We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location....good dinner at a reasonable price!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Angel Cafe

Blue Angel Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Blue Angel Cafe features fresh, innovative food from around the world and we hope you stop in to sample our eclectic menu and enjoy our cozy atmosphere. We have a beer, wine and espresso bar to complement our menu. Come sit by the fire after a day of skiing, or bring the dog by for a beer in our summer garden after a Tahoe hike. Recently celebrating our 10 year anniversary, we have come to be a favorite among visitors and locals alike. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
267 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Great location....good dinner at a reasonable price!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were staying at the Deerfield Lodge (highly recommend..!!) just up the street and decided to pop in for a couple of beers with our 2 dogs. The cafe has outdoor seating so the dogs were not a problem.

While there, we took a look at the menu. After much debating we decided to do take-out as the grounds of the Deerfield Lodge offers a fantastic setting for a nice relaxing dinner and a glass of wine. Try it...!!

My wife ordered the Mediterranean Salmon, which was very good. I had the Chicken Thai Curry which was "OK". I have had better Thai food..!!

The prices are good, and the gal serving us was very friendly so no complaints there.

We were tired after a full day's driving and were looking for a light, relaxing dinner. That's precisely what we got by enjoying our dinner on the patio of our room at the Deerfield Lodge.

Three stars for the Blue Angel Cafe with an additional star for it's proximity to the Deerfield Lodge.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    55
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Location - Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I recently attended a wedding reception here in the upstairs portion of this restaurant. The atmosphere was ideal and perfect for the intimate wedding I was a guest of. If the catered food at the reception is indicative of the food in the restaurant - this would be a place I need to come to every time I'm in Tahoe! The service was terrific and very attentive. The food was fresh and yummy. Great Job!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AH-OTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We went to eat dinner here, and were not disappointed. The staff was so friendly, and the ambience was warm. The menu had such a variety of the foods. We had the coconut encrusted tofu- was amazing, and shrimp tacos- which were good too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MayaMy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Me and boyfriend were looking for a place to eat something good and light, before an expected heavy dinner. The hotel owner of where we were staying recommended this place and even gave us a 10% off card. When we got to the place, the waiter explained all the options and she was amazing! We had soup and hush puppies. They were both very good and different.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mireya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
4,213 reviews
1,273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,195 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Place - Good Food; Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were staying at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort and asked the concierge where was a good place for lunch - and they said, this was one of their favorite and even gave us a 10 per cent discount coupon.

We arrived to the restaurant - comfortable place for lunch. We enjoyed their excellent humus plate, their fantastic coconut crusted tofu (note - I like coconut crusted shrimp; and this dish even surpassed that dish in taste and quality); and curry chicken salad. We shared the dishes - and had plenty for lunch the next day. Food was so tasty; good for you; and great place to go. Unfortunately we were too full for dessert - but they offer several tasty options if interested.

Wine, beer, Italian soda, and other soft drinks on the menu to order.

Fun place for lunch (The place is liked also by groups since as we were finishing up our lunch anda group of 20 plus showed up for lunch.....and they seemed to be there on a repeat visit from the sounds of it.)

Overall, highly recommend the place for lunch (have not had dinner there so only reviewing in terms of the lunch we had.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Angel Cafe also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Blue Angel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing