We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A very relaxing & fun place for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
320 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A very relaxing & fun place for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My family & I knew going in that there would be construction, so that didn’t bother us. We used the parking lot across the street instead of the valet parking (my choice), which was a minor inconvenience but no big deal. We had a 2-bedroom unit which came with a full kitchen which definitely was a plus because kids don’t always want to go out to eat so it’s nice to be able to prepare some food right in the room.

This place is right next Lake Tahoe so that make it quite convenient! We rented some paddle boats and had a wonderful time on the water! We were even more daring one day and tried Parasailing! It was fantastic floating above the pristine lake, and it was a much calmer ride than I would have expected! Kids loved every minute of it!

We hope to come again in the future when all the construction is finished!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhlegmMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    183
    76
    55
    41
See reviews for
209
150
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is a timeshare resort and we stayed in a studio room, having exchanged our timeshare week. The room was clean and comfortable with small sink, fridge, hob, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. The room wasn't particularly big but it was ok, though somewhat dark due to the window not being very large and the structure of the roof cutting of some of the light. We were more fortunate than a previous reviewer in that our window faced towards the back (partial view of lake and mountain) so we did not have any construction noise. The main gripe we had is that there is no way to avoid the $20 parking charge. They said we could self-park, but it was the same price as the valet parking. I couldn't see how we could self-park in any case. We looked for the 'free parking' across the road mentioned by a previous reviewer, but all parking had big signs with limited customer only parking and warnings of being towed. The valet staff were pleasant and helpful.
The exchange certificate said there was construction going on. What it didn't say was that the fitness centre and pool were not in use. WiFi at the resort costs $7 per day. They were doing something with the television cable so for a few days the tv kept cutting out. Near the lobby there is a bar/restaurant. The first time we went to the bar, the service and the food was quite good. A few days later we went there again and the service was reluctant and the food was awful. I think they weren't interested because the resort in general was quite quiet, being out of season. I had a phone call from a timeshare salesperson a couple of days before we arrived and it was difficult to get off the phone without being rude, but upon arrival there was just a small timeshare pitch and then they left us alone. If we go back to South Lake Tahoe in the future, I think we would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jollyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels

Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We did not like the high pressure to take the tour, salesman was not pushy however. Wish we had a nicer room with a view. The lake and mountains around the lake are are among the most breathtaking we have seen in the US. Took the evening dinner boat ride. Food was excellent and the entertainment very good. We also had a rental car and drove around the whole west side of the lake. More oohs and aahs.

There wasn't a lot to do (shopping or restaurants) unless you want to gamble at the casinos. That was evidently the major entertainment. We didn't want to do that, so we watched some dvd's we brought in the evenings. You can also borrow from the hotel's selection.

Room Tip: We asked for an upper floor room close to the elevators (away from the construction) and with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watrkulor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Under Construction!!! Do I need to say more? What a disappointment. We traded our beautiful time share for this? No amenities what’s so ever. No pool, no spa, no exercise room and by the way, you are forced to use valet parking and pay $20 per night for parking. Our view was the parking lot, yes the noisy, ugly parking lot. I would avoid this place for a year of more. Maybe by then they will have it together. So Sad!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kandi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review for our resort. As our valued guest, your satisfaction is one of our primary concerns and we truly regret hearing about the displeasure you had during your recent stay and that we did not meet your expectations. While approaching the end of our multi-year refurbishment projects, some areas of the resort are undergoing renovation at this time. The renovations are expected to be completed in July 2014. As such, we sincerely apologize that some of our lake view accommodations are unavailable until then. Valet parking has been arranged for all guests as self- parking will not be available during this time. While there is a valet parking charge of $20 per day, this fee still remains the lowest parking fee in town at related resorts and visited venues in the immediate area. We truly appreciate your understanding as we are working diligently to limit any inconvenience. We can assure you that we do advise our guests of the remodeling project and of the parking information, on our website or when you are booking. We also try to notify our exchange and rental partners, so that they can advise their customers ahead of time to make an informed decision. Please know that the fitness center and pool/spa area will be closed from October 2013 through July 2014. We have made arrangements with the South Lake Tahoe Recreation and Swim Complex, Kahle Community Center, Sierra Athletic Club for all of our guests to use the fitness center and pool. This information is also provided on our website. We like would like to welcome you back to our resort in the future and hope you will enjoy our enhancements the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We are Diamond Resort timeshare owners. Some of previous Diamond experiences have not been overwhelming with too frequent relegation to outdated rooms with worn furnishings. This time we thoroughly enjoyed the stay. In spite of major repairs, we were in a newly refurbished unit (a 2 bedroom lock off )that was excellent. The valet service that handled the parking in lu of self parking not available because of construction did very well. The property is situated on Lake Tahoe. We had purchased a "sampler package" on a previous stay at another property (an apparent "exception" since we were already minimal owners that had refused to buy more "points"). Thus we were obligated to sit through an "update". We did not buy any additional points this time either, but the Diamond representatives were not overly pushy and in your face, a very good change. The attitude of all personnel at the resort is excellent. I will have to revisit my feelings about a "pyramid scheme" timeshare set up based on our positive visit here.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We are not Diamond Owners...with that said...my review will not be that great. When we were in Sedona - we purchased the sampler package because we had some hesitations about purchasing there program. Well, when we booked our Lake Tahoe get away - we thought we were going to get a "Diamond" room, not an exchange room. We got an exchange room....the room was nice, out dated but nice. The bed was HARD and uncomfortable that I was aching to go home to my bed. The couch was worn down and when you sat on it you "rolled" to the middle very uncomfortable and the two easy chairs were no different. The sitting accomedations were very, very POOR. Very hard to get comfortable. The reason I say we were in an exchange room is because when we went on our Mandatory tour and hard sell presentation of the property, when we were shown a one bedroom room I had asked why does this room look different than the room we are in? The presenter said because we treat our Diamond owners better than non owners and sample package people. That blew me away...shouldn't you treat every guest the same? She said NO, why would we? Our owners come first before everyone else. My husband and I knew Diamond was not the timeshare people for us.

When we arrived in our room we noticed trash on the balcony - my husband investigated and it was a bag full of dirty diapers...I called the front desk and it took a full day and two phone calls before someone came. When they came the attitude was " it's not my job, that housekeepings job". I don't care who's job it is...just take care of the trash. When housekeeping came to clean our room, all they did was fix the bed with the same sheets (not new clean sheets) the same sheets, exchange the towels and took out the trash. I think they may have vaccumed. I am not used to this lack of service. We are a Hilton Points owner with RCI as my exchange company and we have never received accomedations like this or service like this when booking in an RCI exchange resort. I am sorry we purchased a Diamond Sampler....Not worth the money we paid or the poor service and attitude of being a NON Diamond Owner.

Lake Tahoe is a beautiful place - we will be going back, we will NOT be staying at a Diamond Resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank temkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This resort is very well situated for most amenities easy to find and right next to the lake. It is a large resort with swimming pools restaurants and bar. It has valet parking. At the moment they are doing some major updating work to the outside buildings but although you see the workmen it did not interfere with our stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Although we feel this resort is mainly a winter resort it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#16 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#20 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#7 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Property: Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Address: 901 Ski Run Blvd, CA 96150-8569
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Tahoe (California)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort puts you amid the setting for the vacation of a lifetime. Come each season, you will find different scenery, not to mention a variety of different seasonal activities. It's hard to imagine anything could beat the views and variety you get when you plan your visit to beautiful South Lake Tahoe, California. This is an area built around the reason for the breathtaking panorama, Lake Tahoe, America's largest Alpine lake. From sight to touch, you will revel in the wonders of the sapphire-blue water of the lake, perfectly situated right at the base of the stunning, snow-capped mountain peaks of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tahoe Vacation Hotel Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing