We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual Italiano!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Passaretti's Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

Passaretti's Italian Restaurant
Price range: $13 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Passaretti’s Italian Restaurant welcomes you to a privately owned Lake Tahoe restaurant where the daily goals have been the same for 30 years. Using recipes handed down through their Italian family, they have been successful in delighting locals and visitors alike.You’ll discover homemade soups and fresh made-to-order sauces, daily fresh seafood and nightly specials along with some of the most original pasta dishes and Italian favorites in town. Using the highest quality poultry, veal, seafood and produce they aim to please every kind of palate, from vegetarians to carnivores! They also offer a variety of specialty salads and antipasti. Customers can enjoy a complimentary soup or salad with each entrée, along with famous, locally made Truckee River sourdough bread. An inviting wine-bar, romantic booths and quaint patio seating provide the ambiance to fit any desired dining experience. They also are happy to accommodate larger parties in one of their separate rooms. Passaretti’s mission is to provide quality food and excellent service at everyday prices to all who dine with us.Over the last three decades, Passaretti’s has become known for its ability to make any event special for you and your family. In addition to the off-site catering, party trays and in-house parties they so professionally and flawlessly provide, they are now proud to introduce a new outdoor full-service wedding and events center, Al Fresco 1181. Nestled on the eastern edge of the restaurant’s beautifully landscaped property, it is an open-air space designed as a backdrop for any special occasion. Although they specialize in weddings, the venue is also available for birthday celebrations, family reunions or company parties. It can comfortably accommodate parties of 30-65 people with an elegant buffet hand-selected by you and comprised of the home-cooked Italian food Passaretti’s has become known for. They are proud to offer inclusive, yet affordable packages for your event starting at $22.95 per person.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Casual Italiano!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

They serve good food with good service at reasonable prices. They have been in the same location on Emerald Bay Road for decades. Open for lunch and dinner everyday with daily specials.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
264 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Dinner - good food, busy and crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

To be fair, it was New Years Eve which will test any restaurants ability to handle a crowd. This is a small place so we were a group of 7 tucked in a back room so it was very tight. I was at the end so bumped frequently during dinner. Waitress was very busy so service was a bit slow but you can tell its a family owned restaurant. The food was good, we ordered a variety of dishes - we had 3 vegetarians at the table and all were able to find something to eat. We were staying in the Nevada side in a condo by Stagecoach run of Heavenly and so the drive was about 35 minutes. I would like to try it when its not so crazy and sit in an area where I won't get bumped to give it a fair review.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pmazcomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is our second visit here. We love the service, the food and the ambiance. Everyone is very friendly and attentive to the customers. Just went last Saturday evening. Would recommend this to anyone that wants to go someplace that isn't in the hustle and bustle of the main Tahoe stuff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GilroyBikerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Reasonable prices, solid meal and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Ended up eating dinner here twice in our one week stay in South Lake Tahoe. The whole family enjoyed the Italian food. They have a nice variety and both times, the wait staff was good. I love good bread before a meal and they delivered. If the weather is nice, they have a few tables in a covered patio area that I would recommend. My one son raved about the ravioli and I enjoyed a pesto cream sauce with my pasta. Good food at reasonable prices.

Helpful?
Thank JetskiNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Usually Awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Have been coming here for a few years and we look forwards to it now. Well run, by a family it seems. Food and service is usually excellent, ambiance is very nice as well. This is a classic italian restaurant! I really give them points for the made to order fresh bread at the start of every meal, I mean FRESH hot and delicious. Served with 2 small bowls of parmesan and red pepper flakes. Also at the table is a bottle of olive oil and one full of balsamic. Is it just me, or is this heaven. I wish more italian restaurants would provide this. Food is usually very good or excellent. Only downside, and I think this has happened to us two years in a row now, is we called ahead to see if they were still serving late one night. We were told at 8:45 yes, we serve till 9:00 but come on down you will be fine. We arrived at 9:02 this year only to be told sorry, we're closed. Very irritating and I truly recall this situation from last years visit. We call to check, before driving to dine, makes sense right? Other than trying to arrive late, you will enjoy your meal here !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank alohacouple777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passaretti's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe (California)
Homewood, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing