We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Nicest Resorts in Lake Tahoe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the Nicest Resorts in Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

It sure is a scary drive from Reno to Lake Tahoe. I would have been petrified if there had been ice on the roads. I probably will not go back to Lake Tahoe for this reason.
The resort it's self met and exceeded my expectations. We had a very nicely decorated room and from what I've read we didn't even get a new room. We traded our time share week so it cost us practically nothing except for the parking fee which is now $12 a day.
When we checked in we were asked if we wanted a "tour" which meant the Time share spiel, we said No and no ever bothered us again at the resort. Everyone was very friendly, and anxious to assist and suggest things, make reservations or whatever we needed. Request for new towels was promptly fulfilled. I felt they really go out of their way to make the guests happy. (And the staff is just so darn perky it feels phoney)
I loved the valet parking regardless of the cost//tips. (But then again I valet park at the airport too)

We ate at many restaurants in Tahoe and as cited by others, nothing was that great and it was all overpriced. We even went to the Chart House, the service was not good, my husband said the clam chowder was the worst he ever had. Other food at Chart House just Ok. We did have an awesome sunset view there.

At Heavenly Village we ate at Wolfgang Puck Express several times. They had Creme Brulee on the menu and we checked there 4 days in a row and didn't have it. Very disappointing.

The resort has a restaurant and we did have breakfast there at the end of our vacation and it was cooked Perfectly. We meant to go back for dinner but ran out of time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gricha99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    200
    80
    55
    44
See reviews for
231
165
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2009

Stayed at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort from February 20 thru Feb. 27 using a timeshare exchange. ( It would have been expensive if we had not used an exchange.) Resort could have been a hotel! Great location- right on Lake Tahoe, near lots of restaurants & stores and only a mile from the casinos and Heavenly Ski Resort. Our two bedroom unit had a king size bed in one bedroom and 2 queen beds in the other bedroom. Each bedroom had an attached bathroom. Inbetween bedrooms there was a nice size living room with gas fireplace. Unit had a rather small kitchen and dining room area, also a small porch. Best thing about unit: great mattresses and linens. Worst thing: $12 a day parking fee!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VillageGreenGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

Booked three nights in a studio (room 318B) through Diamond Club Membership over Veterans Day weekend. No problems with check-in. Was originally given a room on the bottom floor, but asked for a room on a higher floor and ended up on the third floor near the elevator. As a club member, we had free valet parking. If you're not a club member, it costs $10/day to park. We also received a discount dining card, offering 10 to 20% off at a few participating restaurants, including the hotel restaurant.

Had read review of this property that said the room was just like a hotel room. Although it is similar, we did appreciate the kitchenette. The studio rooms do not have balconies, but we did have a view of the Heavenly mountain. The room was very clean and had two queen sized beds and a small kithenette (fridge, microwave, small sink, and utensils - no stovetop). The room also included a table for two, 24" tv and DVD player. Had stayed in a studio prior to this visit and noticed several upgrades. Upgrades included higher thread count sheets, down comoforters, numerous pillows, and four fluffy towels.

After dropping off our luggage, we went down to the hotel bar. The bar was located just off the lobby, in between a pool table and the small hotel restaurant. Went to enjoy happy hour, but noticed that the bar tables were dirty (nobody seemed to be around to clean up after guests who had used the tables). A very loud group of children and adults occupied the pool table area. Seemed like millions of children running about. We were a bit worried that the weekend would be very noisy due to all the little kids and being near the elevator, but our room was surprisingly quiet. We heard no outside noise whatsoever.

Ate at the hotel restaurant, the Bear Moon Bar & Grill. Corkage fee was $5. Service was excellent, but the food was average. Great menu choices for families with children. They serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Saw people picking up boxed pizzas.

The location of the property is excellent. It's centrally located on South Shores main drag, close to casinos, shopping, and Heavenly Valley. The service (front desk, housekeeping, valet, and restaurant staff) was excellent. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Value, quiet location, service
  • Disliked — Dirty bar tables, noisy pool table area too close to bar
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiwi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

We exchanged an RCI week for a week (9/8/2007-9/15/2007) at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort (LTVR) . This is part of our 2007 Western US Road Trip. We had camped for 7 days in Northern CA on our way back to Lake Tahoe and were ready for civilization. See our earlier reviews.

When we arrived at LTVR we were pleased to discover that it is located beside the Marina in South Lake Tahoe - right on the lake and 5 minute walk from the marina. It is also 1 mile (walking distance) from Stateline, with casinos, hotels, shows, restaurants, etc., and the Heavenly Ski Lift with many shops, boutiques. restaurants, etc.

The check-in was quick & easy. The valet had our van unloaded and everything in our room within 20 minutes - with a smile & "Welcome to Lake Tahoe". Great service.

Our 4th floor, 1 BR Deluxe unit was spotless & decorated with bright colors. The BR had a king bed & TV/DVD and a large window with a view of the mountains (beautiful sunrise!); the Bath had a whirlpool tub, 2 vanities & a large shower; the kitchen, which was small, had very little counter space, but was fully equipped with appliances, utensils & a table. This area extended into the living area which was very comfortable, with TV/DVD, fireplace and small cabinet & counter for storage. There was also a small balcony that opened off of the LR through a glass door and faced the mountains. This was just the right size for the two of us. The place had an airy, bright, & cheerful feel.

We didn't have a washer/dryer in the unit, but there are free laundry rooms (accessed with our room key card), which is convenient and safe. Our unit was the larger side of a lock-off, but we could not hear a sound from the adjoining unit. However, the other unit was a small studio and would be pretty cramped if you were there for a week.

We had 1 problem with our unit - the icemaker overflowed - water all over - but maintenance responded quickly, attempted to repair it, then simply brought a new refrigerator and cleaned up the mess. Problem solved quickly and with a smile.

Our unit faced the mountain instead of the lake, but not everyone can get a lake front unit, and the mountain view was lovely - especially at sunrise. However, we also overlooked the construction of the new addition (40 more units). Naturally, this was noisy from around 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. most days, but it didn't bother us. We are both capable of tuning out background noise - turn on music or TV or simply ignore the sound.

We were not in our unit very much. We spent most of our time exploring Lake Tahoe, and when we were at LTVR we enjoyed the pool and other activities.

The common areas are very bright & welcoming with lots of windows and friendly staff. Everything was spotless and well maintained. The lobby area included fireplaces, couches & chairs, Bear Moon Bar & Grille, Concierge Desk, and computer center (no WiFi), and a small shop & boutique. The heated indoor pool & hot tub area is accessed through doors beside the bar. This pool flows into the outdoor pool via a small channel. Also, there are doors from this room to the outdoor pool & patio. There is a courtyard in the middle of the resort buildings with a grassy area, grilles, picnic tables, and playground - pretty, but we did not spend any time out there. There is an exercise room (we did not use) and a children's activity room that is staffed all day and had daily activities planned for each age group (Princess Party, Treasure hunt, etc.).

The Activities Center had something scheduled for all ages, including the adults (card games, teas, tours, etc.), every day (posted on the lobby bulletin board). We attended the "Welcome Breakfast" in the Bear Moon on Sunday, and the "Wine & Cheese Extravaganza "on Tuesday evening. Both were great fun and good mixers for the guests.

We attended the Sunterra, now Diamond Resorts, presentation. There was no pressure to buy, after we politely told the young man that we did not need any more timeshare weeks or points. This took around 90 minutes, then we went out to explore the area.

The weather was great all week. We drove around the lake several times, exploring historic sites, hiking beautiful mountain trails, and taking in the breathtaking views of Lake Tahoe. We also walked to Stateline & Heavenly Ski Area a couple of times for dining. gambling & shopping. And we booked 2 water activities through the concierge - a Dinner Cruise on the Tahoe Queen paddle wheel, and a Thunderboat Ride.

We had taken the MS Dixie cruise when we were in Zephyr Cove a couple of weeks before. We enjoyed both cruises. This cruise ran a little earlier and arrived in Emerald Bay late in the afternoon so we could see all of the beautiful Vikensholm Castle Estate. The buffet style dinner was served as we headed back toward the Marina, with music & dancing afterward. Lovely evening.

We really enjoyed the Thunderboat Ride by Action Water Sports. We shot across the lake, which is very choppy, at 50 - 60 mph. Exciting, yet very relaxing. We expected it to really be very bumpy, but it was actually fairly smooth (boat design). The driver stopped frequently to tell great stories about the history of many of the houses along the shore of Lake Tahoe. Great afternoon.

About the parking - It isn't free, but was worth the $10.00/day fee. We appreciated not having to fight the congested parking lot, and besides, they always had our van waiting 10 minutes after we called down. About the time it took to get to the entrance from our 4th floor unit.

We have fallen in love with Lake Tahoe. Beautiful crystal clear lake, Sierra Mountain vistas, history, water sports & of course skiing in the winter! What a beautiful place and the pace is slow and easy, but just a mile away you have all of the activity of the Stateline casinos and Heavenly Ski Lift area.

LTVR resort is lovely, and well maintained and has many activities to keep everyone as entertained as they desire. The staff were all extremely friendly and accommodating, even when we had a maintenance problem it was met with a smile and prompt resolution. The concierge and Activities staff were friendly and extremely informative. Check-out was quick & easy. We enjoyed our week here .

We left Lake Tahoe headed South thru the National Parks, across the valley and down the Southern California Coast (camped every night), and arrived in San Diego 9 days later. See our next review.

  • Liked — Location and slow easy pace
  • Disliked — NoWiFi - had to check our email in computer center
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank A Couple of Traveling Seniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2008

We had the use of a 2 bedroom unit. It had everything we could possibly need. It was very comfortable and refreshing. We enjoyed the balcony. There was always somthing going on for all members of the family. The staff was always willing to assist you in any way. We will be going back next year (2009). The Valet service was fantastic. We would call them about 10 minutes prior to needing the car and it was always waiting for us. When we came back from running around, we would drive up to the front door and the valets would park it for us.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jaymilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
327 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

OK, right up front we stayed here on an exchange so we got a view of the parking lot. But y'know, not EVEYRONE is going to get a view of the lake and if those units go to the owners...well, what did you expect? And who would you give the view units to if YOU ran the place?

Seriously, we had a one-bedroom in the renovated wing on the third floor and it was a good stay. VERY quiet, couldn't even hear the family next door in the other side of the lockout. Nicely decorated with flat screen TV's in the living room and bedroom, granite countered kitchen with all appliances. Room decor was a bit dark for our taste. Full length mirror in hall was not well lit; nice shower and Jacuzzi tub, very comfortable bed, lots of storage. Dishwasher was noisy. Maintenance to replace light bulbs was prompt. Housekeeping once during our week-long stay but that was sufficient. Honestly, we only change our bed linens once a week at home!

A bit of a walk to the front lobby but it gave the valet guys time to get the car. The valet staff were all very helpful, generous with directions and suggestions on things to see. We tend to sleep in on vacation, so I guess we missed the busy time and never had to wait more than a few minutes for our car. If you're here on business I could see it being an annoyance, but if you're on vacation...chill!

Pool was a bit small and, of course, noisy with kids. Activities limited.

Overall, a good place to stay if you want to wind down and relax. Lots of great scenery, several good restaurants, and everything's close by.

  • Liked — Quiet, well-appointed, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Walk to lobby, view.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 65oski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

We arrived at LTVR around 1am on Saturday May 24th. Check in was easy and the valet guys seemed to want to help. The room (139B) was clean and very quiet. In the morning, we opened the drapes to our eye level view of car bumbers. With the drapes open, we could see we were in a hole looking up at the parking lot. With the drapes closed, the room was very dark, even with every light in the place on. Horizontal blinds would be nice....bring your own if you want to see your beautiful spouse but don't want others standing in the parking lot to see them. The lighting really is terrible. Don't stay on the first floor if possible. The bed was comfortable for sleeping, but beware of walking around the bed. Since the bed takes up almost half of the studio floor space, you can't avoid walking around it and the wooden frame of the bed sticks out unusually far and the corners are brutal. I have bruises on my knees to prove it. Make good use of the large, thick bath towels (very nice) by sticking them under the mattress and draping them over the corners. Your knees will appreciate this. The rest of the room was nice. Great TV if you are on vacation for that, nice bathroom and a great little mini kitchen.

The ammenities are nice, depending on the other guests using them. We seemed to run into our share of loud, arrogant adults and plenty of young kids with no adult supervision in the pool area. I'm not sure if the resort was doing anything about this or not, we didn't stick around.

Parking is the reason I would probably not return to this resort. The valet guys are overwhelmed during the busy times of the day. They also double as the bell hops, so I would imagine this service is also slow and frustrating. Of the ten or so times I called down 10-15 minutes in advance to get our vehicle , it was ready for us maybe half of the time. The valet/bell hop service is the weak point of their customer service and was VERY frustrating to me. When the service started getting bad/slow, I would tip accordingly. (on top of the automatic $10/day charge for parking) That made the service even worse. It was like being part of a flushing toilet.

The front desk was very helpful in getting us moved into a studio on the third floor after we bought a time share unit. However, we were never able to recover an item we left behind when we changed rooms. After inquiring with the front desk staff for the third time (with no results or visible effort on their part) about how to resolve this issue, I gave up, checked out early and left. I give the front desk staff a low rating only because they were good during the check in/out process. Just don't look to them for too much help.

If possible, skip the high pressure time share sales blitz. The gifts are not worth it. (unless you buy, then you'll get to meet Dave Hurford...great guy)

Far and away, the best part of this resort is the concierge staff. They performed well above our high expectations.

The resort is centrally located in South Tahoe compared to some of the other nice resorts that are on one end of town or the other.

Overall, there is effort towards customer service in some areas and none in others. Maybe you'll have better luck than we did.

  • Liked — Nice location and Great Concierge staff!!!!
  • Disliked — Parking/valet service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank RockyRockyMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#19 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
#16 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Property: Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Address: 901 Ski Run Blvd, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Tahoe (California)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort puts you amid the setting for the vacation of a lifetime. Come each season, you will find different scenery, not to mention a variety of different seasonal activities. It's hard to imagine anything could beat the views and variety you get when you plan your visit to beautiful South Lake Tahoe, California. This is an area built around the reason for the breathtaking panorama, Lake Tahoe, America's largest Alpine lake. From sight to touch, you will revel in the wonders of the sapphire-blue water of the lake, perfectly situated right at the base of the stunning, snow-capped mountain peaks of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tahoe Vacation Hotel Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing