We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Chevys Fresh Mex - CLOSED

Chevys Fresh Mex
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: When we think Chevys Fresh Mex, we go to our happy place; fun-lovin’ guests, fajitas & margaritas, and the freshest food, always from scratch. Founded in 1986 in Alameda, California, Chevys is an ultra-casual restaurant concept that offers guests an array of freshly prepared Mexican dishes in a relaxing atmosphere. Similar to other Real Mex restaurants, Chevys prepares its dishes daily from scratch using only the freshest ingredients. Chevys is a national brand with locations in 8 states. Chevys' store base includes 39 Company-owned restaurant locations and 16 franchised restaurants. With more than 25 years of successful operations, Chevys is the most widely recognized Mexican casual dining brand in northern California, and is the second largest Mexican casual dining brand in California in terms of number of restaurants, behind El Torito. Designed to offer a fiesta for the senses, where every experience is fresh, fun and full of flavor, the concept is focused on the execution of its trend-setting Fresh Mex® menu and continuous innovation. Chevys uses a "Fresh Mex®" pledge which underscores the Company's promise that all products are made daily from scratch.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Unimpressive food at reasonable prices for Tahoe. Taco chips and salsa was fresh and tasty. Other items on the menu not competitive with other Mexican chains.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lenus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    53
    19
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
reno nv
Level Contributor
277 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“The Chevy's In Reno Is Gone And We Miss It !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

So glad Chevy's is still at Lake Tahoe!!! Met by friendly people as we enter a man who answered the phone as we came in said someone will be right with you. A large party was being sorted out by the hostess and another person came and seated us Very professional!! It was not crowded and we got a nice window seat Our server was very friendly and offered more chips and salsa before the meal arrived My husband had feitas and I made up a combo I think my combo was made first because when it arrived the plate was hot but the food was cold. His was sizzling. I tasted and told the person who served it maybe it could be miked!! Right away the server who took our order came back said "I am sorry we are making a new one" The new one was perfect!!! Drinks were refilled and it was a good meal!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodieRenoNv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Kelly and the whole staff Rocks!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Great job done for our hungry group of 8!! Terrific food, chips and salsa and the margaritas too! Couldn't of been any better!! Thanks to All!!

Helpful?
Thank Tigers196884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
1,164 reviews
556 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Mediocre on all accounts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Typical Chevy's.

Good, plentiful chips and salsa.
Okay enchiladas.
Blaa, bland, less-than-fresh rice and beans.
Mediocre service.
Mistakes with the order.
Quick and generally convenient.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 7268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Rey, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the worst meals my wife and I have ever experienced.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I love good food. This was one of the worst meals my wife and I have ever experienced. We love Mexican food. This is not Mexican food. The restaurant tries to put up a Mexican vibe....tries....but the food is absolutely horrible. We did carry out. Very limited menu - went with Shrimp Fajitas...how can you mess that up? Shrimp were awfully undercooked, forgot my Jalapenos, didn't give me any tortillas...with Fajitas! Wife had Chicken Enchiladas - everything on her plate was orange....the rice, the sauce covering the enchiladas....everything was mediocre. Service was meh....very weird vibe, very amateur, felt poorly managed. We will never....ever....eat at a Chevy's again. Don't make the same mistake we did.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WideWorldLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chevys Fresh Mex also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing