We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place. Friendly and laid back.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keys Cafe

Keys Cafe
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little place. Friendly and laid back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Seen it on trip advisor and thought we would give it a go.
Fantastic place with great atmosphere. Bacon egg sandwich $5.75.
Do not miss this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank IanF99Fos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Rey, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a find! great food, local atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

we found this place as a referral from a friend - a local spot, a smaller menu for breakfast, but more do you need than a delicious breakfast burrito and a breakfast sandwich! the lattes/coffee/smoothies were awesome, as well. we had an awesome big breakfast there, and my husband went back for lunch the day after and loved the sandwiches, too. we'll definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stumbled upon this spot while starving in Tahoe. This seemed to be a locals spot. The food was amazing. We had the Cobb salad, the turkey sandwich and the hummus sandwich. My husband said it was the best Cobb he'd ever had. The sandwiches were huge and delicious. We would recommend this place and would for sure go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“most overrated cafe”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

A far cry from the sandwich maker from Bob. Sandwiches should have:
- good bread - the bread used at the Keys is low, low quality. It is spongy, tasteless and turns into a rag in the mouth
- good meat, egg or cheese inside - the cold cuts at the Keys are just what they get from Safeway next door, better go shop at Safeway yourself; the cheese is awful processed cheese;
- some crisp, fresh lettuce, onion or other veggie - very little of this at the Keys
The coffee was watery and un-appetizing, so I was not able to drink it.
The guys give you a choice of: 15%, 20% or 25% tip when you pay - that is, before you eat! Cool. The client must be a pre-cog. Note that 0% is not an option, so be ready to increase their already inflated prices.
I went there guided by some reviews that likened them to Panera. There is no likeness. Panera has reasonably good bread (it's not Paris, but...) and their sandwiches do not drip with melted processed cheese like those at the Keys.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarietaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corralitos, California, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Locals Corner: Delicious food and drinks for travelers too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My friend and I are in Tahoe for 1 week and found this gem of a spot: it's a cafe that appeared to be mostly locals who live here. But they were very friendly to us as out of town 'coasties'. The sandwich we had was a perfect Reuben, the salad we shared was filled with super fresh greens. My chai was spicy and worth the trip to this spot alone. (ask for the Indian style Chai, they had a few powdered versions too: ick! just say no to powdered chai). There is free internet for paying customers. And when my friend and I asked for another helping of blue cheese dressing for the large salad, they waived their usual 50 cent fee: just a nice touch when you are the out of towner, not the daily local. Their coffee drinks and smoothies looked great from reading the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chardgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keys Cafe also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Keys Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing