We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude and unfriendly staff”

Le Comptoir de la Presqu'ile
Ranked #7 of 8 Restaurants in Barfleur
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the heart of the city of Barfleur opposite the port, the restaurant Le comptoir de la presqu'ile, warm establishment with heated terrace and sight on the port, constitutes the ideal place of residence for travelers Trans-Manche and the lovers of Cotentin in Normandy. Enjoy exclusively fresh products! More than just a terrace, a real bridge of old rigging. Enjoy the pleasure of enjoying a seafood platter on the port of Barfleur.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very rude and unfriendly staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very unpleasant experience. The food was ok but the service was terrible. We had to wait for ages for the kid food and when we complained the response was inappropriate and rude!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ride_and_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    70
    29
    22
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent fish, great location, good staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Ate here recently (early May) with two friends. Had delicious fish, very well cooked and presented. Staff were friendly but reserved, a normal experience in French restaurants. I would agree with an earlier reviewer that the chips weren't perfect but were still quite good. A small wine selection but the red we chose was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerryman92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst French meal ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

On 18 th of September we had last meal before leaving France in this restaurant. We must fully agree with reviewer of 30 th ofSeptember. My husband ordered steak meal and I ordered sea bass. The steak was Inedible. the chips were burnt and greasy. My fish was served with plain boiled rice and ratatouille that looked days old . The service was very slow and unfriendly. We did not complain because we were so close to next table it would have been embarrassing. No comment was made about the fact that we had not eaten our meal. It was by far our worst dining experience in France.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank michael186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Apalling service and food to match”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We checked out the seafood restaurants for lunch and unfortunately chose this one. There were vacant tables at 12.40pm but as we had not booked were reluctantly shown to one on the terrace. All subsequent callers were turned away.

We waited for 10 minutes the surly waitress to give us the menu (the entire staff seemed to undergone the etiquette/charisma bypass operation), another 15 minutes and the third time of asking our order for a two course lunch was taken. In the meantime the two adjoining tables had sent their food back for being undercooked and the chef came out to have an 'animated' conversation with one of the complainants.

Our starters of salmon terrine and seafood soup arrived at 1.35. OK but nothing special and no apology for the long wait. How long can it take to put soup in a bowl and cut a slice of terrine off a block.?

The main courses of mussels mariniere finally came at 2.15 and were in a bluey tinted watery liquid with a few bits of celery floating in it. No flavour and certainly no wine. We asked for more bread but none came but quite honestly the 'sauce' was so insipid that it was no loss to leave it. At 2.45 I had to go inside to pay the bill as the request for it was ignored.

So a full two hours for a low quality two course lunch, served with a sneer and any chance of a gratuity totally gone. After 3 weeks travelling and eating out in Spain and France this place was the worst by far in every aspect.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
201 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good fresh seafood on the seafront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This fish restaurant is on the seafront at Barfleur. You can sit inside, on the (heated) terrace or in an upstairs room overlooking the port. We ate there three times during our stay at Barfleur and on the last evening there was a jazz band. The prices for the main courses are reasonable although the seafood starters seemed a bit expensive to us. The service is quite good. One night I chose a whole sea bass which was super fresh and grilled to perfection. The accompaniment of rice and ratatouille were out of place. Another evening we sampled the local mussels cooked in the Barfleur manner. These were a bit tired and not very hot, like the accompanying chips. The third evening we both chose half a grilled lobster - an excellent choice as it was both spanking fresh, well grilled and copious. The desserts are simple and good, as is the ice-cream. On the whole, a very good address at Barfleur.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oldbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Comptoir de la Presqu'ile also viewed

 

Been to Le Comptoir de la Presqu'ile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing