We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Enjoyed our breakfast so we came back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ernie's Coffee Shop

Ernie's Coffee Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our breakfast so we came back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Went to Ernie's both Saturday and Sunday morning. We found the restaurant clean and the staff so friendly and attentive! Based on other reviews did notice the condiments on the table were wiped down and very clean. The kitchen and counter area is visible within the cafe and noticed how organized they were!

Great job!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank YYZ2SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Biscuits and Gravy Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Ernie's has been a must visit place for us for over 20 years now. We have not found better biscuits and gravy in all of our vast domestic and international travel. The "scrams" are a delight also. This is a must visit for breakfast place if you are staying in S Lake Tahoe. Granted, it is a bit out of the way but well worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1travelguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nostalgia, noisey and delicious food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

On a recent visit to So. Lake Tahoe we went to Ernie's coffee shop for breakfast. It is very crowded, but not cramped. The noise level is a little high, but it adds to the adventure. There is nostalgia on the walls and it is fun to look at all the items from back then! The food was delicious. Lots of choices for everyone on the menu, even vegans. The Mimosa's are lovely. A great way to start the day in this beautiful area. I recommend this restaurant for great food, large portions, and a happy atmosphere. The staff is GREAT and so friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RCMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is really like an old-time coffee shop. They still have milk that comes out of a machine, instead of a jug. Wonderful fresh squeeze orange juice. We sat at the counter and watched them make the juice. All the people that work there are very nice. Don't expect anything special, just a great regular breakfast. Although I had the bacon waffle and it was so good. It was so good, we went back the next morning

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank llevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and warm welcoming atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Ernie's consistantly serves up fresh flavorful food! The Paul's omelet is always great for breakfast or any of the burgers for lunch. The service is fast and friendly. You should have at least one breakfast or lunch there when visiting Sourh Lake Tahoe

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweetamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernie's Coffee Shop also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Ernie's Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing