We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge breakfast menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ernie's Coffee Shop

Ernie's Coffee Shop
1207 Emerald Bay Rd, CA 96150
(530) 541-2161
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Stockton, California, Usa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Huge breakfast menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Place was crowded but my wife and I were seated within 10 minutes, and service was prompt.
The breakfast menu had something for everybody from Huevos Rancheros to Belgian Waffle, french toast to egg scrambles with chorizo at really moderate prices.
The food was great and outside seating was really pleasant in a shaded area with warm Tahoe weather.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Upscale Diner, Great Breakfast Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Loved this place for breakfast. Good service and food. There is a vegan section on the menus: I had the french toast - 3 slices of sprouted whole wheat bread dipped in banana soymilk butter - really tasty. I'm allergic to eggs and dairy so it was a real treat to have french toast. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Breakfast is Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Based on a recommendation from a waitress in another restaurant we tried Ernie's. the service was quick and very friendly. There is a large menu with not only breakfast choices but lunch items.
The old standby ham & eggs was tasty and there was plenty on the plate. The coffee was good and the staff was around to make sure you couldn't see the bottom of you're cup. The price of our breakfast was more than reasonable.
On our second visit, the waitress recognized us and gave us the local discount. Most of the tables were locals and the atmosphere was warm and friendly.
You should drop by if you are in the area

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nsoldgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great breakfast place for visitors and locals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Ernie's (and-get thisyou Sesame Street fans- Bert's accross the street) are a great place for fresh coffee and homemade breakfast. Cute place in South Lake Tahoe that's easy to find on hwy 50. Coffee is fresh hot and plentiful. A little pricey but not more than the last Ohio I visited...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrownIdCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae
Level Contributor
143 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Absolutely the Best French Dip EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

went there during my recent road trip to discover they REALLY know how to make a truly great French Dip (along with a nice tossed green salad!) Freshly baked soft roll, thin cuts of well seasoned beef and au jus not salty like most.

the place was full of locals. I was one of the few travelers. so glad i found this great spot. skip the joints along the strip and go here for down home cuisine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lckt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernie's Coffee Shop also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe (California)
Homewood, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Ernie's Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing