homely. Home made sheep's cheese, and eggs from the estancia. Everything is there for you so you can make what you want, but don't have to wash up! Definitely prefer this vs the cheap scrambled eggs and what not youget in other hotels. Lucilla cooked dinner for us in the funky little dining area, full of curious objects and art pieces.

Walking around the estancia is wonderful seeing a lot of the animals and taking in the relaxed countryside vibes. A friendly dog will occasionally come to play. The property has a funky pool area made from a storage tank, which is great for taking a dip while sunbathing in the garden during the hot summer days.

Lucilla also sells some fantastic handwoven wool items made from the estancia's sheep, which we piled into for presents to take back home

Was sad to leave, but looking forward to visiting again next time we are in Uruguay again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suanderez07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Last November we were travelling with our 1,5 year daughter in Urugway and we spent a wonderful few days at La Vigna.

This is typical estancia, however in super eco and friendly style. The owners are fantastic, very open and helpful (Lucila even came to pick us up from the bus stop). They own a beautiful house and have some rooms for rent, all furbished in traditional country style. They also serve some great local dishes, all from their organic grown garden.
The place was a true hide away. It was the nicest place that we stayed at during our holidays.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wojtek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

The estancia is lost between Montevideo and Colonia del Sacramento... When you arrive you see a beautiful house... But as soon as you go in, th house is not only beautiful, but original, decorated in a unique way and very cozy. You immediatly feel at home ! And you don't want to leave. The food is homemade and organic, you'll taste the "queso de oveja casero" (sheep cheese homemade)... There you have one thing to do : to relax ! And that's all.
There is a small Spa, a art workshop and bicycle to borrow. The owners are as charming as the place is ! Go there you will not regret it !

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank MelDMParisFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Nine of us have been guest at La Vigna last week end and it has been absolutely amazing! there is so much to say but we are happy to sum it up by saying that nothing was missing.
If you love nature, genuine food and authentic people..well, this place is a real paradise!
It is located in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by nature, 10min away from the beach, less than 2 hours away from Buenos Aires and Montevideo.
it is also surronded by tasty cheese and wine at any time.
Lucilla and Agustin created a special atmosphere in that place.Their sweet kids and Marta who is running great breakfasts and afternoon tea breaks, contribute to the magic.
The whole place is rich in colours and details, you cannot stop noticing surprising things around. It is very inspirational for photographers...and not only!

highly recomended!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miticate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Amazing place, we were invited to participate of the sheep milking at 8am with the owner of the farm, lovely experience, he patiently shared with us lots of stuff about it. We also were able to take a look at the boutique cheese shop, now we must come back to taste the pecorino and feta! We took a cheese tour around other farms that produce cheese from cow and goat milk, delicious!!! La Vigna offers incredible sunsets and peace, the room and the gardens invite you to take naps, listening to the sounds of nature, or just admire beauty. I´ll be back for sure.

Room Tip: La Violeta is the best for couples. If you don´t like kids around, you must ask when booking if ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EscalantedeColinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colonia Valdense
0.0 mi away
Posada Plaza Mayor
Posada Plaza Mayor
#12 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Mision
La Mision
#18 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada de la Flor
Posada de la Flor
#13 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vigna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vigna

Property: La Vigna
Address: Km 120 Ruta 51 a Playa Fomento, Colonia Valdense 70202, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia Valdense
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Colonia Valdense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Vigna is a Magical small Hotel in Colonia, Uruguay. Ecology and Organic lifestyle mixed with fantastic Art and Glamour. Welcome to discover a new Concept! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Vigna Hotel Colonia Valdense
La Vigna Uruguay/Colonia Valdense

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing