We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Playa - Worst Place Ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caramoan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Playa Camp and Picnic Grounds
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Do not plan to stay here. We spent our Holy Week in CamSur, went to Caramoan on the second day, too bad, there's available accommodation for us here in La Playa..

Poor service! There's not enough supply of water, food order will take 3 hours or even longer. I will never go back to this place and definitely will not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank youdontknowmhie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 25 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

They were the very first "resort" on Paniman Beach. You have a choice of fan-cooled tiny huts or small airconditioned rooms. The huts are made of wood and thatch with a raised platform for your bed. Barebulbs for illumination - not even a chair or a table to put your stuff on. You can't leave anything of value in the room. It does get cooler at night since you are right by the beach. The shared toilets and bathrooms are a few meters away. You need a flashlight should you need to use it at night. bare bulbs. The rooms have their own toilets but very basic affairs. They serve food - fish is good - edible but nothing to rave about. They are situated farther away from the houses so it is quiet at night and dark. I found out that there are a couple other choices closer to where most of the houses are - but the noise from the bar & billiards will keep you awake. You save time on your trips to the islands as the boat can pick you up right on the beach. I made arrangements for my own boat trips which did not sit too well with the owners. Why? - because they didn't want other folks getting the business. I would suggest you find another place to stay - in town.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

La Playa Camp Ground & Picnic Grounds - looks like a nice place to stay, but the management is serious cheating on guests and clients. - We had just lately about 29 complains from a bigger group... - Suddenly they did charge for guests which are already gone and have paid already - same with people who share a room, La Playa tries to get the whole amount for the room from ALL parties sharing.

NEVER EVER BOOK A BOAT TRIP WITH LA PLAYA
Don't do their tours - their boats are not really safe and the always get more people on the boat as allowed!!! - You risk your life! In our case they put at least 30 people in a boat for 14-16 people!!! Good Luck with that - La Playa, sorry - never ever again!

Room Tip: In case you really wanna still try this - than you have to go to the Guest House right at the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were a group of 9 and only paid 1,300/pax, inclusive of the food, pick-up and island hopping. I was actually expecting the worst accommodation, thinking what I will get with my 1,300 rate. But I was pleasantly surprised to see that aside from Gota Beach Resort (which would cost you a fortune), La Playa is one of the best option in Caramoan Island. Do not stay in the town proper but go to the resorts near the caramoan islands. It will be worth your trip. There is nothing much to see and do in the town proper anyway. La Playa Resort have their own boat which will bring you to the islands. The resort owner picked us up at the Caramoan Pier and was in charge of cooking our delicious meals all through out our stay. This is what we call personalized service. The resort is clean, complete with what you need in an island. Rooms are clean, aircon's strong, food is sufficient and well-prepared by the owner herself. Caramoan is not a highly commercialized island compared to Boracay, Bohol and Bantayan or other islands in Cebu, so dont expect too much. Island hopping consist of 5 pristinely isolated islands. La Playa staff prepared our lunch during the island hopping. I suggest that if you are in a large group, you request for additional viands to be prepared since included in the package are only 2 viands. You can request for a dinner buffet to be prepared but you have to pay extra. All in all, we enjoyed our stay here and I think the owner of this resort is really hands-on managing the resort.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank attyjing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Don't let the trike drivers discourage you on staying in town proper or centro. Get away from the karaoke, trikes & crowds. We took the longer route by taking the bus to Caramoan which took us 16 hours of total travel time. We almost gave up & stayed in one of the town proper inns. Good thing we read a review here & didn't give up.

My brother is on vacation from California. So what we were looking for is off the beaten path & far from the rat race. We wanted the old school rustic Filipino feel that's close to all the action w/ great views of the water, sea breeze & mountain side. La Playa delivered plus more. Nothing fancy, just real basic Bahay tropical kubo at its best. Ain't that the reason why you left the city in the first place. Its really quiet at night. Province feel that you definitely misses. There's only two beach front places where you can stay in Caramoan. La Playa simply kicks butt. The proximity of the islands saves you a lil over 30 minutes. You just literally walk out the hut & get in your boat. No need to ride another trike if you stayed in the town proper.

The staff are great. We had Andy & Jon as our boat man plus we had their second chef Andy to help us with the food. I give them 5 star service. They made our island adventure very easy & relaxing. They have everything on hand. Hassle free really. They asked you before hand what you would like to eat while island hopping. We tried giving them tips & they didn't want to take it. They kept saying that they want to promote Caramoan & their service.

I'll let some of the pictures that I will post speak for itself.

Room Tip: They have a two floor hut. Try that one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank babymadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Minus their erratic electricity, our stay was more than what we even paid for. Best rate we got for an overnight package including accommodation on 2 family air conditioned rooms, full meals, shuttle from and to the port, as well as island hopping.

Although the food they served did not have the wow factor, the AC in our room was barely felt since the generators were not enough (I believe they do not have electricity on the area yet so all they have are generators), the boat used for island hopping was quite small, and the multi-cab that brought us from and to the port was the most uncomfortable 4x4 we ever experienced, the price we paid made everything manageable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ExperienceEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

Ome (the owner of La Playa) made us feel extremely welcome in our air conditioned wooden huts by the beach.

This is one of the few beach-front properties in Caramoan and staying here will save you the 30 minute journey from Centro (the township) to the port where the boats leave for island hopping.

Facilities are basic (shared bathrooms)... but Ome is fantastic! From drinking water, to a picnic lunch when island hopping, to a boat and boatman, everything is available from the hotel (at pretty reasonable prices).

I didn't really want to write this review, however, as Caramoan is probably one of the most beautiful places that I have ever been to... with so many pristine islands to choose from (indeed, the TV show Survivor is filmed there). So I feel a bit sad letting the world know about it :-) It was fun being the only non-Filipinos there for 3 days!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stephann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caramoan
9.2 mi away
Tugawe Cove Resort
Tugawe Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Caramoan
260 reviews
33.2 mi away
Hotel Fina
Hotel Fina
#1 of 4 in Tabaco City
58 reviews
0 mi away
The Travelers Camp
The Travelers Camp
#1 of 20 in Caramoan
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Agape Log Cabin and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Island View Lodge
Island View Lodge
#4 of 20 in Caramoan
7 reviews
0 mi away
La Casa Roa Hostel
La Casa Roa Hostel
#7 of 20 in Caramoan
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Camp and Picnic Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Camp and Picnic Grounds

Address: Puerto Merced, Caramoan, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Camarines Sur Province > Caramoan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Caramoan
Also Known As:
La Playa Camp And Picnic Grounds Hotel Caramoan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing