We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resort ok, lake unusually beautiful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Resort ok, lake unusually beautiful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We did not like the high pressure to take the tour, salesman was not pushy however. Wish we had a nicer room with a view. The lake and mountains around the lake are are among the most breathtaking we have seen in the US. Took the evening dinner boat ride. Food was excellent and the entertainment very good. We also had a rental car and drove around the whole west side of the lake. More oohs and aahs.

There wasn't a lot to do (shopping or restaurants) unless you want to gamble at the casinos. That was evidently the major entertainment. We didn't want to do that, so we watched some dvd's we brought in the evenings. You can also borrow from the hotel's selection.

Room Tip: We asked for an upper floor room close to the elevators (away from the construction) and with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watrkulor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    197
    80
    55
    43
See reviews for
229
161
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Under Construction!!! Do I need to say more? What a disappointment. We traded our beautiful time share for this? No amenities what’s so ever. No pool, no spa, no exercise room and by the way, you are forced to use valet parking and pay $20 per night for parking. Our view was the parking lot, yes the noisy, ugly parking lot. I would avoid this place for a year of more. Maybe by then they will have it together. So Sad!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kandi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review for our resort. As our valued guest, your satisfaction is one of our primary concerns and we truly regret hearing about the displeasure you had during your recent stay and that we did not meet your expectations. While approaching the end of our multi-year refurbishment projects, some areas of the resort are undergoing renovation at this time. The renovations are expected to be completed in July 2014. As such, we sincerely apologize that some of our lake view accommodations are unavailable until then. Valet parking has been arranged for all guests as self- parking will not be available during this time. While there is a valet parking charge of $20 per day, this fee still remains the lowest parking fee in town at related resorts and visited venues in the immediate area. We truly appreciate your understanding as we are working diligently to limit any inconvenience. We can assure you that we do advise our guests of the remodeling project and of the parking information, on our website or when you are booking. We also try to notify our exchange and rental partners, so that they can advise their customers ahead of time to make an informed decision. Please know that the fitness center and pool/spa area will be closed from October 2013 through July 2014. We have made arrangements with the South Lake Tahoe Recreation and Swim Complex, Kahle Community Center, Sierra Athletic Club for all of our guests to use the fitness center and pool. This information is also provided on our website. We like would like to welcome you back to our resort in the future and hope you will enjoy our enhancements the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels

Midlothian, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We are Diamond Resort timeshare owners. Some of previous Diamond experiences have not been overwhelming with too frequent relegation to outdated rooms with worn furnishings. This time we thoroughly enjoyed the stay. In spite of major repairs, we were in a newly refurbished unit (a 2 bedroom lock off )that was excellent. The valet service that handled the parking in lu of self parking not available because of construction did very well. The property is situated on Lake Tahoe. We had purchased a "sampler package" on a previous stay at another property (an apparent "exception" since we were already minimal owners that had refused to buy more "points"). Thus we were obligated to sit through an "update". We did not buy any additional points this time either, but the Diamond representatives were not overly pushy and in your face, a very good change. The attitude of all personnel at the resort is excellent. I will have to revisit my feelings about a "pyramid scheme" timeshare set up based on our positive visit here.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We are not Diamond Owners...with that said...my review will not be that great. When we were in Sedona - we purchased the sampler package because we had some hesitations about purchasing there program. Well, when we booked our Lake Tahoe get away - we thought we were going to get a "Diamond" room, not an exchange room. We got an exchange room....the room was nice, out dated but nice. The bed was HARD and uncomfortable that I was aching to go home to my bed. The couch was worn down and when you sat on it you "rolled" to the middle very uncomfortable and the two easy chairs were no different. The sitting accomedations were very, very POOR. Very hard to get comfortable. The reason I say we were in an exchange room is because when we went on our Mandatory tour and hard sell presentation of the property, when we were shown a one bedroom room I had asked why does this room look different than the room we are in? The presenter said because we treat our Diamond owners better than non owners and sample package people. That blew me away...shouldn't you treat every guest the same? She said NO, why would we? Our owners come first before everyone else. My husband and I knew Diamond was not the timeshare people for us.

When we arrived in our room we noticed trash on the balcony - my husband investigated and it was a bag full of dirty diapers...I called the front desk and it took a full day and two phone calls before someone came. When they came the attitude was " it's not my job, that housekeepings job". I don't care who's job it is...just take care of the trash. When housekeeping came to clean our room, all they did was fix the bed with the same sheets (not new clean sheets) the same sheets, exchange the towels and took out the trash. I think they may have vaccumed. I am not used to this lack of service. We are a Hilton Points owner with RCI as my exchange company and we have never received accomedations like this or service like this when booking in an RCI exchange resort. I am sorry we purchased a Diamond Sampler....Not worth the money we paid or the poor service and attitude of being a NON Diamond Owner.

Lake Tahoe is a beautiful place - we will be going back, we will NOT be staying at a Diamond Resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank temkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This resort is very well situated for most amenities easy to find and right next to the lake. It is a large resort with swimming pools restaurants and bar. It has valet parking. At the moment they are doing some major updating work to the outside buildings but although you see the workmen it did not interfere with our stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Although we feel this resort is mainly a winter resort it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster, ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at this timeshare condo in August. We are a family of four with an 8 year old and a 10 year old.This facility used to be an Embassy Suites. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. The kids used the pull out bed in the living room. The one bedroom suites only have one bathroom. We have been in many one bedroom suites that have two bathrooms. This unit seemed a little small compared to other one bedroom suites.
The bad: There was a lot of construction going on. The construction closed the parking lot requiring the use of valet parking. We knew this before going, but the daily $16 adds up when you are there for a week (although the valet people were very nice and very quick). You must also pay $20 for WiFi access for EACH device. We have four devices and we were not willing to pay $80 for WiFi that most hotels/condo's offer for free. Also, a staff member warned us that the WiFi was spotty and not worth paying for. Our cell provider (Sprint) was also spotty. This made it a little difficult to get on line to check emails, weather, news, etc. The "American Fire" was starting to effect the air quality in Lake Tahoe and it would have been nice to be able to read the news on our devices. The resort also hard sells it's timeshare presentations to guests. It ties the presentation to other concierge services-something I have seen at other resorts but I do not think it is appropriate.
The good:Everyone was very friendly. Front desk, valet, bell service, activity center were all friendly. The activities center for kids was great. Kids can pick out things to paint (like cars, piggy banks, etc.) You can make gel candles and all sorts of projects. Parents can do the projects too. Nice bonding with the kids. One day the smoke from the fire was so bad we spent a lot of time in the activity center. You can also borrow books and movies from here to take back to your room. The swimming pool is indoor and outdoor. There is an opening you swim through to go inside/outside. The kids thought this was cool. There are also two hot tub's. One inside and one outside. Also a sauna and a workout room.
The beach is right next door. It is a small public beach where the Tahoe Queen docks. There is also a section of beach where jet ski's, boat rentals and other "toys" are available. The adjacent beaches are private but you are allowed to walk through them, just don't try to hang out there. They will chase you away.
Our experience here was a good one and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virtual_Explorer_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

For anyone experienced with the Marriott or Hyatt systems, this resort may be a sad dissappointment. I have two positive comments about our recent stay for which we traded a Marriott week: The personnel are friendly, courteous and (important) genuine. And, the on-site restaurant/lounge is very nice, not pricy and accommodating. Now for the bad news: Checking in and out is tedious because one has to pull into a very confined portico area accessing the lobby. During peek times the experience is a struggle. You must be attended by a greeter to assist you with your baggage - parking is remote and via valet. The SNAFU is that you need to actually check in and be issued a parking pass before an attendant can be "entrusted" with your precious vehicle with stuff you need once you get settled in your room, but forgot to have the attendant bring to your room with the other stuff. That is, once your car is whisked away, there is no easy access to it. By the way, for the "courtesy" valet parking, you are charged $16 per day. Then, of course, when the valet delivers the vehicle once or twice or more each day, you kinda feel the need to tip, so daily parking can be a bit pricy not to mention mucho inconvenient. Second issue: We asked for a guest parking pass for the couple saying with us. The reply was that they really needed the guests to check in because specific vehicle identification was required - another hassle because they arrived after we did. Then, for a reason never clearly explained, the room key for the guest was issued for one day only. We assumed it would be for the whole week of our stay. This caused them to be "stranded" the following day when we dropped them off at the resort so they could go to the room and freshen-up while we went to the store and run a few quick errands. Returning an hour later, there they were sitting in the lobby because their card key was disabled and staff would not reissue another key card without me verifying they were the guests that had actually occupied the suit the day before. Good Grief! Then there is housekeeping service. We were to stay a week with one courtesy housekeeping service offered on the fourth day. OK - easy to live with. But we made a mistake and misread the schedule thinking the service was the third day. SO, the third day we did not hang up our towels for the next day use, but left them on the bathroom floor thinking they would be replaced that day. Returning in the afternoon and noticing no service, we called housekeeping and were courteously informed of our mistake. We replied: Fair enough. Our error. We'll swap you the service; i.e. forget the housekeeping service the following day, but just replace the towels today. They agreed, but no towels were delivered. Fortunately, there are two small onsite laundry rooms, so we laundered the towels ourselves with a fair amount of jockeying for position at the two washing machines and two dryers. OK. There is plenty more, such as fitness room very small and crowded for the number of rooms in the facility; several machines not functioning properly, etc. In any event, you get the picture. We've stayed in numerous Marriott resorts as we own two 2-BR week shares. I would rate Marriott overall a 9.5 out of 10. This Diamond International facility a generous 6.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dennis r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
#16 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Property: Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Address: 901 Ski Run Blvd, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Tahoe (California)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort puts you amid the setting for the vacation of a lifetime. Come each season, you will find different scenery, not to mention a variety of different seasonal activities. It's hard to imagine anything could beat the views and variety you get when you plan your visit to beautiful South Lake Tahoe, California. This is an area built around the reason for the breathtaking panorama, Lake Tahoe, America's largest Alpine lake. From sight to touch, you will revel in the wonders of the sapphire-blue water of the lake, perfectly situated right at the base of the stunning, snow-capped mountain peaks of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tahoe Vacation Hotel Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing