We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tugawe Cove Resort
Nearby Hotels
Gardenia Hotel(Tabaco City)
$19
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Hotel Fina(Tabaco City)
$36
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
Facade Hotel(Tabaco City)
$76
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Misibis Bay Resort(Cagraray Island)
$181
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$32
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Meaco Hotel(Legazpi)(Great Value!)
$19
Expedia.com
View Deal
$34
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alicia Hotel(Legazpi)
$36
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveler rating
158
82
23
7
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
82
23
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolpersonal butlertalisay portspeed boatbutler servicelight houseboat transferisland hoppingbeach frontbreathtaking viewsduring our stayview deckfull board mealsreception areahill topgolf cartbuffet meal
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 283 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The beach isn't that suitable for swimming considering the small front shares the space with the resort's boats. The sand is too rocky to walk barefoot like a Hollywood movie star, but it's quite a lovely background for the camera.

A very unique feature of the island are its stairs. They're almost poetically pretty, before realizing the absence of an elevator, escalator, or cable car. This might be the only resort where gluttony is subliminally discouraged.

Once reaching your designated room, you will not be disappointed by the lack of accomodations--though the bugs are part of the island experience.

On a final note, you might be curious about the presence of a particularly rambunctious Hornbill. He is perfectly safe. However, take care to guard your slippers and ceramics around him since he's been known to have the inclination to pick at the first, and break the latter.

P.S. we strongly suggest the island hopping.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P00h2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I didn't set my expectations too high when I went to Tugawe... But I was pleasantly surprised to see how beautiful the place was. Pictures don't give justice to how beautiful it really is! The long travel via air, land and sea was all worth it as soon as its beachfront welcomed our boat.

Highlights for me were the infinity pool with the spectacular view of the islands and is nicely lit at night, the nice rooms which are relaxing and spacious, and the warm friendly staff who are always smiling and ready to serve. I also liked that all the meals, as well as the island tour, is already included in the package so everything is hassle free. Tugawe also has a nice beach front where you can snorkel and kayak or simply lie down to enjoy the wonderful view.

But let me warn you that this place is not ideal for the handicapped or for those who are not fit or willing to go up and down the high stairs. I am lucky to stay in the middle part of the hill... It must be torture for those staying in the lake area to go up and down the hill just to eat or to connect to the wi-fi located only in the resto situated in the hilltop. You would also need some patience waiting for your meal if you want eat in your room or if you ask for something to be delivered in your room because their working area is situated far from the rooms. The weather in the area may also be quite unpredictable so be ready.

All in all, this is one of the best trips I've had and Tugawe/Caramoan is one of the best places I've visited. This is one trip I will recommend to my family and friends in order for them to experience something different. Caramoan is one place where I can really say it is more fun in the Philippines!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jun_barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Tugawe Cove resort was a pleasant discovery for us when I typed in a search for Caramoan.
It is always a challenge for me to find an aesthetically pleasing local resort that is value for money but Tugawe nailed it. The shortest way to get there is flying in to Virac then hiring a van to take you to a port where one takes the approximate 30 min resort boat ride to Tugawe.
The other option will be to fly/bus in to Naga (if Virac flights are fully booked), hire a van for P2500
( the resort will facilitate this for you) for a 1 1/2 hour trip to Talisay port, then take a 2-3hr resort boat trip to Tugawe. Most guests fly early am to Virac coming in and fly out on last Cebu Pacific
(4:15 pm?) on their return so they can comfortably leave the resort before 11am on their departure date.
Re resort, Tugawe is set on a beautiful piece of property with a commanding view of the ocean & nearby islands that is hard for other resorts to rival. And even for that alone, it is worth coming here. And yes, it does have a lot of steps to get to the top where the infinity pool and main dining and lounge area are situated but it IS worth EVERY single step to get there. (200 or so steps).
My uncle and aunt ( aged late 70's & 80's made it up there, even if ever so slowly ) so any reasonably fit person can do the same. Just listen to your body & adjust your pace.
( Actually, those stairs are a very good indicator of whether or not we need more regular exercise in our daily life.) The poor staff go up & down those stairs to serve our many whims several times a day so remember that should you wish to leave a tip at the end of your trip!
Re activities, a set whole day island tour is included with the full board package but I highly advise you to go on additional island tours the rest of your stay as there are soo many islands to visit, each with its unique charm. Just ask Herzon, the very pleasant & efficient manager, for tips. He grew up in the fishing village where Tugawe is situated and knows the area like the back of his hand. Hiking up to the lighthouse on the island before sunrise or sunset for the best views as well as hiking down to the fishing village below for a local experience are also highly suggested. Don't
forget also to leave at least a day free to just chill at the resort and enjoy the infinity pool that looks out to the sea. As for the food, it was flavorful in its simplicity and was something we looked forward to after a whole day of island tripping. Ala carte items were also quite tasty. Nothing too gourmet, just comfort food at its best. The service could at times be slow but all is compensated by their genuine desire to serve. A "butler" is also assigned to every villa which lends a more personal touch to your stay.
Room Tip:
Lakeside cottages- close to the beachfront and fronting a freshwater lake. Best to stay in if you are a senior citizen or want to be close to the beach. My uncle & aunt had their meals served in their villa to lessen their trips up to dining area
Mid-Level cottages- some have good view of the ocean and this is perfect if you want to be in between the beach and topmost dining area
Top-Level cottages- perfect if you want to be close to the pool and main dining/activity area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank marga_philippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Tugawe cove is a secret getaway. Not a lot of people know about this wonderful place in the middle of nowhere. Be prepared to take a long haul of Air, Land and Sea before you get there but it's all worth the stay. The accommodations were all very nice. The food was very tasteful , i wasn't so happy with the service though because i had to call the reception 5-6x to have my TV fixed and i never got to watch anything in my whole stay due to false promises of them having it fixed. Asking for the bill for check out took forever too along with the food orders. Nevertheless, because the staff were always pleasing and friendly , I would just let it pass. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone, simply because it's SPECTACULAR!

Room Tip: stay in the middle part- the climb is about 220 steps to the clubhouse .
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tyler_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

tugawe cove resort is...unique... :) the resort and the surrounding is simply beautiful... but one has to be prepared for the long travel (if coming from naga) and the STAIRS going up to the rooms... we probably got one of the best looking rooms but the double bed was too small for 2 adults to sleep in...but still i loved our stay!! :) the food was good, had fun island hopping and our butler (jay r) was excellent.. the resorts manager herzon was also very helpful... :)

if you are looking for an amazing place to visit and experience, check out this resort :)

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Mity C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews