We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort but probably would stay elsewhere next time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We arrived at the Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort hours after the fire started. The staff was attentive despite any concerns they may have had for their own homes that might have been at risk of burning.

The fire certainly limited our ability to enjoy Lake Tahoe -- we were not able to take the lift at Heavenly or visit Emerald Bay. The resort had a lovely pool and nice resaturant.

If the fire hadn't limited our activites, I would have been disappointed in the resort's lack of lakefront beach. If you walked off the resort grounds there really wasn't much to see or do.

We had a spacious two bedroom unit -- with a spectacular view of the air conditioning system. Was stunned that the building had not been planned in a way to have maximized the view of the lake -- or at least to conceal the "plumbing"!

Other reviewers warned of the timeshare pitch -- we were offered a free night's stay a couple times if we attended the pitch but declined without any pressure. For the most part, we steered clear of the concierge so we did not have a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank FormerNJresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 576 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2007

The Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, Sunterra property, was very nice, but it does have its issues.
We booked it through RCI, stayed the last week in June. The weather was great, but the wild fire was only 6 miles away.
The Good: Rooms were clean and roomy. Kitchen was small but well appointed. Bathrooms were big and the jetted tub was a hit with our kids. The pool has an indoor/outdoor portal and the two hot tubs were great. The resort has a wonderful activities center with games and bikes available.
The Bad: The master bedroom had a king size bed, I thought this would be great but I was very disappointed. It was an old mattress, I could feel and hear the springs creak and moan any time I moved. I have never slept on a bed this bad at a time-share property. The other thing was the sofa in the living room was very uncomfortable to sit in or lounge in for any extended period of time. I hope this unit gets updated soon.
The Ugly: The parking situation was a pain. We were charged a daily parking fee regardless if we used the valet or self-park. The self park location was across a busy highway and about a 1/8 of a mile away. We came to do mountain biking and so all our bikes were on the car, the valet proceeded to drive the car into the underground parking, smashing the bikes into the entrance of the building. It's been a week and we have yet to have any contact from their insurance co.
Overall: I would go back because of the great amenities, the spectacular views and proximity to beach, slopes and trails. The resort was nice; however before checking in I would inspect furnishings in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank TERRAFIRMAPOST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

We stayed here for the second time this past February and had a nice time. We had a two bedroom apartment. We there to ski and had fantastic weather.
The rooms had everything we needed. The small kitchen was more than adequate and we cooked most of our meals. The living room had a gas fireplace that was warm. The pool and hot tub were especially nice after a long day of skiing. The staff was helpful but always want you to mention there name if you go to the place they recommend. You can get discount tickets for Heavenly at the hotel. The valet/ ski service is very helpful.
We skiied at Heavenly and Kirkwood. Heavenly has beautiful views but is more crowded on the weekends. I think Kirkwood has the best runs though. It is about 1 hr away.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank neitzjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2007

Sunterra Lake Tahoe has the kindest and bet staff ever.The made our week in Lake Tahoe owesome. The 1 bedroom was great and was like a little apartment. Very clean and an awesome view. Great location and veryclose to Heavenly. Plenty of room and the staff catered to our everyneed.. Cant wait to go back.. The only thing is I wish they would upgrade the beds tothe comfort beds likein the Crown or Marriott. But by no means was it bad.. Great Stay and would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bigkahunatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2007

We had a 1 bedroom with a view of the lake. Huge bathroom and big bedroom with King size bed. Room was very clean and everything was modern and in working order. Due to construction (which we never heard) you have to use valet parking which was a pain or you could park across the street, I used both. The concierge was really helpful, and the timeshare pressure was not that bad compared to some. The pool was nice, happy hour every day at the bar was great. The restaurant was very good too. We actually saw maids washing the walls in the hallway, you know this place is clean. Tahoe is mostly motels or casinos, this is probably the nicest place to stay. You can take the shuttle to the gondola or drive to California Lodge like 2 mins up same street.

Stayed: February 2007
10  Thank Hawksfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2007

Our family stayed for a week after Christmas- we had a ball! The staff was overall friendly, the facilities were clean and well maintained, the rooms were very spacious and the kitchen well equipped. We had a two bedroom lock-off, which worked great for our son and his family- they had their own "suite" with a mini kitchen. There was a Children's Center on-site which was fun for my Grandson. Warning! The pool is indoors, but also feeds from outside so in the winter it is pretty cool. Our favorite staff were the valets- they were always available, helpful, quick and friendly. The concierge desk was a bit disappointing, they did not seem to know much- just gave brochures. Overall though, a great place to stay in the winter; as it is right on the lake, we are going to go back and try it for summer fun!

Stayed: March 2007
8  Thank inthewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

Great Vacation!

Had 7 units for a family reunion/vacation, some 1 Bdr and some 2 Bdr. Location was close to gondola, ski, lake, casinos, shopping, and restaurants.

Resort had GREAT service in all departments, housekeeping, valet, activities, etc. Indoor pool (kid friendly), jacuzzi, and sauna were magnificent! It even has it's own restaurant and bar w/ happy hour!

Highly recommend this resort! We booked through RCI.

TV from FW, TX

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank tvelasquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,084 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
515 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Address: 901 Ski Run Boulevard, CA 96150-8569
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Tahoe (California)
Price Range: $92 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort puts you amid the setting for the vacation of a lifetime. Come each season, you will find different scenery, not to mention a variety of different seasonal activities. It's hard to imagine anything could beat the views and variety you get when you plan your visit to beautiful South Lake Tahoe, California. This is an area built around the reason for the breathtaking panorama, Lake Tahoe, America's largest Alpine lake. From sight to touch, you will revel in the wonders of the sapphire-blue water of the lake, perfectly situated right at the base of the stunning, snow-capped mountain peaks of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Vacatia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tahoe Vacation Hotel Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing