We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet, romantic spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Fiore

Cafe Fiore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet, romantic spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a TINY restaurant - seven tables, small kitchen. The things that set this place apart are its wine list (extensive, and expensive) and it's cozy atmosphere. Prices are pretty steep, but what you get is an intimate setting, attentive service, and very good food. The atmosphere is a mix of resort casual and casual formality - the night we ate dinner there was an equal mix of folks in button down shirts and folks in shorts. Reservations are a must because of the small number of tables.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobCStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    40
    12
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stateline, Nevada
Level Contributor
397 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“This is my comparison restaurant for quality food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I use this restaurant as a comparison for all the other restaurants I review.

The staff is friendly and very attentive. They treat everyone with respect and continue great customer service throughout the meal.

The food continues to be a cut above. We eat here a lot and have tried most everything on the menu and have not been disappointed.

They now have fresh pastas that are infused with various flavors. I have tried them and the pasta is tender and balanced.

The wine list continues to be large and at a reasonable price.

The deserts are very good and I believe all made in-house.

If you are in Tahoe make a reservation here. During the Winter there are only seven tables so it does fill up quickly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small but mighty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a tiny restaurant and intimate is the best word to describe it. The wait staff only has to take care of about seven tables so the service was excellent. The food was excellent as well. Fresh ingredients and great people in a beautiful setting in south Lake Tahoe, doesn't get much better!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wph01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, AZ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal in Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Cafe Fiore is a small restaurant on a quiet street in South Lake Tahoe. They specialize in Italian food. The quality of the food, the presentation, and the artful use of ingredients was very impressive. As an added benefit, you can bring your own wine and they will pour it for you for a modest charge. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CSKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Intimate Fine Dining at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had a wonderful meal with my family over the weekend. Service was good and the food was excellent. A large and varied wine list with some very good vintages. We opted for the Opus One and it did not disappoint. A little on the expensive side but worth the experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fiore also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Cafe Fiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing