We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Park seems to have changed to Big4 recently as it appeared in our 2012 Top Tourist Parks listing. Prices have increased with the change.
We took a Waterfront powered site at $45.00 per night, the most we paid on our recent month long road trip. It was good but we wouldn't stay again at these prices.
There was a very bright light right outside our site and it lit up the inside of our van incredibly. Certainly good for security.
We paid for a Waterfront Site but could have had a similar view from many of the other sites as the park was fairly empty.
The amenities are clean and well maintained as are the grounds and other facilities. Interesting that the BBQs require coin operation on top of the fees already paid. The Laundry was our most expensive at $5.00.
The outlook from the Waterfront powered site certainly is way better than the Ensuite sites ($50.00). The Ensuite sites are surrounded by permanent vans.
The location of the park requires you to get in the car to go to town, certainly not a short walk or bike ride.

Room Tip: Have a look at your site and surrounds, the location of the amenities, the night lights etc; before...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 236 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

This park was in an absultely beautiful spot. We stayed in a lake front powered site in our caravan. The view to wake up to in the morning was just beautiful. This park would have made our top 10 parks of all time that we have stayed in with our caravan but...................... The local drunk with her dog knuckles that lives and works in the park paid 1 too many visits to our site. Actually 1 visit was too much as she spilt her scotch all over our campsite! I'm sure she was a lovely lady and all but we were holidaying with our children in a family park and quite frankly at 4pm in the afternoon when your trying to relax and soak up the atmosphere the last thing you want is the local drunk coming around making a mess of herself and putting on a show for the children with all her bits hanging out. Charming!!! The other down fall was a rather large group that partied very loudly until after 2am in the morning with music blaring and foul language streaming out loud and clear made it a rather unpleasant stay! The park itself was really very nice and the staff were certainly sympathetic with our feedback on check out. The amenities were clean and comfortable and the grounds also kept lovely. We would have loved to have stayed longer if it was just a little more quieter!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MBs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, General Manager at BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at BIG4 Forster Tuncurry. We pride ourselves on providing a relaxing and family friendly atmosphere in the park and were absolutely devastated when you reported this incident on check out from your 1 night stay with us. We only wish you had come to us immediately. Action was taken straight away with regard to the individuals involved. We do have a management couple living onsite who can be contacted at any time where guests may feel uncomfortable or be unduly disturbed by the behavior of others.
Thank you for your positive comments about our park, the water view and our facilities. We are proud of our park and hope that you will give us a second change when your are next visiting Forster Tuncurry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

we stayed four nights last week in a 2br delux cabin , couldnt fault it, very clean , comfy bed, full size fridge and oven every thing you could want and need. will definately be staying there again and would recommend it to anyone, and for those that stay in their own tent or caravan can have their dogs stay too ,
lovely clean park well set out , great pool set up.very friendly and helpful staff. great job guys..:)

Room Tip: cabins near the lake the quietest away from pool and amenities block
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarionPeterNyoraVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We dont have a cat but if we did you could not swing the cat in the standard cabin, as no others available, very small, smelly (glad my husband suggesetd taking our lovely smelly candles from home), stove and griller did not work, you have to clean before you leave which is OK but please provide superior products to allow you to clean properly, broom had seen better days and the sand etc could not sweep up as bent, husband liked it as he could put the boat in and leave it in the water.Just OK

Room Tip: Cabins with a river view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We again found Big4 lived up to their good name. Stayed in a 2 br deluxe cabin which we always do. Like extra space and separate room when one of us can't sleep, they are not disturbed while the other watches TV in the middle of the night. Great facilities, clean, modern, quiet a/c and considering the park was full, people and families acted responsibly and considerately of those around them. Very impressed as always with staff and Big4. Will bring our boat next time as the facilities are excellent with easy boat ramp close by to cabins. Responsible dog owners - a lovely sight to see.

Room Tip: The deluxe cabins that backed onto the reserve would be good for families with young children to run...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rickanpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The park its self is good, But the accom needs to be cleaned better and upgraded. The stove is from the 70's and didn't work. The carpet, curtains and lounge had a musky smell. We had to buy a plug in air freshener, so we could sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judybru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here in two of the cabins, paid over $2k for the week and they couldn't even supply enough toilet paper for the week, told we had to supply our own after the 3 x rolls they supplied for 4 x adults for the week. Told to park our boat in the designated parking area at back of park which we did, only to have a sign stuck to our boat to say we had to move it as it was behind a cabin even though it was well within the designated parking area we were told to park it. Staff in the office extremely rude on a number of occasions. Will not be returning and certainly would not recommend.

Room Tip: Cabins are quite small.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Damon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuncurry
24.7 mi away
Discovery Parks - Harrington
1.0 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Tuncurry Beach
1.0 mi away
Bali Hi Motel
Bali Hi Motel
#1 of 4 in Tuncurry
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle East's Ocean Shores
0.8 mi away
Twin Dolphins Holiday Park
3.4 mi away
Secura Lifestyle Lakeside Forster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry

Address: 1 Baird St, Tuncurry, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tuncurry
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Tuncurry
Price Range: $74 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Forster-Tuncurry Great Lakes Holiday Park is a tropical holiday oasis, with modern self-contained accommodation set amidst great facilities in a stunning lake and riverfront location. We have everything for a great family holiday including heated pool & water playground, camp kitchen, boat ramp & cafe, close to restaurants, shops & beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Great Lakes At Forster Tuncurry South Pacific - Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing