We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Mayan Ruins of Bonampak
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
139
91
21
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
91
21
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wall paintings three rooms mexico city maya world dirt road mayan ruins frontera corozal amazing murals site depicted stelae temple jungle visitors palenque income government
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 269 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2014

When we were here, there were virtually no other tourists around. Time your visit well, before the tours arrive at around 2-3 PM and you may find yourself alone at the impressive site. It is really only one large building that you can see in about an hour. Hire a tour guide for some extra information, the information on the signs is limited.

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank Ibely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

It is one of the most beautiful thing I have ever seen, though there is trash everywhere. They should take care of this magical piece of Earth.

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank pamela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The day we arrived there were no tourists. This place does not get the traffic of Palenque which makes it more enchanting. The site surrounded by thick jungle, away from all noise, sits quietly contemplating the great glory of this once magnificent Maya City. Nowhere in all Mesoamerica can we get such a glimpse of Mayan life like in the stunning Bonampak murals. They can be appreciated as testimony of what Mayan life was like or they can be admired as art with forms of harmonious movement, rhythm and color. Like the lowly captive who is a testimony to the ongoing Mayan wars and the importance of prisoners in Mayan life. We also see a body artistically rendered full of motion as a dejected and defeated being.
So it is with the plaza and buildings giving us a clue how the Mayan lived but at the same time providing an aesthetic to enjoy and contemplate.

Date of experience: May 2014
2  Thank 327hw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Whilst staying at Palenque, a friend and I decided to forgo the Palenque archeological site and visit Bonampak and Yaxchilan instead. It was highly recommended by our trip guide and I was keen to explore as many archeological sites as possible and this one out of the way was instantly appealing.

We were able to join a small group of others (11 of us in total including a guide and driver). The trip is quite long, we left at 5am from the hotel, picked up the other guests from various lodgings and hit the road. We stopped for breakfast about 7 am at a very popular roadside restaurant. The food was very satisfying. This was included in the price of the tour.

We then visited Yaxchilan, which I will review in the appropriate area.

Bonampak is a smaller site compared to Yaxchilan, however the murals are absolutely amazing and it is wonderful how well they have been preserved. The guide was extremely informative and this added to the experience. Bonampak is located in a very serene place and when we visited it was not crowded, which was a pleasant surprise.

Definitely worth the trip and recommend it be coupled with Yaxchilan.

We returned to our accommodation around 6pm that night.

Date of experience: May 2013
5  Thank Kawm2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

It is a long drive from Palenque with more toes than any road in Mexico I believe, but worth it. The tour companies, which are really just booking companies pick you up at 6 a.m. Yaxchilan is included as a package. While it was also amazing, the murals at Bonampak are out of this world. The setting is resplendent and we saw two trogans while walking into the ruins. The overnight package is wonderful. The Lancandon people are very special and the walking your the following day one of the more special experiences we have ever had in our fairly extensive travels throughout Mexico.

Date of experience: April 2014
3  Thank copperstategal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews