We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, a work in progress”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just spent a week here in a studio unit using RCI points. We had a very nice first floor room (130 B) with 2 queen beds and a mini kitchen that was better equipped then we had expected. My wife said the beds and sheets were the nicest resort beds she had ever slept on. The flat screen TV received over 50 channels and there was also a DVD player and clock radio with an iPhone charger available.
There is construction going on at the resort (we did our homework and knew about it in advance). It proved to be a very minor inconvenience. The valet people were great, really hustling to keep things moving (the cars are kept in a secure location about a block away) but never forgetting to ask if we needed directions. They even recommended a small Italian restaurant down the street which was very good and inexpensive after having had several expensive beachfront meals.
As with all timeshares, following check-in, we were pitched to attend a "welcome breakfast (usually a timeshare pitch)." Having been through this before at other timeshares we quickly declined and were never bothered again.

The outdoor pool area is a bit small but yet to be remodeled so that may improve. There is an indoor pool for use during Winter months. You are also right at Ski Run Bl. and the beach is less then 5 minutes away. So do you really want to be at the pool?

There is also a full service bar with a limited draft beer selection but additional craft beers available in the bottle. We tried the restaurant for a quick meal while catching a pre-season NFL game at the bar. My fish and chips meal was very good, but my wife's half chicken was the smallest half chicken we had ever seen. We were not sure if it was half a game hen or maybe just half a chick. We didn't use them, but laundry rooms are available on all upper floors.

All-in-all we really enjoyed our stay, the new rooms are very, very nice and we have already booked 2 one bedroom units for next summer, planning to bring family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertcvanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 580 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for a week with friends..we exchanged our Diamond Resort property in Maui through RCI. Check in was smooth and hassle free. We had a 2 bedroom lock out on the 4th floor. I don't think it was recently renovated but it was fine. The beds and pillows were super comfortable, plenty of storage space, very big shower (water pressure was fine) and the kitchen was adequate. Our balcony was over the roof and A/C equipment. Even though we had a partial view of the lake, it was quite noisy out there. The construction going on did not bother us at all.

I was under the impression that if we parked our car ourselves across the street, then parking would be free. Not true. $112.00 upon checkout. WE walked back and forth all week to avoid this charge, only to find out we could have used valet for the same price...doesn't make sense. Guess we are paying rent for the garage. Being that we are in the year of 2013 it would make sense to have wi-fi. Huge drawback. The pool was really small and not in the best location right next to the restaurant. I heard there are plans to renovate the pool...that would be good. Cups in the bathroom would be nice also.

We went to the presentation. Already owning at a Diamond Resort property, we were told it was an "update". No...it wasn't.....lol.....it was just another salesman looking to sell us more. We were firm and were out in under an hour and received a $75 Visa gift card.

This hotel has a great location..you can walk to many places. So much to do in the area and just minutes from Nevada and the casinos. We loved the marina, beach and ate at Riva's 3 times. The restaurant at the hotel had pretty good food too, the drinks were so-so. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: Get rooms up high...5th or 6th floor facing lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC123Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I co-hosted a military reunion for 130 people and headquartered it at the Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel. We used approximately 75 room. It could not have worked out any better. The rooms were excellent, the staff was amazing, even the breakfast and happy hour were excellent. After working on the reunion for two years, we wanted it to be very special and thanks in large measure to the hotel, it was. All I can say is I'd do it again at the Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel in a minute.

From the doormen to the front desk to the cleaning staff to the bar tenders, housekeeping and wait staff, thanks a million! You helped make this a very special event!

Room Tip: The higher rooms are quieter than the lower ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HighwaymanJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Own a Marriott Timeshare and traded for this place through Interval. Worst mistake in my timeshare life of 12 years. Made my reservation 9 months ahead of time and really looked forward this week as the last stop of our 50 day road trip through the U.S. and Canada. Our first assigned room was on the second floor directly above a construction area since they are doing major renovations (not mentioned when I made the reservations). There was a green protective netting covering our balcony and saws and hammers going wild. There was no mention by the guy who checked us in that construction was directly outside our room. I went to the front desk and asked for a different room. I was told they did have one more room available. I took it since it was away from the construction. We moved our stuff to the new room to discover that it was set up for handicap people. That meant a bed only 1 foot off the ground, only one bathroom sink to make room for a wheel chair and several bars around the toilet and shower. All this is good if needed but we didn't need it and wasn't advised our room was for handicap people. We have made the difficult decision to cut our 7 day stay to 2 days. I will not be willing to trade my Marriott or Westin Timeshares for a Diamond Resort again. My Marriott Residence Inn was better than this place by a long ways.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our 2nd time to this Diamond Resort (we are owners). Booked a 1-bedroom for me and my 13-year old son for a 4 day father-son trip. When we were here a few year ago, rooms were a bit outdated, but the one we got this time was much nicer. Previously parking was already an issue by early evening. Because they were renovatin, now there was NO parking. One could either spend a lot of change tipping the valet or self-park across the [busy] street—either way was chaotic and inconvenient.

Likes
* Clean room, clean carpet.
* Renovated room with nice décor, granite counters, tiled showers and backsplash.
* Full kitchen, including oven, blender, toaster.
* Very comfortable bed.
* Quiet room.
* Very large in-room safe.
* Large bathroom.
* Free washer and dryer at end of the halls (but see dislikes).
* Exercise room, pool, kids program (which we did not use).
* Next to Ski Run Marina and shops, if you like to be in the middle of action.

Neutral
* Above average pillows. At least it was not feather.
* Flat screen TVs but very few HD channels.
* Nice looking furniture but uncomfortable.
* Nice A/C but loud.
* Inconvenience of parking situation due to construction, but understandable.
* No recycling bins in room or lobby, but many hotels do not.

Dislikes
* At all Diamond Resorts, Wi-Fi is through AT&T—mediocre speed (1-2 Mbps) at best and very expensive ($40/week) for only for ONE device! At least give owners free Wi-Fi!
* Shower flow was misty, not very powerful.
* Only got 1 pack of dishwashing detergent for 1 load, so bring your own or buy from resort store. We always run the DW before we leave to help out housekeeping. But I can see people leaving dirty dishes for housekeeping to do, to avoid having to buy more detergent. How much money does the resort really save in that case?
* Washer only uses liquid high-efficiency detergent, but we were given laundry POWDER. Huh?
* Waited over 20 minutes for valet at checkout (7:30 am), so finally carried our stuff downstairs because no self-serve luggage cart available.

Summary
Overall a good stay and the few minor flaws were no big deal. But even if all else were perfect, I could never give Diamond Resorts 5 stars because Wi-Fi is always SO EXPENSIVE.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KermitNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Having read some of the reviews, we were a little apprehensive about this hotel, our stay having been booked in the UK the previous November. Check in was smooth and welcoming and we had a remodeled room, which was lovely. Immediately after check in we were directed to the concierge for our welcome pack. Fortunately a reviewer had mentioned the timeshare sales technique and we were forearmed, just as well.

We were bombarded with information by a charming man who recommended the Tahoe Queen cruise as a 'must do' at $48 each, HOWEVER he could give it to us for free if we took up the offer of a guided tour of the resort, as they has a special early sailing and amazingly there were only 2 spaces left.
We declined so he offered us a $100 to spend at the resort, which we also didn't take up. We were left alone after that.
The Tahoe Queen cruise is great and it is a dollar cheaper if you buy tickets from the office over the way.

Aside from the timeshare thing, it is a great location, the staff were helpful and the food was fine at prices you'd expect in such a place. They did hit us with a $14 car park charge though which wasn't mentioned. We stayed 3 nights and there was no housekeeping, not a problem for us though.


Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pinnerpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I took the kids to Tahoe to stay for the weekend prior to the start of the new school year. We chose, through a friend, to stay at The Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort. The facility is upgrading and some wings are under construction. Looks like their improving the resort quite a bit. Overall the service was fantastic, the rooms were clean and classy, and it was VERY central in location to everything we wanted to do. Here however, is the 'but' clause: I would have given the place a 4-4.5 star rating if it hadn't been for the "90 minute presentation" that turned into a high pressure sales pitch. When it was clear to the sales staff that we were not interested in purchasing at the time, their demeanor changed drastically and the high pressure sales 'closer' came in. It wasn't pleasant.

Room Tip: When they place you in the back area by the construction, you are WAY back. Try and get a room clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrpFrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#16 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
524 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
904 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Address: 901 Ski Run Boulevard, CA 96150-8569
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Tahoe (California)
Price Range: $105 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort puts you amid the setting for the vacation of a lifetime. Come each season, you will find different scenery, not to mention a variety of different seasonal activities. It's hard to imagine anything could beat the views and variety you get when you plan your visit to beautiful South Lake Tahoe, California. This is an area built around the reason for the breathtaking panorama, Lake Tahoe, America's largest Alpine lake. From sight to touch, you will revel in the wonders of the sapphire-blue water of the lake, perfectly situated right at the base of the stunning, snow-capped mountain peaks of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tahoe Vacation Hotel Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing