We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“What a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalani's

Kalani's
Reserve with OpenTable
Kalani's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Japanese, American, Asian, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Park Ave Hwy 50
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I found this place by accident but what a find. The food and service was so good that we went back again on our second night in South Shore. The food is a cross between Hiwian, sushi, American, which gives you something suitable for most tastes. I took the recommendation of our server and had the special pork chop the first time around. I wasn't disappointed as it was delicious. On our second visit I had the sea bass which excellent. The evening was made even more speacial by the staff who were curtious and helpful. I wish Kalanis's was closer to home. Great restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    51
    28
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Best Sea Bass Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Lot's of restaurants boast about their great sea bass but Kalani's truly is the best. Perfectly cooked, seared lightly for a perfect flavor.

Others in our party had the filet mignon, ribeye, and lamb shake. They were all very good, but we shared bites and everyone agreed the sea bass was best.

Excellent service too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
285 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Cant believe I havent found this place in 9 years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This place has great sushi. Period. You dont need to know more. But it also has great Hawaiian a la Roy's. This is a find. Coconut Prawns not something I would normally order but these were fantastic. Not your usual over-battered, dull tasting Sysco brand. Done right with a wonderful lemongrass sauce. Add a little sriracha and its heaven!

Oh and the Mai Tais are pretty darn good too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma county
Level Contributor
119 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Sushi in South Lake Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Located in the same complex where the Heavenly Valley tram takes an amazing vertical ride up the mountain. They have a pretty decent ahi poke sashimi and some kalbi style short ribs, which tended to be a bit on the fatty side for my taste. They have a good selection of fresh sushi/sashimi and some pretty creative rolls. Their signature drink is their Mai Tai which was so tasty! I would highly recommend one (or two). For dessert, they do a fabulous spin on bread pudding using macadamia nuts in the pudding with a creme anglaise that is to die for. We sat at the bar tables and they had just opened for dinner and the service was very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank redevvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
1 review
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our food: a great tuna steak and boar chops. Even though the tuna steak was not on a menu, our waiter asked the cook if he could prepare the steak for my husband. Curtis (the waiter) chose great wines to complement our food, and then recommended espresso martini as a nice finish of the great dinner. We will visit Kalani's again and hope that Curtis will be our server.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Asia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalani's also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Kalani's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing