We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Powerless on the 4th of July” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Powerless on the 4th of July”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel was a huge disappointment in all areas. The price was $300 for a studio. I assumed that this price was higher than normal due to the holiday weekend. The room was very small and looked out to a rooftop. The kitchenette was very limited. The room was clean. When we entered, there was no access except through a construction entrance. There was a trailer set up for valet parking. It was complete chaos as the power was out and a very loud generator was running to operate emergency lighting throughout the resort. The check in staff was overwhelmed in every way and frazzled. We arrived at about 3:30pm and did not have any power until almost 8pm. The air conditioning and the television never worked. No hot water without power, of course. The swimming pool was jammed and there were no open chairs anywhere in the public areas. The location of the resort is good in regards to lake access.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony overlooking the lake would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort would like to provide our sincere apologies for the inconvenience of the Friday, July 4th power outage that affected our resort and most businesses along US Hwy 50 through South Lake Tahoe. Unfortunately, one of our preferred alternate sources for energy was a part of the concerns you mentioned. Our emergency generator, which is located in the back parking lot was running to generate power to our buildings so we could limit inconvenience to our guests. We deeply apologize for the disruptive noise you heard but, we feel it is imperative that we continue to be prepared for power outages and winter storms for the safety of everyone here. Crews quickly and safely completed the necessary repairs by 6:30pm that evening and all power was restored. If notified, our front desk and maintenance team would have been more than happy to address any issues that arose from your room such as, the air conditioning unit and television or looked into relocating you to a more preferable unit. We regret not being given the opportunity to address this with you during your stay. There is no shortage of reasons why our resort is great for families traveling with their little ones during the summer season however due to the demand of our suites during the summer months the rates are higher and the amenities can get a bit crowded. It is our sincere hope that you will consider returning to our hotel in the near future, so we can show you the level of hospitality we are known for and allow us the opportunity to turn this negative experience into a positive memorable one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    192
    78
    55
    42
See reviews for
217
159
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Room and location good but resort still under renovation, so if you want a nice room, one bedroom nice with a full kitchen, or a studio with kitchenette(still better than a normal hotel room), but don't need the pool or full restaurant. Then this might work for you. The casino's and heavenly valley resort a mile and a half away. Access to lake rentals / Tahoe Queen large paddle boat and other beach activities lakeside right behind hotel. Several restaurants within walking distance. Renovations should get completed by end of summer in stages for pool and common area---consider calling if you have any concerns.

Room Tip: Had a second floor room -- no noise from above or below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a time-sharing hotel and certainly a great place to stay when in South Lake Tahoe.
Rooms are big, bathrooms are huge. Kitchen has all the gadgets to prepare meals and decor is nothing fancy or obnoxious.
Beds are very comfy and clean.
Great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timibanzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
349 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

My brothers and I stayed here for a couple of days, and we had a great time!

Yes, there is still construction going on, but we knew that going in. We ended up getting a 2-bedroom unit. This was actually 2 separate living areas with access to both quarters from a main hallway entrance. Let me explain better: When you use your key card to enter the rooms from the hallway, you find yourself in a small vestibule room. On one side is the door leading to one room; you still need a key card to enter this room. This room had 2 beds, its own bathroom and a kitchenette. From the vestibule you also have access to the other room (key card required), which is the main component of the 2-bedroom suite. This area is comprised of a full kitchen, living room, bathroom, and a king-size bed. It also had a nice balcony.

Part of the “hassle” of staying at this resort is that it is a timeshare property. Believe me, the mission of the staff, along with making your stay as comfortable as possible, is to get you to buy. Hey, I understand: it’s a business and they are going to sell, sell, sell. As when dealing with any salesperson, if you are not interested, immediately say, “No, Thank you,” in a confident, firm voice and move on. They will not physically stop you. As long as you did not sign up for a tour, you’re not obligated to do anything. If you were lured in by the freebies and did commit yourself to enduring a tour, then you must grin and bear the sales pitch.

This place is right next to the marina, so if you are interested in going for a ride on the Tahoe Queen paddlewheel ship, or renting some jet skis or other water craft, you can walk there right from your room.

The shops at Heavenly Village are also only a mile away, making it an easy 20 minute stroll if you do not wish to drive around town.

Check-out time of 10 AM is pretty early, so be ready for that (I had asked the previous day for a later time and obtained an 11 AM check-out. The key is to ask in advance, and not the morning of your departure).

PS: There is a $20 resort/parking fee PER NIGHT (unless you are a timeshare owner)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhlegmMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
383 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 897 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This resort is large and is located just outside of main downtown. It is centrally located near McDonalds and a shopping center across the street. The rooms were large and very comfortable. I'm not sure if this is available as a hotel or a timeshare. Hopefully the construction is done and the parking is better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

LTVR is a timeshare facility with decent amenities. Located near the lake, and within walking distance to excellent restaurants, the resort is good for a few day getaway. Rooms are functional with small kitchen and eating areas off a living room. The only downside is that the rooms are subject to external noise from the hallways and the outside. Also, it is wise to avoid the sales people who are pushing hard the timeshare aspect of the resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeasonTraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Ca
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have been owners at this resort since it became part of Diamond Resorts and was Embassy Suites. WE are here every August and have learned how to avoid the sales staff. The sales people that have been here for a few years know me and my wife by name and greet us as soon as we arrive. No hassle but a quicky pitch. If you are to go to a presentation you can usually walk away with lots of perks. Keep saying no until they hit you with the good stuff. Enough of that, the regular staff is very helpful and Rob the bartender is the best. Always great to visit with him while waitinf=g for the room to be readied. We always take a 2 bedroom lockout and have only been disappointed once. Very comfortable beds and furniture, flat screen TV in every room, teeny kitchen but thta's ok. If you like to walk you can walk to the casinos

Room Tip: Upper floors with lake view is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HZPZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#10 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#20 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahoe Beach and Ski Club
Tahoe Beach and Ski Club
#6 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Property: Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Address: 901 Ski Run Blvd, CA 96150-8569
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Tahoe (California)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort puts you amid the setting for the vacation of a lifetime. Come each season, you will find different scenery, not to mention a variety of different seasonal activities. It's hard to imagine anything could beat the views and variety you get when you plan your visit to beautiful South Lake Tahoe, California. This is an area built around the reason for the breathtaking panorama, Lake Tahoe, America's largest Alpine lake. From sight to touch, you will revel in the wonders of the sapphire-blue water of the lake, perfectly situated right at the base of the stunning, snow-capped mountain peaks of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tahoe Vacation Hotel Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing