We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible place unless you like to cook I suppose”
Review of Fire + Ice

Fire + Ice
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: International, Asian, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Terrible place unless you like to cook I suppose”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Not sure I understood why I had to pick up raw chicken and figure out what to do with it. That is what I do at home. Not to mention figure out what to do for my kids meals. It was an expensive terrible meal. But I can't blame anyone but myself because I was doing the cooking. And where we were sitting was between the bar and where everyone was standing for their meal so everyone's rear ends were in our faces. Not a very pleasant way to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisagranucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    117
    75
    43
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The gem of Lake Tahoe”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I've eaten all over the world and this is by far one of my favourite restaurants. There is nothing quite like it. It was one of the additional selling points that made us buy a place in Tahoe. The food is everything you could want to order in a restaurant and unlimited, you also leave without feeling you've broken the bank. You feel so full when you leave that they should add forklift service to get you from your table to the door. The lively, upbeat behaviour of the staff simply add to the atmosphere and experience. When you see the staff throwing the shock proof crockery into the bowls as you hand them your food to be put on the huge grill you feel the desire to try it with your own bowls at home. I look forward to every visit here and each one delivers. The Mahi Mahi is not to be missed, but also, remember to book!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreyaLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“first timer - very good experience!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were greeted by friendly hostesses. Our waiter was average- nothing special. The food looked fresh and tasted/smelled fine. The cooks were very friendly- but it took LOTS of time to wait for food to be cooked (Mongolian BBQ is usually a fast cooking process). Now the variety of sauces was GREAT- ranging from mild to hot. TASTY! The price seemed a bit much- even considering the all you could eat but the food was definitely filling! All-in-all a nice place; happy we tried it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monikaesu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Crowded and over rated.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Concept is good for first timers to try. Yes, someone else does the cooking and you have to assemble and season the meal. You only have yourself to blame if the food is tasteless. The choices are pretty healthy, with many vegetable, meats and seafood to choose from. The smell near the food station is a little over powering near the seafood. It smells a bit too fishy if you ask me.

The bowls to put the food in are rather small so take two even though they say one per trip. I prefer putting my veggies and carbs in one bowl and my raw meats in a separate one.

The cook does the rest but be ware, they expect a tip every time they cook it up for you. Of course, you can leave it to the last plate.

The outside seating area is nice with the firepits burning. You can order up a nice cocktail and enjoy the heat for the firepits and people watch. Appetizers are also available outside. If you have neve gone to a Mongolian BBQ style restaurant, it is worth th trip. As for a repeat, that is up to you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StellaPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All you can eat!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The concept is great; pile your bowl high and watch them cook it in front of you! There was a huge variety of things and you could create loads of different dishes. The concept was better than the quality and it's quite pricey if you don't stuff yourself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire + Ice also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Fire + Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing