We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great skiing in South end of Lake Tahoe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heavenly Mountain Resort

Heavenly Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Overlooking the sapphire-blue waters of Lake Tahoe, Heavenly is one of the most unique snowsports destinations on the planet. With more terrain variety, more hidden glades, more rippin’ groomers than any Lake Tahoe resort, you've got plenty of decisions to make.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great skiing in South end of Lake Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Heavenly is one of the better ski resorts in the Tahoe area. And with the epic pass offered by Vail ski resort you get unlimited skiing at Heavenly, Kirkwood and Northstar.

Fortunately there are lots of good condos for rent and cheap hotels in the area.

Don't stay at the Days Inn South Lake Tahoe; terrible!

You won't need chains on your car at Heavenly but you may when you drive to Kirkwood depending on road conditions.

Even with the last two years of less than heavy snows Heavenly was still a fun place to ski with lots of terrain for all abilities.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank alex s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    152
    47
    36
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“$$$$$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have been skiing here for over 30 years & I love it. The skiing is always good & the views spectacular on both sides of the mountain but this place is getting ridiculously expensive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Homey resort...even in the Springtime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A group of 8 friends and I stayed at Heavenly Ski Resort just recently, and had a great time. The suite felt very homey, with 2 bedrooms (total of 1 twin, 1 queen, and 1 king bed) and a pullout couch in the living room. It was about a 10-15 minute walking distance from the lake.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great for boarders and skiers alike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Over the last 13 years, my husband and I have almost exclusively gone to Heavenly Ski Resort for a day on the slopes. You can't ever be bored as the mountain is huge, the runs are long, and there are enough places for boarders and skiers to both enjoy the resort, including some challenging double-blacks, terrain parks, chutes and moguls.

We typically park at one of the large covered parking garages right off of Heavenly Village and take the Gondola up. From there, you can pretty much access both the Nevada and California sides (just one caveat... going from one side to the other will required schlepping your skis/boards over some rather flat surface).

And now that Tamarack Lodge is completed, you can sip on a wonderful apres-ski drink while enjoying the Heavenly Angels strut their stuff on the stage.

Perhaps we'll head up to the north shore one of these days... but we're not in any hurry. There's a reason they call the place "Heavenly." :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank XtinaDunham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
175 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Beautiful ski resort but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We love our hotel at the base of the Heavenly Gondola to the summit. It's very convenient. The Gondola is a beautiful ride (even for non-skiers, I highly recommend it). The resort itself is very well-run with lots of restaurants/bars on site. Our kids took beginner lessons at their ski school and loved it. The staff had them skiing quickly and fearlessly. The lessons are pricey and so are the lift tickets and gondola rides. Be prepared to shell out lots of $$$.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank patriotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heavenly Mountain Resort also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Heavenly Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing