We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Visalia, California, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted immediately by the valet staff. We checked in with the front desk and were in our room in less than 10min.
The remodel is great. We had the smallest, most basic room and it was beautiful. Kitchen had everything, including a fridge, microwave, coffeepot, range, and all the needed cookware. Very nice linens and room amenities, although the iPhone clock radio volume didn't work.
The pool, which was heated, was both inside and outside with two hot tubs. All were clean, if not a little over done with chlorine. There were fire pits and several new and very nice BBQ Grills for folks to use.
The staff was nice, always pleasant and very curious.
I'm not exactly positive about this, but I am almost certain I could smell cinnamon while walking throughout the resort, very nice touch.
Now this place is a time share resort, so if you are not a owner/member, as we are, they are going to try and convince you to attend a 90min seminar. If you're not interested, tell 'em "Nope, Thanks anyway!" but if you have an hour and a half to kill, they give you 2 free nights and $75 Visa Card just for attending, even if you're already a owner/member.

All-in-all, we'll be back. Maybe next time in the winter for the snow activities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction. Ours was, and we slept in perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jp C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPena, General Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review here on tripadvisor. I am happy to read that you had an excellent stay and review on our resort.

We are working our hardest and will not stop. Our paramount goal is to ensure that all who walk through our doors have the best possible vacation experience.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to your quick return.

I am always available to our guests: michael.pena@diamondresorts.com


Yours in Hospitality,

Michael Pena
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    178
    75
    54
    40
See reviews for
202
146
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Refurbished suites are excellent with more than adequate high quality furnishings, fittings and equipment. Plenty of space for storage, clothes and living in these suites, which made a perfect venue for meeting up with our family. We used the kids club and the pool a lot. We used the bar a bit, including its patio which made a super spot for a sunny read of the book and a tea/coffee. Most staff (and the workmen) seemed very courteous and helpful. Avoid the timeshare pep-talk, though!
Evidence of the major works is everywhere, but when in our suites or in the bar, you couldnt tell. Location overlooking the Blue Lake is wonderful. We ate in town or self-catered, thus cannot comment on the restaurant.
When the refurb is completed, this would warrant an Excellent overall rating.

Room Tip: If unrefurbished room is offered, try to get a refurbished one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPena, General Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review on your stay with us here at the Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort. We understand that our guests are on vacation and we have big expectations to fulfill. Coupled with a mega renovation you have my personal commitment that we will work on all parameters to meet your expectations and meet our renovation completion deadline.

It looks like you had a great time and enjoyed the resort and local area. My personal thank you to your for making your reservation months in advance to secure your Lake View unit. With only 16 lake view units it is tough to fulfill all requests. However, we will always look our hardest to ensure we get you the best unit in the house.

My team and I are committed to ensuring you have the best possible vacation experience.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to your next stay with us. See you soon.

I am always available to our guests: michael.pena@diamondresorts.com


Yours in Hospitality,

Michael Pena
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We checked in to the resort when we finally got someone to get our car, we checked in, went to OUR room only to find people living there. Went back to desk, Got another room, WAIT Lady there is not out yet. She finally leaves, we are going to settle in when the bell hop shows up with our bags, FOL LOWED BE 2 WOMEN WHO RENTED THIS ROOM!!! Total bull shi# No wifi in rooms, $16 a day for parking EVEN THOUGH WE OWN HERE!!!! We will NEVER stay here at all, not on a bet....

Room Tip: stay at another location, rooms are on the small side, no wifi, $16 a day parking, wrong rooms! At...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tim0icu812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPena, General Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at our resort. Please accept my apologies for the events during your stay with us. You are correct and we completely understand. We have had some new hire team members working on our desk and with anything new this was clearly a mistake. We have corrected the issue with our team by communicating the importance of following our check in process as we train on.

I am sorry to hear that you will not be back to our resort even though you own here with us. If there is anything I can do to assist you in changing your mind please do not hesitate to contact me. You do pay a yearly maintenance fee that covers your parking fee if you are using your deeded week. The daily parking fee of $16.00 is for non-members and cars over the free amount for Club Members and Traditional Owners using their Use Time. The parking fee does apply to owners when they use bonus time. This was accepted in the terms and conditions when owners purchased since day one of their ownership. The Wi-Fi situation is free to Loyalty Members and we have 3 free kiosks in our business center ready for you to use.

I thank you for your business and ownership with us at the resort. I wish you all the best on your travels. Being that you are owners with us we hope to see you back soon as you are paying a yearly maintenance fee and you should consider using it.

I am always available to our guests: michael.pena@diamondresorts.com


Yours in Hospitality,

Michael Pena
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels

Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Be warned, the hotel is being extended this summer, so the car park is now a building site. Work starts at 8.0 am so no laying in bed if your room is anywhere near it. Only valet parking & so you have to pay & tip to get the car parked. No free WiFi. Our room was not cleaned during our 2 night stay, apparently the norm, but we were not told that until we checked out. Our room was fine, very nice large bathroom, small kitchenette. Most of this hotel is time share, so if you are not in that group one feels like second class guests.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Walmeractually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPena, General Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
I appreciate your time in writing this review and sharing with all on trip advisor. Yes, you are correct when you say we are in construction. We have a full interior and exterior renovation that is underway and expected to finish in late 2014.

Guests that stay with us for four days or more will receive a mid week tidy service. We are very fortunate for all who walk through our doors. You will always be treated with world class service while staying at our resort.

I am confident that your next stay with us will exceed your expectations with us. I thank you for your business and we look forward to your next stay with us.

I am always available to our guests: michael.pena@diamondresorts.com


Yours in Hospitality,

Michael Pena
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

LTVR is one of our home resorts with Diamond so we visit often. Great location. The Lake is beautiful. The resort is next to the Marina and walking distance to shopping and restaurants. The rooms are always clean and in order. The master bath is large and has a very nice jetted tub. They have been remodeling for a couple of years and still aren't finished. So, valet parking is mandatory, unless you want to park in the garage across the street, and walk a ways. Valet is free for owners and guests of owners, otherwise they charge $16/day. Tahoe can be very expensive, so we take advantage of the full kitchen in the one or two bedroom units. If you haven't been to Tahoe, I would suggest going on the Tahoe Queen to Emerald Bay. My husband recommends Lake Tahoe Sport Fishing tours at the Marina. $100 for half day fishing trips. There is also a very nice Yacht called The Blue Wave that goes to Emerald Bay and serves a nice lunch or dinner. If you can handle going to a time-share presentation, you can get free tickets to most of what the Marina has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pegsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPena, General Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your very good review on our resort. We do appreciate your feedback with us and know that you staying with us during the renovation is an important time. I am happy to read you had a good stay.

Yes, our renovation is not completed yet and scheduled to be completed in late 2014. We are getting a new resort when all said and done and will continue to be an icon to the local area and marina.

Parking is free for the first vehicle IF you are a LTVR owner using your deeded week with us here, or using your Club DRI points. We do not have mandatory valet here at the resort, my apologies for any confusion. We have a daily parking fee of $16.00 per night for guests not using their LTVR Deeded week or DRI Club Points. You can valet or self park across the street at out garage. When you arrive just let us know which service you want and we will take good care of you.

The sales tour is a wonderful meeting to hear about all the great things going on with Diamond Resorts. So many good things are happening with DRI and we want you to be a part of it.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to your next stay with us. See you back soon.

I am always available to our guests: michael.pena@diamondresorts.com


Yours in Hospitality,

Michael Pena
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I live only 1.5 hours away from this beautiful lake. We used to come up often during the winter, but lately have found much more to do during the summer. Though there are many places to stay, this place is one of 3 we search for when booking. Its right on the water, less than a block away from a great breakfast, lunch, and dinner places, and while the views are non-existent, we love the interior rooms. We love to go down to the bar, grab a drink and walk upstairs and play pool. Its a quiet area, with a big screen t.v., and many areas to have that quiet drink. Every evening, we take a jacuzzi to relax, and go back upstairs and put the gas fireplace on. So romantic, we recommend this place to all family and friends. This place is much more than a hotel, and the furnishings and atmosphere are beautifully rustic and high end. To fully enjoy this place: 1. Don't listen to the people selling timeshares. The presentation is boring, and the sales staff is pushy and rude. NEVER DO IT. 2. Don't expect a Lake Tahoe view. With that said, we always have a nice time.

Room Tip: Book early, ask for everything and expect nothing. PS. Happy, smiling people get more than others in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura4005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPena, General Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We appreciate your time in writing this review on your recent stay with us at our resort. I want to personally thank you for your continued business with us and repeat visits to our resort. As we continuously work on improving our guests experience I want you to know that each time you return it will be better.

We have 16 units that actually have a Lake View. That would be 8 one bedroom standards and 8 studio standards. These get booked approximately one year in advance due to the owners and guests that want to make sure they get one. I would recommend that if you want a lake view book at least 10 to 12 months in advance. Lake view requests are based on availability.

Know that all of our units are in great condition as we continuously work on upgrading them through our renovation and also undergo a heavy inspection process to maintain their high level of quality.

I am glad to hear that you always have a nice time with us and rest assured you always will. We look forward to your next stay with us. See you back soon.

I am always available to our guests: michael.pena@diamondresorts.com

Yours in Hospitality,

Michael Pena
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I visit South Lake Tahoe twice a year. We have stayed in over 7 different Resort properties. We have 2 favorites. Tahoe Vacation Resorts is one of them. We like it for 2 reasons - the first is its price to niceness value. Compared to your other choices in South Lake Tahoe, it offers the nicest amenities, location, size of rooms, coziness for the money. If you just want a "Hotel" experience, or if low price is your first consideration, you will find this too expensive. Compared to other Resorts at other travel destinations, this may seem "average". But In and around Lake Tahoe, this is the best bang for the buck!

If affordable comfort, luxury, accessibility, and convenience are on your list, this is a must do. Whether it is summer or winter, being on the lake and near shopping Tahoe Vacation Resorts is close to everything. It is a 1 mile straight drive to Heavenly ski lifts.

A Suite can sleep 8. Suites have a fireplace and balcony. Furniture is updated. Staff is responsive. Twice, we encountered a "wasn't cleaned well" condition and that was resolved with in minutes of notifying housekeeping.

To go the next level of luxury, style and ambiance, we would have to pay twice as much. We thus rate this the Best of the Next Best.

As an aside, my daughter from a previous marriage commented on the accommodations, "Gosh dad, this is really nice. Mom owns 3 time shares and this is a palace compared to what she owns."

Room Tip: Check in early to get the best room available. It is almost always sold out. Only 12 rooms have la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPena, General Manager at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Here at the Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort we know that your time is valuable and sometimes our guests/owners have a few days or more to spend on vacation. It is with great satisfaction that I read your review on our resort to know we are on the right path to being the “Best” in all of Tahoe. My apologies for the level of housekeeping service in your unit and I want you to know that we have made changes to our housekeeping department for the better. Cleanliness with no signs of the previous guest is our primary goal. We will perfect this task.

I am glad you enjoyed the newly renovated units. We really listened to our owners and guests and provided a product that is comfortable and relaxing.

We really are located in the best part of South Lake Tahoe throughout the year. In the spring/summer we have the beach right in front of our resort. In the fall/winter we have fantastic wintery scenes anywhere you look, with the local shuttle picking up in front of our resort every 30 minutes to take you to the shops. We truly are a great resort and will always strive to be the best.

We look forward to your quick return back “Home” with us here at the Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort.

I am always available to our guests: michael.pena@diamondresorts.com

Yours in Hospitality,

Michael Pena
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#17 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#19 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahoe Beach and Ski Club
Tahoe Beach and Ski Club
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Property: Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Address: 901 Ski Run Blvd, CA 96150-8569
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Tahoe (California)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort puts you amid the setting for the vacation of a lifetime. Come each season, you will find different scenery, not to mention a variety of different seasonal activities. It's hard to imagine anything could beat the views and variety you get when you plan your visit to beautiful South Lake Tahoe, California. This is an area built around the reason for the breathtaking panorama, Lake Tahoe, America's largest Alpine lake. From sight to touch, you will revel in the wonders of the sapphire-blue water of the lake, perfectly situated right at the base of the stunning, snow-capped mountain peaks of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Otel, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tahoe Vacation Hotel Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing