We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great overall”

Heavenly Mountain Resort
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.00*
and up
Heavenly Epic Discovery Pass
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Overlooking the sapphire-blue waters of Lake Tahoe, Heavenly is one of the most unique outdoor recreation destinations on the planet. Summer The summer activities at Heavenly Mountain Resort are a must-do during your trip to Lake Tahoe. Start with a scenic ride up the gondola or one of many other adventures! Choose from a thrilling ride on one of our zip lines, test your nerves on one of 3 ropes courses, cruise on a 4X4 tour, slide down the hill on our summer tubing lanes or test your skills on our 30 foot climbing wall. There’s the perfect activity for every member of your group. Winter With more terrain variety, more hidden glades, more rippin’ groomers than any Lake Tahoe resort, you've got plenty of decisions to make.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“great overall”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My only complaint was the $10 pricetag for beer on tap. Otherwise the mountain has excellent snowmaking, terrific dining options, and great value early bird season lift pass prices. The lodging in the area is awesomely good value. The season pass works at Northstar and Kirkwood Ski Resorts too, and now I think it works at Canyons Ski resort in Utah. Pity the beer is $10 so bring your own.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank velkytatry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    181
    62
    42
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great skiing in South end of Lake Tahoe”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Heavenly is one of the better ski resorts in the Tahoe area. And with the epic pass offered by Vail ski resort you get unlimited skiing at Heavenly, Kirkwood and Northstar.

Fortunately there are lots of good condos for rent and cheap hotels in the area.

Don't stay at the Days Inn South Lake Tahoe; terrible!

You won't need chains on your car at Heavenly but you may when you drive to Kirkwood depending on road conditions.

Even with the last two years of less than heavy snows Heavenly was still a fun place to ski with lots of terrain for all abilities.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank alex s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“$$$$$”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have been skiing here for over 30 years & I love it. The skiing is always good & the views spectacular on both sides of the mountain but this place is getting ridiculously expensive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Homey resort...even in the Springtime”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A group of 8 friends and I stayed at Heavenly Ski Resort just recently, and had a great time. The suite felt very homey, with 2 bedrooms (total of 1 twin, 1 queen, and 1 king bed) and a pullout couch in the living room. It was about a 10-15 minute walking distance from the lake.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great for boarders and skiers alike”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Over the last 13 years, my husband and I have almost exclusively gone to Heavenly Ski Resort for a day on the slopes. You can't ever be bored as the mountain is huge, the runs are long, and there are enough places for boarders and skiers to both enjoy the resort, including some challenging double-blacks, terrain parks, chutes and moguls.

We typically park at one of the large covered parking garages right off of Heavenly Village and take the Gondola up. From there, you can pretty much access both the Nevada and California sides (just one caveat... going from one side to the other will required schlepping your skis/boards over some rather flat surface).

And now that Tamarack Lodge is completed, you can sip on a wonderful apres-ski drink while enjoying the Heavenly Angels strut their stuff on the stage.

Perhaps we'll head up to the north shore one of these days... but we're not in any hurry. There's a reason they call the place "Heavenly." :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank XtinaDunham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heavenly Mountain Resort also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Heavenly Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing