We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry
Certificate of Excellence
Mornington, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We chose this park was it was dog friendly. We found the location beautiful and the amenties clean. We had a good caravan site near the water but unfortunately it was a long weekend as well as school holidays so the place was packed. Children everywhere and the pool not a practical proposition for us because of it, but that was not the park's fault and we would never normally stay in a van park at such a time. Had no option as we were attending a birthday locally. The people in the tent next to our van partied until after midnight and I wished the park had someone going round to check on late noise! I tottered out in my nightie at midnight to ask them to please go to bed but they took no notice!! My only complaint was the quite excessive charges for the washing machines. We would stay here again as long as it remains dog friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbuyuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Your consideration of the holiday crowd is appreciated however we do value the comfort of all guests no matter the time of stay. A grounds check is carried out at night and our onsite manager will always respond to any excessive noise after 10pm so please keep this in mind for future visits . We do regret that you were inconvenienced by other guests during your stay and hope the peaceful outlook from your waterfront site helped in this regard. We look forward to seeing all members of your family (including doggy of course) back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    65
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
86
89
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have stayed at this park 6 times over the past few years and we do love the park BUT the site costs have increased to a probative level ..We are seniors and now along with others staying near us will choose another place ..ONLY because of the cost ..
Please don't forget a lot of seniors / nomads what ever you want to call us have to be cost savvy and during the winter months keep caravan parks filled we appreciate a seniors discount in order to stay longer ..it can be a win/win situation for park owners and visitors ....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank charlie0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve the value of our park to all guests, including those on a budget. We are offering a discount every 7th night on sites during many months in 2014 which makes nightly rate most reasonable and ideal for our long stay winter guests. We also suggest you keep an eye out for our newsletters and/or join our Facebook page for up to date information about deals and offers. We hope to see you back in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great park, we had a good holiday.

Very clean, deluxe cabin was lovely and the heated pool and facilities for kids were awesome.

My only negative is that our car space was pretty tight and the kiosk was not stocked very well.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Deluxe cabin was great, has a bath too !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with our own van (not school holidays) and had a nice stay. The best Camp Kitchen I've ever seen. Everything you need to cook and clean with. Only bad point was it closed at 9pm!! Pool great for the kids which unfortunately closed at sunset, and location to waters edge for fishing was a big plus. Even though lots of small kids and groups, it was really peaceful at 10pm ''quiet time'' No complaints here. Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LANDCRUISER4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks for your high praise of our facilities, Landcruiser4 and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As you noted it is ideal for the comfort of all guests to have a quiet camp ground after 10pm and closing the camp kitchen when we do does assist with this. We love to hear that guests have taken advantage of our waterfront location and hope the fishing went well. Feel free to share photos of any catches you had!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were part of a family group (4 sites) & had a wonderful stay at this park. The water play area was very popular & the pool heated which was a bonus. Fishing & water craft at our doorstep. Clean amenities, friendly staff, rubbish pick up service & great sites. The only thing we missed was somewhere to put the sullage drain for the van, but it wasn't a big problem in the end. I enjoyed the 2 or 3k walk to the shops, but crossing the road to get to the bridge is not for the feint hearted. Beaches were beautiful with lots of Whales & dolphins to see & the kids had a ball.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rissy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Traveling with a baby and dog and this caravan park is a great place to stop over. We stayed in the budget bungalows and they are a fantastic option. It has everything you need and is also dog friendly which is great. The park has a top notch camp kitchen (as well as a kitchenette in the bungalow) and a heated pool. Again we came across friendly staff which is always nice after a day of driving! Pity we are not staying longer to explore further!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed on a powered site for 3 nights with our 2 kids. The park is lovely with a nice pool area & great views of the lake. The kids had a lovely time fishing from the boardwalk & spent hours in the playground & pool. The only thing that we weren't fans of was that you had to drive to everything, there's nothing in walking distance. Forster & Tuncurry are both close but you wouldn't walk to them & there's nothing on site apart from a little kiosk that does take away fish & chips (very nice though!). The beach in Forster was fabulous for the kids so we would prefer to have stayed over on that side. That said, the other parks don't seem to have the facilities that this 1 does so it's a catch 22. Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jclarke23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, General Manager at BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, jclarke23 and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable and that your family took advantage of the many facilities within the park. The boardwalk is quite unique and we are always pleased to hear that our younger guests young have experienced the fun of "wetting a line". We look forward to hosting your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuncurry
8.9 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Beachfront Hallidays Point
Gateway Lifestyle Beachfront Hal...
#2 of 3 in Hallidays Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.0 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Tuncurry Beach
0.8 mi away
Twin Dolphins Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bali Hi Motel
Bali Hi Motel
#1 of 3 in Tuncurry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
24.7 mi away
Discovery Parks - Harrington
1.0 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Forster Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry

Property: BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry
Address: 1 Baird Street, Tuncurry, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tuncurry
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Tuncurry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Forster-Tuncurry Great Lakes Holiday Park is a tropical holiday oasis, with modern self-contained accommodation set amidst great facilities in a stunning lake and riverfront location. We have everything for a great family holiday including heated pool & water playground, camp kitchen, boat ramp & cafe, close to restaurants, shops & beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Great Lakes At Forster Tuncurry South Pacific - Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing