We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Marin Headlands
from $79.00
More Info
from $70.00
More Info
from $193.75
More Info
from $9.75
More Info
Reviews (1,840)
Filter reviews
1,650 results
Traveler rating
1,351
273
22
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,351
273
22
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden gate rodeo beach point bonita lighthouse san francisco the marine mammal center hawk hill light house the pacific ocean battery spencer breathtaking views muir woods visitor center bring a jacket sunny day hiking trails take pictures fog
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,650 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

When in San Francisco, if you have a rental car don't miss the Marin Headlands! We always rent a car for at least one day so that we can go to Muir Woods and Muir Beach. This year we added the Marin Headlands and also Baker Beach, the Cliff House and the Sutro Baths. I feel like we saw a whole different side the city by visiting these places. San Francisco can definitely be visited without using a rental car at all. The transportation system is awesome! BUT without the rental for at least one day you would miss all of this and truly the Marin Headlands have the very best views! There are so many great lookout points. If the first one is crowded, keep going, it only gets better! Also there are old military bunkers overlooking the bay that are really cool to stop and check out.

Thank Marsha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I thoroughly enjoyed hiking some of the trails in the Marin Headlands with some friends on a weekend afternoon. Many good trails with scene views of the coast and the Golden Gate bridge. Very convenient to drive to from San Francisco. Highly recommend to anyone visiting San Francisco interested in some hiking or natural scenery but without time to go farther afield.

Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We started at usual place to see the bridge but We wanted to see the bridge from a different perspective. We parked in on of the roadside areas. Then hiked down to Kirby Cove campground area. Spectacular views of the bridge. Worth the hike bring water. There is out house in the camp ground at the bottom.

Thank fancypants2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Headlands offer beautiful views of the city of San Francisco and the Golden Gate bridge. If you park at the first lot up the hill from highway 101, you can walk through World War Two era bunkers, called Battery Spencer, and overlook the bridge. The edge of the cliff hides a huge gun emplacement.

If you plan in advance, you can camp at Kirby Cove. The cove has a bunker next to the beach and a brick-covered tunnel through a man-made berm leading to the beach. You can visit the beach without a camping permit. From the same parking lot, walk east (away from the bridge) till you see a dirt road heading down the slope to the ocean. Kirby Cove is about a mile and 20 minutes away.

Driving away from the bridge, up the road, you will come to another lot. There you can walk through a tunnel to other gun emplacements.

It will be windy, so wear a coat.

Thank 792burtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just had lunch in Sausalito so we decided to go check it out. Went to the visitor center and then to the NIKE missile area. The Blue Angels we’re flying overhead, so we realized it was Fleet Week. Not sure we would have gone had we known this, but it made the experience that much better. Looking forward to going back when we can explore some more.

Thank Qwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

The Marin headlands or America for cyclist, hikers, trail runners, and sightseers just across the Golden gate Bridge from San Francisco. The park offers stunning views of San Francisco harbor, the Golden gate, the bridge, and the Pacific ocean.

Well there we saw a coyote and some deer.

There are no vendors in the park so bring your own water and snacks.

There is a useful information center on the way in. Check for road closures as they are often blocked with one-way roads.

Thank LDavidMarquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018

Like most people, I've seen pictures and television shots that show the bridge in the foreground and the city in the background; however, I've always wanted to see it for myself. If the fog is very heavy, you won't see anything and it probably won't be worth the drive; however, if there is some fog it's light enough to where at least a bridge tower and some of the bridge deck is visible, it's worth checking out.

1  Thank EmeraldCityGlobeTrtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

We found this National Recreation Area more or less by coincidence when driving over the Golden Gate Bridge and stopping to take pictures right after the bridge. This is such an amazing nature drive right outside of San Francisco and gives you the best views for picture taking or just enjoying the amazing overview of the city. Winding roads take you to several lookout points with parking lots (some have very limited parking), and you on top you can walk through two tunnels to the other side of the hill and enjoy ocean and mountain views.
Hint: If you like curves drive town the one way curvy service road that takes you down the other side of the hills and you can easily loop around to get back to were you started from within about 20 minutes. We really enjoyed this drive in our convertible!

1  Thank CraigSabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile

We drove the entire length of the available roadway and were impressed at every turn. Don't hesitate to drive the over the hill to the far reaches of the park the road it isn't as daring as it seems. Get out and explore a bit at some of the pull offs it's remarkable.

Thank savoy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

This is a nice scenic drive. So much so that it’s been in dozens of movies like the birds, so I married an axe murderer, basic instinct, etc. definitely worth your time.

Thank TravelinSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews