We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Everything was clean and orderly upon check in. Our room was located at the end of the hallway, so it was very quiet. Our 1 bedroom suite, living room, and bathroom was spacious. Kitchen was clean, small, but had everything we needed to cook and eat meals. Fridge was normal size and was big enough for tons of stuff.

We reserved a 2 bedroom with full kitchen. The bedrooms shared 1 main keyed door with a tiny “foyer” that opened up to 2 more keyed doors. They all shared the same key which was convenient. One door opened up to a one bedroom suite with a large living room, fireplace, large bathroom, eating area, and kitchen. The second door opened up to something like a standard size hotel room with 2 beds, mini kitchen, and standard size bathroom.

After checking in, the concierge staff ask you to sign up for some of their vacation presentations. We declined right away and weren’t bothered the rest of our stay.

The pool was heated and was perfect after a ski day. The pool was both indoor and outdoor style that were connected so you could swim to either side. The hot tub was spacious and water was super hot. There was a bar and little gift shop on site.

Self parking was not available during our stay due to hotel renovations. We were required to valet and were charged a daily fee. We couldn’t avoid this. Sometimes we had to wait 5 minute for car retrieval due to lots of people, and cars were parked across the street. Valet is 24 hours so you’re never stuck. Internet is not free here. Overall, a great property located right next to the lake and walking distance to some shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: 1 bedrooms suite is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skimust4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 588 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

I find this to be truly a great place to come no matter what time of year. We arrived on January 6 hoping for some great skiing and snow. It looks like this just isn't the year. I've been here many times in the winter and have never seen so little snow. I hear they are making snow at the resorts but don't expect much unless there is heavy snow in February. Still, Lake Tahoe doesn't disappoint with sunny days that are very comfortable and crisp clear nights. If you like to hike take advantage of the many great hikes in the Sierra's around Lake Tahoe. The Lake is like no other in the world. If you fly into Sacramento you will pass through some of the best wine country in California in the El Dorado foothills near Placerville. Whether you stop on the way, or make a day trip out of it, if you enjoy wine you owe it to yourself to try some of this area wine. My favorites are Holly's Hill and Narrow Gate. Both are free to taste but you'll end up buying some to enjoy at your stay in Lake Tahoe.

Now, for the resort. We traded into this place through Interval International and got a week in a studio. Our unit had two double beds and a mini kitchen with a fridge and microwave--no cook top. The newly remodeled units have a cook-top in the studio. The studio is the B side of a two bedroom lockoff. We did the timeshare pitch for $75 and got to see the newer remodeled units. They are five stars all the way--really beautifully done. The older units are nice so I gave it a four star rating. The time share presentation was long but not so high pressure. We listened as they explained why we should buy even more timeshare points from them. We politely declined and they didn't push. Don't do these presentations if you have a problem saying no. Remember it is their job and their livelihood to sell you the product. It's your money so just say no if you aren't interested. Don't allow it to ruin your vacation, here or anywhere for that matter.

This resort is right on the Lake. We didn't have a great view but I'm not one to sit in my room so it wasn't that big a deal. There is a year round pool and hot tub, small restaurant and the staff is very friendly and helpful. My biggest gripe is the $16 they charge you if you are not a timeshare owner to park your car whether you self park or valet. This seems excessive and I told them so. The concierge told us under his breath if we didn't mind walking across the street we could park in a public parking area for free right across from the resort's parking garage. Sure enough, he was right and there was plenty of space there. It's a slight inconvenience but will save you $16/day. Seems well worth it to me. Other than this inconvenience I think this is a great resort and if you can get a newly remodeled room, this place is great for Lake Tahoe. Now, if they could just make it snow, I'd give it 5+ stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly remodeled room if given a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Very nice property. I asked for the revnovated part. There is some renovation going on. Parking lot getting redone. parking 16 a day. But you can go in and out as much as you want and they took off the days when we went to to Napa valley for a couple of nights. Napa two hours away. Reno an hour away. Great location. Took the paddle boat trip and very interesting and beautiful, a little long.
The rooms were very nice. nicely stocked. Stopped at grocery store and got fesh fruit and breakfast food. Never ate in the hotel so can't comment. Don't get the welcome package.. Come on for time share.. And the coupons are not that great. Not worth it very agressive sales people. Avoid the concierge desk...
Flew in to Reno.. Rented a four wheel drive Jeep. No problem driving in the snow.
Great heated pool and hot tub. inside or outside. Fire Place in room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellysanleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My extended family has been staying here for the last two Christmas holidays. My in-laws own a time share with Diamond Resorts, which they leverage to reserve rooms at the Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort.

The positive things up front: the resort offers a great variety of TV channels, which comes in handy when traveling with young children (and there is no snow). The bell desk / valet parking staff is very helpful and pleasant. The kids club is a nice option and the staff there is very supportive and comes up with new ideas and activities all the time.

Otherwise, Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort is a disappointment, considering it belongs to the Diamond Resort International Group, which normally is known for good quality and service at their facilities. However, often you find the hallways filled with bags of trash, as the guests place it outside of their room to avoid the nasty smell. Unfortunately, the resort only picks up trash once a week from the room. It also cleans rooms only once a week. And even after cleaning the room, often the staff forgets to refill towels, toilet paper, tissue, etc or overlooks some dirty spots in the rooms. Thus, you're constantly on the phone with the front desk to request further help.

The most annoying fact of the resort though is that Internet connectivity does not exist... be it on a cell phone, Amazon Kindle, laptop computer, or any other computer device. Last year the service was at least spotty; however, this year there was no service at all. You get a free coupon for wireless access, but it simply doesn't work. When you complain about it, nobody really cares. I am not sure about others, but for me a hotel room without Internet connectivity is useless and should not be charged for at all. This year, we were forced to go to the library to communicate with the rest of the civilization. Even the two computer stations in the "business center" were temporarily closed for a few days.

Another change from last year is that all guests are forced to use valet parking, as the self-parking lot is closed for the trash containers and material that is being used for the interior construction work, which causes noise every week day from 9:00 a.m. till 5:00 p.m. As a result, guests are forced to spend more money with the resort. The ongoing construction work is only being publized after guests arrive and not prior to the booking, which is a questionable business practice.

Overall, I would not recommend staying at this resort unless you seek completet isolation from civilization. If you consider time share ownership, this resort might sway you from staying away from this option at all or at least consider other providers.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by the title of a "Deluxe Room", as they only include a queen-sized be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doctg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We have stayed at this resort several times. This indicates that it is not disasterous or unbearable.
Our most recent stay was in Aug, 2011. The furnishings in the older wing can stand replacement as these are the orig. Not terrible, but you would expect better from this type resort. Older wing units are slightly larger than newer wing.
The resort common areas and grounds are always in excellent condition.
Although the resort is located on the lake, there is no beach; except for boat and water craft rental area. Tahoe Queen leaves from pier just off resort grounds. There are other resorts on the lake with private beaches. On 4th & Labor Day weekend, good place for fireworks displays.
You must have a car when going to this resort. The location is good for seeing south side of Tahoe. It is an easy drive to almost anywhere around the lake.
Everyone's compliant is parking. Costing $16/day for non-owners is pricey. Situation is especially bad due to very, very limited self parking. Valet is same cost but is located across the street so you must wait sometimes longer for your car. Call before leaving room for car pickup. Parking is over priced with poor convenience.
Staff is generally OK. Housekeeping, maintenance and other staff have always been great with any requests quickly taken care of. It seems resort management trains front desk personnel that stuffiness equals professionalism; and the resort is trying to be something they are not in "upper class". Pressure is on going for sales "update" presentation. Be ready with creative ways to just say no. Recent exp with concierge rates them as only fair and could be considerably more helpful.
Best places to eat include Artemis for great Greek/Med, Margaritas for Mexican, Goddfellas Pizza, Mont Blu Steakhouse, Dinner Buffets at Mont Blu & Harrah's (call in advance to reserve window table). Camp Richardson is must for Ice Cream after a hike or lake drive. For breakfast or lunch, the Red Hut is always great food with reasonable prices.
Best Hikes for beginners include Rubicon Trail (lakeside trail with great views) either from DL Bliss Campground (best)-Eagle Pt Campground-or Viking House (We will take from DL Bliss & hike to Viking House for sack lunch on beach); Eagle Lake- only about a mile to great mtn lake-mostly uphill but not killer for most-OK for kids-trailhead across road from Viking House; Lake View Trail-only a couple of miles on generally easy trail to falls and terrific views. Trail head about 1/4 mile south of Eagle Lake trailhead in campground. Once at the falls you can just realx or keep on going stratight up the mountain for better views. All within 20 minute drive from resort.

Room Tip: Typically we are in 1 or 2 bdrm as the studios are really just a hotel unit with small fridge &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JimBob_and_Wanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We pulled in with our 28' utility trailer loaded with kayaks, mountain bikes, backpacks, beach chairs, ice chests and loaded for a lively family get together... The valets and staff were incredible. We changed rooms to get a better view of the lake and couldn't have been more pleased. We used the bbq's often and so did a lot of people... the cafe was also good. The pool was perfect for the kiddo's and adults. The bike trail starts right here and goes right past McD's where you can get your java on then up toward town... very cool ride to the gondola's if you like goofing off city walk style... We like the across street parking becuase we loved riding our bikes over there to get our truck. we simply locked up our bikes in our little trailer. Lots of extra spots. At the resort, it seemed mostly full. So, we didn';t fight it... Rode our bikes up t Heavenly Valley lodge and back; cool incline and great views, but check your brakes first!

Kayaked all over the lake, including Sand Harbor . Took to the beach after hiking the Mt. Tallac trail with the whole family! Very cool! IT's all here... lots of cool eats and stuff to do; the resort is the best!

Room Tip: Do not stay next to the burners!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is a large, well maintained and well located resort with an extremely friendly and helpful staff. They have a beach for summer use. The free public shuttle to the Heavenly Ski Resort gondola (hiking and views in the summer) and to the casinos stops just out front. The Tahoe Queen docks just next door for cruises to Emerald Bay. There is a restaurant (adequate) on site and a store that is not very well stocked. The pool is indoor/outdoor and there is an exercise room. The building is large and sprawling - we got lost multiple times. We were in a one bedroom "deluxe". It was well equipped with a full kitchen and a large bathroom. The couch and the bed were OK, but not great, for people who do a lot of reading and lounging. The sound proofing is good - we were only minimally bothered by the bachelor party next door. We were surprised that there was no washer/dryer. We were on the first floor with a view of the parking lot - had we thought ahead we would have requested a higher floor and a better view. We recommend the chair massages on site and the wine bar, "Apres", across the street. If you come during the fall, ask the concierge about the park where you can see the salmon spawning.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efspetaluma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
526 reviews
1 mi away
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
#18 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Address: 901 Ski Run Blvd, CA 96150-8569
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Tahoe (California)
Price Range: $99 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort puts you amid the setting for the vacation of a lifetime. Come each season, you will find different scenery, not to mention a variety of different seasonal activities. It's hard to imagine anything could beat the views and variety you get when you plan your visit to beautiful South Lake Tahoe, California. This is an area built around the reason for the breathtaking panorama, Lake Tahoe, America's largest Alpine lake. From sight to touch, you will revel in the wonders of the sapphire-blue water of the lake, perfectly situated right at the base of the stunning, snow-capped mountain peaks of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tahoe Vacation Hotel Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing