We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Emerald Bay State Park
from $64.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
from $94.00
More Info
from $179.00
More Info
Reviews (779)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveler rating
574
101
7
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
574
101
7
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews emerald bay eagle falls parking lot tea house vista point beautiful drive cars parked fannette island inspiration point mile hike beautiful place to visit rubicon trail rent a kayak amazing views worth the effort visited lake tahoe parking spot
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 688 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Great vista of Emerald bay. Lake surface at 6300 feet and surrounding mountains 1000 feet higher. Good size parking lot, but it fills up fast so be prepared to wait.

Thank Larry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Located on the SW side of Lake Tahoe, the drive to Emerald Bay State Park is worth the trip all by itself. Once there, you are greeted by an awesome view of Lake Tahoe surrounded by mountain walls. There are several hiking trails (some paved) that take down to the water, Vikingsholm, Eagle Falls, etc. Plan on spending a couple of hours or so if hiking the trails. $10 fee gets you a day pass to it and the other nearby state parks.

1  Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Another beautiful stop on Lake Tahoe is Emerald Bay and Vikingsholme, a Viking castle on the shore of Lake Tahoe! The walk down seems a little steep for anyone wheelchair bound. And the walk back up was nothing but incline so a stair master may help build your endurance! There is a tour of vikingsholme during summer. We walked around it and in the courtyard. It is so beautiful nestled in the giant pines and sycoyas. You can also hike to Eagles fall, which is lovely. Pack a lunch and spend some time there!

Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped at the view point to take some pictures and the view is amazing! The entire road along Lake Tahoe here is beautiful, so even if you don’t take a hike a drive along the Lake is worth it!

1  Thank Katrin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited lake Tahoe in early October. It was pretty chilly here but the weather was awesome with healthy dose of sunshine. We could not hike a lot because we were traveling with our mom. However one could sit on the top for hours and enjoy the great views of the lake and mountains.

1  Thank Poonam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

One of the most popular sites for photos, so parking can be tricky. Be patient and it will be worth the wait. There are several trails on the opposite side of the road from the Lake, worth the exploration. The view is of the Bay, which was formed from Glacial activity thousands of years ago. It's one of the most photographed areas of all of Lake Tahoe.

2  Thank DavidT3984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

We actually went through the park on the way to another site but stopped at a couple of the scenic overlooks. Luckily we were able to get parking spots because they were definitely good vantage points.

1  Thank fbnh20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Loved the place, it was crowded, took some long time for us to reach as it was summer holidays and thus traffic was heavy.. Parking also took long time, but it was all worth as the place was extremely beautiful and we had some real great photographs and memories for life time... Don;t forget to get your camera's and dress up for some beautiful pictures amidst nature's beauty..

1  Thank AjitT924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Beautiful State Park! Go early and on a week day to avoid the crowds! Parking is crazy and watch for pedestrians, but don't let this deter you! Take your camera and wear sensible shoes.

1  Thank Estelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We enjoyed kayaking around the bay and to Fanette Island. We also enjoyed the tour of Vikingsholm. Be aware that access to the bay requires a 3/4 mile hike.

1  Thank dcrunner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews