We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kalani's

Kalani's
Reserve with OpenTable
Kalani's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Park Ave Hwy 50
So. California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The food was excellent and I have to compliment them on their sushi which was especially fresh. The entree we chose was also very good. They had a nice selection of wines to choose from as well. Do not forget the dessert...the banana spring roll with caramel sauce and vanilla bean ice cream...oh my, very delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kgthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    64
    30
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
142 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Inventive Pacific Rim Dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

To me, most Polynesian themed restaurants are hokey. But Kalani's is definitely not in that category. First, the service is exceptional, somebody here knows how to train staff and how to run a restaurant properly. We were there on New Year's Eve, it was very busy, and the service level was incredible. Second, the menu selections were combinations of ingredients we had not seen elsewhere, inventive, original, and excellent. They call their food Pacific Rim Fusion, and that is a pretty good description. My wife had Escargot that came nestled in garlicky Thai basil bread crumbs that were off the scale delicious. I had grilled snapper, served in a hot and sour miso broth with juliened vegetables that showed off all of the flavors of the different ingredients. There were so many great sounding offerings, that we have to go back and sample some more.
It's not cheap, but food this good seldom is.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillyKmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Generally good, but salt overload in my entree”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Here for an early New Year's eve dinner - 5:15 p.m. reservation. Service was efficient and friendly and loved that they offered a kid's menu too. Ribs appetizer was great - meat tender and flavorful and fell off the bone. Gorgeous salad - loved the dressing, but my entree (scallops) was very disappointing - WAY too salty - hate that. Hubby's Mahi was better. Mud Pie dessert with habanero was a real kicker and delicious!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KDinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An enjoyable meal with tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed lunch here one afternoon and was surprised with the range of dishes. Even if you're not a huge fish fan there are other options on the menu to tickle your fancy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frehannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

An incredible dinner following delicious appetizers. The romantic setting was superb. The wait staff was remarkably attentive. The appoints in the eating area added to the romance. The noise level was low and unobtrusive. The martini was perfect. The fish special on sticky rice with julianne veggies were cooked to perfection and served hot and in a most attractive way. The server was friendly, not invasive, and left us feeling unhurried.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doug h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalani's also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to Kalani's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing