We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value resort with a few odd policies...”
Review of Tugawe Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tugawe Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caramoan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed at Tugawe Cove Resort in December 2011/January 2012.

Booked this resort on a whim as our plans to go to El Nido fell through. It was good value at about $170 AUD per night inclusive of meals so we thought we'd go for it. The booking people were helpful and it was easy to book our stay.

We did not have a pleasant start to our trip, we flew into Naga and we were picked up by a contracted driver who decided to earn an extra fare by dropping another person from the airport to his house in the suburbs first rather than going straight to the port where we needed to catch our boat to get to the resort. The 1 hour car ride turn into a 2 hour trip. I was fuming and complained to our booking agent, we paid a decent amount for the airport transfer and certainly was not expecting a "bus" type mode of transport. I've never encountered such an airport transfer in my life!!! I requested that the fare be refunded- but the resort refused as it was already contracted etc etc.

The boat ride from the port to the resort took us about 3 hours on the way there due to choppy waters. And about 2 hours on the way back with calm waters. They offer some refreshments while on the boat and please know that these are not complimentary but chargeable. Once again I've never encountered such practice in my life, bizarre.

To be fair, once we arrived at the resort a hot meal/snack was waiting for us and that was really appreciated (we arrived at dusk). The rooms were clean, bed/pillows comfy. The bathroom was a bit moldy due to the lack of ventilation (no windows) but it was clean with new and modern fixtures (rain shower). There's a TV with satellite cable in the room which was really handy as our 1st day there it was absolutely pissing down.

The infinity pool was unavailable during our stay though all the booking confirmation and quote specified that the infinity pool could be used. It was a disappointment and misleading. From the other reviews I see that they now have the infinity pool up and running.

Food wise, though the chef exerted a lot of effort it was Filipino-food fusion gone wrong. I actually lost weight during my stay here. For example, if you ordered grilled fish it would turn up with some type of sauce over it.

The location of the resort is really secluded and quiet, best to go for a few nights as it can be a mission to get there to make it worth your time. We went on 2 island trips, all the islands we went to were untouched and clean with clear blue waters. Best to go to this resort in the summer season (March-May). It was the windy season while we were there so we couldn't go to the further islands as the waters were unpredictable and choppy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ainaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Tugawe Cove Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 213 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

Serene, clear water...I fell in-love at first sight! Best meals ever, thanks to in-house chef!
Tips: 1.) Take earliest flight to Virac, Catanduanes; last flight from Naga. 2.) Arrange land transfer thru resort 3.) Consider season to visit all sites planned; otherwise, insist long hours at Matukad & Lahuy 4.) Don't lose anything; no sasi-sari store around. Enjoy your vacation!

Room Tip: Search for Tugawe FB page for more of my pics
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank xienina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

An idyllic escape far enough from the hustle and bustle (2 hours bangka ride from Talisay port) but with all the comforts of home. Service is excellent, best i've ever had..Staff made our trip wonderful, always smiling and ready to help, plus you can sit down and have a decent conversation with them. We chose this place for our two families to meet for the first time and it was perfect because you pretty much have the entire place to yourselves.

Everything about the place is breathtaking, you arrive on a white sand beach with crystal clear waters, surrounded by rugged cliffs. Between you and your rooms is a natural lake dotted with all kinds of foliage..Food is great, and always on time irregardless of how big your order is.

Would highly recommend this place, though it involves a fair bit of travelling..but it's all worth it once you get here..

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the lake, less walking to the restaurant and beach and has the best view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pollyannr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pierre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015
Thank 猫旅_しましま猫
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Daan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lutz_kb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caramoan
52.5 mi away
The Avenue Plaza Hotel
43.4 mi away
The Oriental Legazpi
The Oriental Legazpi
#4 of 14 in Legazpi
479 reviews
29.9 mi away
Hotel Fina
Hotel Fina
#1 of 3 in Tabaco City
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.3 mi away
Villa Caceres Hotel
Villa Caceres Hotel
#3 of 11 in Naga
185 reviews
33.4 mi away
Misibis Bay Resort
Misibis Bay Resort
#1 of 2 in Cagraray Island
772 reviews
9.0 mi away
Island View Lodge
Island View Lodge
#5 of 20 in Caramoan
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugawe Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugawe Cove Resort

Address: Bgy. Colongcogong, Caramoan, Luzon 4429, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Camarines Sur Province > Caramoan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caramoan
Price Range: $118 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tugawe Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Tugawe Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing