We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Tahoe”
Review of Cafe Fiore

Cafe Fiore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chesterton, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best in Tahoe”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I ate here on August 22, 2012 on a recommendation from a complete stranger. I'm so happy that we listened. We wanted great food and good wine for our 15th wedding anniversary. My husband had a seafood pasta dish and I had veal. The food was delicious (I wanted to lick the plate)and the wait staff were fantastic. We asked about some wine and were not disappointed with the suggestion. The wine list is long and the menu offers a good variety for even the most finicky palate. And the white chocolate ice cream is devine (they make it there). The restaurant is small yet cozy, and very welcoming. Reservations are highly recommended. Bon Apetit!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whitewater99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    45
    14
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Props to the sommelier and a good dinner too!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

How did they get carrots to taste so good? Nice service and the sommelier was great, going out of his way to pull something that wasn't on the menu, based on our vague description of what we liked. He was great, and the wine was better! Veal Marsala, venison, chocolate cake and poached pear were right on target. The rest of the wait staff were helpful and enjoyable too. Quite a pleasing evening on the patio.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank METK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
““If you only have one chance to dine out in Lake Tahoe --THIS IS IT!””
Reviewed September 1, 2012

...and we only had one chance. It was a special occasion, our 25th wedding anniversary, & the GM of the Marriott Timber Ridge said this was her favorite LT restaurant. We took her recommendation and were not disappointed.

For the most part finer dining options in LT boil down to 2 choices -- superior food or a stunning lake view. No restaurant qualifies for 5 stars in both. We opted for the food.

Cafe Fiore has no lake view -- or any other for that matter. But, who cares. It's all about the food. It's classified as Italian but the menu (available on line) offers other options. The house specialty is swordfish. It's not on the menu but usually always available (so we were told). The preparation is what makes this unique. The thick, generous slab of SF is lightly breaded & pan seared, then finished in a 350 degree oven. The result is the most moist, delicious SF you have ever eaten. It is finished with a light lemon/butter/caper/& probably other stuff sauce. As was the case with the SF, all protein dishes come with a shared, variety platter of veggies, pasta & potatoes -- yummy, esp the sweet & sour red cabbage. The meal also comes with a salad or soup starter. The included mini loaf of French bread was warm & tasty.

We shared a bottle of Robert Hall (not cheap like the clothier of the past) chardonnay, recommended by the owner, Nick. The wine list is extensive with many reasonably priced selections. We passed on dessert.

This is a very small cafe with 7 tables inside and 7 outside. Reservations are a MUST! We ate outside and it was delightful -- no bugs; no wind; perfect temp. Being outside also dissipates the sound of other diners. The inside is especially charming -- small, yet very cozy.

Leave the kids home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank purplemartinhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food in Intimate Setting”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

It may be a little hard to find, and off the beaten path, but it's worth the search. This restaurant is very small with just a few tables inside and six or seven outside on the deck. It doesn't have a lake view, which motivates the restaurant to focus on the quality of the food. The menu had many choices including appetizers, pasta and entrees. The pasta and entree dishes come with minestrone or a house salad. We had the capellini with meatballs as well as the saltimboca, both very good. We dined with friends who brought wine, the corkage fee is $15 per bottle. We highly recommend it--a small jewel as an alternative to the large casino and chain restaurant fare nearby in Southshore Lake Tahoe.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxandKrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
200 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Small, totally professional, well priced & romantic”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This tiny little restaurant is located on Ski Lift Rd. in the same building and behind Nephele's Restaurant. Enter and park from the side street where you will see their sign. It is hard to describe how a small place like this with tables close together can be called romantic; but it just works in this case. The owner is there to greet you and from that point on, everything happens smoothly, professionally and deliciously. Portions are generous, prep is very nicely done and prices are reasonable. Reservations are a must, even for early diners; but once you are seated, nothing is rushed, yet service and food delivery is expedient. It is always a pleasure to see a job so well done.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAPTAINCUISINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fiore also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Cafe Fiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing